We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful! Excellent Food. Genuine Hospitality.”
Review of Ziezo Restaurant

Ziezo Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 39 Restaurants in Kerikeri
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful! Excellent Food. Genuine Hospitality.”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We have traveled the world and eaten in many fine restaurants. This one took it a step further by way of their service. Not only was the food fabulous (and it was!), the owners made you truly feel welcomed - both by the front of house and the chef himself. If we did not live so far away (Washington, DC), we would be eating here every weekend. Next time we are in NZ, this will make the list of top places to go!

Note: The meaning behind the name is very interesting. "Ziezo" is a Dutch word that is similar to "voilà" in French. It is that sense of accomplishment after you complete something good. I thought this was inspiring!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RomeTheWorldPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    17
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience in Kerikeri”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had a wonderful experience at Ziezo last night, what a good find! From the moment we first arrived we commented on the lovely decor and little details in the design. We chose a few starters and were very impressed by the prawns and the lavosh bread. The Greek-style fish of the day was a big hit, and the grilled vegetables it was served with were delicious. To finish the meal, 3 of us had the dessert specialty of the day, the tiramisu. It was amazing! Every mouthful was perfection. The 4th person in our group had the poached pears with homemade ice cream which he said was one of the best desserts he'd ever had. So all in all, a fantastic meal with reasonable prices, which will be hard to beat back home in Auckland!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goha004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent place to eat”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

It is only open in the latter part of the week but they are a tried and true couple that are the front of house and chef. Ate really well here.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru
Level Contributor
553 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Labour of Love”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Ziezo is the preferred restaurant for the staff who's working at The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs. You can spot the restaurant from a mile away with its eclectic decor. I actually like it with its oddball design. The owners, Rolf and Anita are always there. They have a good dynamics going on with Rolf being responsible for the kitchen and Anita being responsible for the front house. Rolf is a Dutch and he's familiar with Indonesian food. In actual fact, he's passionate about food. My cousin and I did the right all by ordering a cornucopia of starter plates, which gave us an appreciation of the breadth of Rolf's ability. The wine selection is okay enough. Anita came to check on us from time to time without being intrusive. Overall, it's a great night out. Suffice to say that Rolf and Anita are great hosts. Rolf came out from the kitchen after finishing his shift and we had a good laugh too. For those of us that are into hospitality, we love sincerity over superficial niceness. If you are looking for somewhere unique and special in Keri Keri, Ziezo may just be your place! Ziezo indeed!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wiredfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent armosphere”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Fabulous menu with attentive service and a great wine list. Loved the interior design. In the main street of Kerikeri , so very accessible. Perfect for couples and groups. Quite recently opened I believe but no teething problems evident and would absolutely return. The staff were fficient and we even congratulated the Chef when leaving.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 13cassie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ziezo Restaurant also viewed

Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Ziezo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing