We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks Dive North”
Review of Dive North

Dive North
Ranked #1 of 6 Tours in Kerikeri
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Dive North offer fantastic dive trips in the Bay of Islands with free pick ups in Paihia and Kerikeri so you can explore NZ's subtropical paradise! Catering specifically for the diver, we also offer onsite B & B, great lunches including legendary home made Lemon Cake and two great dive boats with full cover from the elements, for you to relax in while cruising the Bay of Islands. Come and join our most popular dive trips; exploring ship wrecks Rainbow Warrior and HMNZS Canterbury and the beautiful reefs too! Based in the heart of the Bay of Islands, we are the only operator who does the Divers Big Day Out - dive both wrecks (Rainbow Warrior & HMNZS Canterbury) in one day! Only 1 day to dive? Advanced diver or more? Then our unique Divers Big Day Out! trip is the answer. Learn to dive in the best hands with PADI and SSI courses, all dives in the sea from the boat - no chlorine pools and floating plasters here! Open Water courses just take 3 days and Advanced Open Water just 2 days and you get to dive both the wrecks as part of your course! Personal service, great customer care and highly professional - Dive North; NZ Wide Diving Winners 2012 & 2013 and Certificate of Excellence 2014 winners - book now and experience the Dive North difference!
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Had a great day out in the beautiful Bay of Islands with the Dive North crew. Friendly and informative crew (keep those stories rolling Dave!), excellent briefings and good dives with dive-masters Kate and Dave. The Canterbury is an excellent wreck dive - only just begun to explore her on this first dive and so much more to see. The Dive North crew love what they are doing and it shows. Small groups only is terrific and appreciated the good quality hire gear. Thanks for taking the photos and sending them so quickly - a free service much appreciated. We will be back!

Thank annahkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiveN, Owner at Dive North, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Diving in the Bay of Islands should be special and we always try to make it that way so we're stoked you enjoyed your day with us Annah. We look forward to taking you out for many more dives on our great dive sites. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 131 of 215 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

Excellent diving provided by highly qualified dive master. Equipment provided was top grade. Dive site was excellent and correlated to abilities of all on the dive charter! Information about the wreck we were diving on was provided along with great diagrams of the wreck. Outstanding lunch was also provided. Highly recommend this dive charter to all who are visiting the area!

Thank barbara n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiveN, Owner at Dive North, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thank you Barbara, we are so pleased you appreciate our small groups, tailored dive groups and top notch equipment - we think it's important too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I went here to finish my SSI open water dive training and had a great time. My instructor, Mark, was completely competent and fun to spend time with. The ride out to each dive site was a lot of fun, as we were taken past some very scenic views, each of which was filled in by a lot of local history by Dave. The small group setting was really nice, too. We had no more then 6 people (not counting instructors & dive leaders) on the boat each day. Dave and Sue were remarkably accommodating to us, allowing us to camp our campervan on their property for the couple of days we were there. Couldn't have asked for more!

Thank conchyray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiveN, Owner at Dive North, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

So glad to hear your introduction to certified diving is such a good one! We loved having the opportunity to complete your SSI Open Water Training with you - it was our pleasure. We look forward to seeing you again one day for some more diving.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Dave and Matt were very helpful, entertaining experienced. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. A large group was catered for with two boats. My first dive on a wreck and Dave gave a great overview of available options too see as much as we could with 1 dive. To do it justice you probably need 3 or 4 dives, but que sera sera. Our second dive of the day was a splendid trip around a small island in Deep Water cove. Lunch and drinks provided and a historical talk from Dave on the way out to HMSNZ Canterbury also showing off sites and celebrity houses. Thanks to both of you.

Thank Redwoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiveN, Owner at Dive North, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thanks so much, we agree the Canterbury is worthy of more than one dive, in fact a perfect wreck for the Wreck Specialty - such an awesome wreck to dive and explore. It was great to take you diving on her, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

These guys were fantastic. I have never dived with an outfit that was more accomodating. Our ship was HOURS late in getting into port and they adjusted to give us the best dive possible. Dave was wonderful in giving us some history of the islands (Captain Cook, etc). I just wished I had Advanced Open Water Cert to do the Caterbury Ship dive. To be honest I'm fairly new at this, but the water was as clear as I have ever dived and the kelp beds were great. The above water scenery was also fantastic. The boat ride along was worth the trip (not really but it was really good).

Thank MarkFangman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiveN, Owner at Dive North, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

So glad we made it happen for you Mark - it was touch and go with the cruise ships arrival but hey - it adds to the fun of the day! Let us know when you're back in NZ and we'll get you that Advanced Cert so you can dive the Canterbury - she's worth it for sure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dive North also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
Bay of Islands, Northland Region
 
Northland Region, North Island
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Dive North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing