We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Dive Trip”
Review of Dive North

Dive North
Ranked #1 of 6 Tours in Kerikeri
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Dive North offer fantastic dive trips in the Bay of Islands with free pick ups in Paihia and Kerikeri so you can explore NZ's subtropical paradise! Catering specifically for the diver, we also offer onsite B & B, great lunches including legendary home made Lemon Cake and two great dive boats with full cover from the elements, for you to relax in while cruising the Bay of Islands. Come and join our most popular dive trips; exploring ship wrecks Rainbow Warrior and HMNZS Canterbury and the beautiful reefs too! Based in the heart of the Bay of Islands, we are the only operator who does the Divers Big Day Out - dive both wrecks (Rainbow Warrior & HMNZS Canterbury) in one day! Only 1 day to dive? Advanced diver or more? Then our unique Divers Big Day Out! trip is the answer. Learn to dive in the best hands with PADI and SSI courses, all dives in the sea from the boat - no chlorine pools and floating plasters here! Open Water courses just take 3 days and Advanced Open Water just 2 days and you get to dive both the wrecks as part of your course! Personal service, great customer care and highly professional - Dive North; NZ Wide Diving Winners 2012 & 2013 and Certificate of Excellence 2014 winners - book now and experience the Dive North difference!
Reviewed July 8, 2013

At the end of the summer Some friends and i did a trip out to Deep Water Cove to dive the Canterbury wreck and one other dive site. It was an awesome day with the sun shining, great company and of course awesome diving. Dave and Sue were amazing, they welcomed us into their home to stay the night and even provided yummy breakfast and lunch for us crazy divers. The crew on the boat and Dave made the day fun with lots of stories and history of the Bay of Islands and the dive sites. We loved it :)

1  Thank MarionHubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiveN, Owner at Dive North, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Crazy divers!!! We did have some fun didn't we? Sorry about Sue's music choice in the car - but I think it set the scene for the day as we had a great day and it was brilliant taking you all out diving. Looking forward to seeing you all again for the Rainbow Warrior next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for Dive North
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 109 of 215 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

Not much to say about this company that probably hasn't been said already! Dave and Sue are extremely nice, and my instructor (who apparently went home shortly after) was very good as well. Small groups allow everyone to get to know each other and have better attention and quality from the instructors. I swapped to Dive North after being screwed around by Paihia Dive and couldn't be happier about it. Dave made it a priority to bring us to both wrecks during the 2 days of the course! Thanks Dive North!

Visit was in March 2012.

1  Thank A_Magri41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiveN, Owner at Dive North, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Their loss was our gain as you were great to have on the boat and explore the wrecks with. Our focus is to make it happen for our divers so to hear you're stoked is perfect! Come back anytime and share the word about Dive North!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Earlier this year my husband and I had the opportunity to finish our open water dive course with Dive North and it was absolutely fantastic. The shop is great (NEW and full of everything you'd ever need), the people awesome and we felt not only well taken care of professionally but became friends in just the one day. We would recommend to anyone wanting to dive up North NZ to look these people up first!!! Looking forward to going back soon and will be diving with DIVE NORTH for sure! :-) :-)

1  Thank GMirus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiveN, Owner at Dive North, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

It was our pleasure to complete your Open Water courses for you, you now have all the skills to dive safely over and over again! Come up and take your Advanced courses when you're ready - then you can dive the Canterbury and Rainbow Warrior too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We took the opportunity of a visit to the whanau in Kerikeri to organize a day with Dave and Co.
We had an amazing diving adventure.
Safety first but also lot of fun.Limited number of divers makes the trip a must do before you decide to kick the bucket.
Dave is an amazing instructor full of knowledge about the Bay of Islands and beyond.
Did dive on the Canterbury, still have to do the Rainbow Warrior.
We would recommend the place to every serious diver, great ambiance, always a smile on faces.
And the welcoming of the four legged person is one you do not forget.
Winter is one of the best time to dive NZ as water though a bit cooler is calm most days and visibility fantastic.
Go and see Dave he deserves the detour.

1  Thank shaznfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiveN, Owner at Dive North, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thanks so much for the recommendation! We love your advice to dive with us before you 'kick the bucket'!! Couldn't agree more, there's too much amazing stuff to see underwater - to miss out would be a tragedy. See you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had an awesome time diving with Dave and Mark, they were both very knowledgeable and looked after us very well on the boat and whilst diving. Really enjoyed diving the Rainbow Warrior and the HMS Canterbury, blew me away that is for sure! Both Dave and Sue were very friendly and open and we all enjoyed staying with them in Kerikeri as well as with their awesome dog Mutley! Highly recommend:)

Thank Lydia_nz89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiveN, Owner at Dive North, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Thanks Lydia! We appreciate your feedback and are so glad you had a great time diving with us. We look forward to seeing you again! cheers, Sue & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dive North also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 
Bay of Islands, Northland Region
Waipapa, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Dive North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing