We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B & B ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moon Gate Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Moon Gate Villa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best B & B ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Having traveled round South Island New Zealand staying at B & Bs in 1999 with great success we decided to go to the North Island this year from Australia where we were staying with our daughter. We booked at Moon Gate Villa and were delighted to have a great welcome from Lionel and see what a beautiful place it was. The swimming pool was beautifully warm and the gardens full of the most lovely plants and very peaceful. Our room was spacious and had everything in it and more than a 5* hotel! Needless to say our breakfasts were delicious and our host pointed us in all the right directions for restaurants nearby and of course what to see in the area. If we go back th the North Island, that is where will will make for!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
171
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here for a family reunion and were impressed as soon as we arrived. Lionel (and the dogs) gave us such a warm welcome, we immediately felt at home. The rooms and cottage have everything you could need, the beds are luxuriously comfortable and the garden and pool delightful. Then there is the delicious breakfast of tropical fruits, croissants, toast, cheese/ham, and great coffee. We will definitely be back on our next visit. Thanks Lionel for looking after us so well. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucybNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Moon Gate Villa for 2 nights at the very beginning of our 3 weeks stay in New Zealand. It was a little difficult to find, as it is off the road, and the sign at the end of the drive isn't very big, but once we found it we didn't want to leave. I wanted us to stay longer. it was wonderful.

We stayed in the cottage which was lovely.
the breakfast basket arrives and is left in the fridge for you (the previous evening).... and we sat out on the decking outside in the sunshine ~ heaven :)
We had THE most fabulous couple of days there, and as the other reviewers have said Lionel is the most accommodating host ever. Nothing is too much trouble.

Room Tip: we stayed in the cottage, and if that's anything to go by ~ the rooms in the house would be equ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Beautiful from the jacaranda tree in the driveway, the tinkling water in the hallway, the little private garden off our bedroom, thankfully a swimming pool on a very hot day. Charming hosts and great breakfast. We would always recommend Moon Gate Villa

Room Tip: All the rooms are stunning. You can't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Spotless, beautiful lush garden surroundings, calm, dvds to watch. The bed was very comfortable. Lionel is a very friendly host and we loved super cute dog Mojo! Next time we will stay longer, i hope.

Room Tip: We slept in the cottage which is very spacious and independent but has no cooked breakfast, but a ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viajeraferoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We were two couples traveling together that spent two nights in the two in-house bedrooms at Moon Gate. Everything was first class! Our rooms and ensuite bathrooms were large and luxurious. Large windows and french doors opening onto the garden made the rooms light and airy. The furnishings were high quality and very chic as were the linens and all the various accoutrement. The gardens were simply beautiful but Lionel assured me they are in the process of upgrading them!
The approach to Moon Gate is down a narrow lane that gives no inkling of the luxury in store. One parks the car under a huge flowering Jacaranda tree and enters through a large wooden door on swivels. The house was architect-designed for a romance novelist in the shape of a cupid's bow. The big "wow-factor" comes when the entry opens on to a curved hallway with a tropical garden, koi pond, and waterfall. The two bedrooms, guest library, and dining/kitchen areas all have large windows and access to the gardens.
Lionel and Rob are the supremely gracious hosts: welcoming, accommodating, and helpful. They create a relaxed, friendly atmosphere in the presence of elegance. Lionel's breakfasts are not only delicious but also beautiful to behold. We elected to have the chef come in to cook for us one night because it was so lovely to be here. The meal was very good and it was so nice to have the in-home feeling this created.
We found it difficult to get out and do things when it was so pleasant to simply enjoy the beauty of this place but Lionel and Rob gave us many suggestions and booked the things we wanted to experience.
New Zealand is a long way away but I might come back just to stay at Moon Gate Villa again. Rob and Lionel set the standard for excellence in bed and breakfast accommodations. I travel frequently and have high standards but they exceed all expectations. In a word...Perfection

Room Tip: There are two in-house rooms, both are spacious and beautiful with en-suite bathrooms but only one h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rivertraveler1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Exquisite gardens, accommodations the best, but most appreciated the delightful company and caring by Lionel and Rob. They provided us each day with itinerary proposals based on our interests. Hit the nail on the head each of our 5 days -- golf, sailing, beaches, Maori history -- you name it. And best of all were Lionel's special Vegan breakfast creations. I still yearn for the olive oil braised spinach over toast, grilled tomatoes and soy yogurt. Yum.

B&W

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Physicist_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
8.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.9 mi away
Colonial House Motel
Colonial House Motel
#5 of 16 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
1.5 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
2.1 mi away
Stone Store Lodge Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Gate Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Gate Villa

Property: Moon Gate Villa
Address: 462 Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0293, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moon Gate Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the shape of Cupid’s bow, Moon Gate Villa was originally designed for a romance novelist. Its timeless and elegant design offers sumptuous accommodation surrounded by 1.5 acres of gardens, waterfalls and reflective pools. Private suites feature luxury linens, in-house movies, exclusive guest lounge and access to the heated pool.Free hi-speed Internet and a full breakfast is included in all our rates. Evening dining by arrangement. A hidden treasure, 2 minutes from Kerikeri village in the heart of the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Moon Gate Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing