We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Retreat”
Review of Moon Gate Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moon Gate Villa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A Lovely Retreat”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We booked the whole villa as we were a group of 6. One couple had to stay in the cottage. Unfortunately the cottage cannot compete with the rooms in the main house. The cottage is more basic and not luxurious.

The two rooms in the main house were beautiful. No doubt the premium suite is the best choice if you plan on staying here.

Rob and Lionel are great hosts and they help you with whatever you need. Their breakfasts are delicious and they go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. Their restaurant and excursion tips were perfect.

The Moongate Villa is a lovely retreat in this area. It is pretty central to most activities but you cannot reach any restaurants within walking distance.

The reason why I have rated them with 4 instead of 5 is due to the cottage.

Room Tip: Definitely choose the premium suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cape-town-best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lionel C, Owner at Moon Gate Villa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hi cape-town-best, and many thanks for your review. You were an exuberant group and we were delighted to be your hosts in the Bay of Islands.

Yes, our orchard cottage is a different experience to staying in the main villa. Most of our guests love its cosy privacy in the garden, but we understand that this may be different when you are travelling as a group.

We trust that you had a successful trip; you enjoyed lots of wonderful restaurants and wineries, and discovered the best of New Zealand food and wine. You folk really know your food, so we are pleased you enjoyed our breakfasts! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
176
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

If anybody is looking for accommodation in the Bay of Islands area, they should seriously consider Moon Gate Villa at Keri Keri.Lionel and Rob are exceptional hosts and the rooms and surrounding gardens are beautiful and very calming. Lionel's breakfast is superb. We will be back. Another recommendation is the Pizza place in Keri Keri called the Aegean Pizzeria which has the best pizza we have ever tasted. John & Christy

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGCT128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lionel C, Owner at Moon Gate Villa, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hi Guys,
Thank you for your wonderful review and Rob and I look forward to your return one day.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We arrived late due to late take off in Melbourne but this was no problem for Rob and Lionel who offered to organise dinner for us. From the moment we arrived we experienced first class treatment. We stayed in the main room for 3 nights which was luxurious, huge very comfortable bed and luxurious toiletries. This was our first holiday as a couple, Rob and Lionel were superb hosts and it was no effort for them to book restaurants or show us the best places to visit in this stunning part of the world. Breakfast was superb and freshly prepared - Lionel you are amazing. Thank you so much for everything and we will come back again - with more friends. Alf & Andrew

Room Tip: It doesn't matter which room you stay in as they are all fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alf R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lionel C, Owner at Moon Gate Villa, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hello Alf & Andrew,
I am so glad you both enjoyed your stay here and we would love to see you both again with friends in tow! I hope the rest of your travels in NZ went well and your trip back home was smooth and all flights left on time! All the best to you both for your future plans together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Went for a suprise anniversary & the Moon Gate was such a great place to stay!
Lionel & Rob were very welcoming & made sure everything was perfect to our liking, but also gave us complete privacy. We had the appetisers, in room dinner & breakfast and everything tasted amazing! Can not fault this place at all & would definitely go back again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lionel C, Owner at Moon Gate Villa, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hello Amanda K
Thank you for the wonderful email and great review you have provided for us. I am glad you both enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again for a much longer stay? I am still working on the mushroom sauce for you, my chef is keeping some secrets close to hand but I will keep working on it for you. All the best and thank you again for your words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dargaville, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We do not usually stay in B&B's but Moon Gate Villa is the exception for us and not to be missed. Moon Gate is set in lovely, peaceful gardens and the house is just beautiful. Lionel and Rob are excellent hosts--friendly and helpful but not obtrusive. The rooms are spotless and very comfortable with lovely finishing touches. Lionels amazing breakfast was one of the best we have had anywhere and set you up nicely for the day. Moon Gate Villa is quality accommodation which we would recommend highly. We are lucky to live only 1.5 hours away and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilaK845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lionel C, Owner at Moon Gate Villa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you SheilK845 for the wonderful reveiw. We hope you and your husband have since had other great weekends away at other interesting places in NZ. We do look forward to your next visit up the Far North.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

What an excellent break away from home. Rob & Lionel were fabulous hosts, left us alone but were somehow there when we needed something. The breakfast was fantastic, the cottage was well appointed and the grounds were meticulouly beautiful. We didn't want to leave and we WILL be back. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJSandMRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lionel C, Owner at Moon Gate Villa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hello TJSandMRK and thank you very much for the review. We hope your trip back to Adelaide was great and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The people and accommodation at moon gate were fantastic, and the fabulous dinner they served in our room was beyond expectation. I have worked in hospitality and traveled the world with my wife, and these guy's rock.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lionel C, Owner at Moon Gate Villa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you Tim H for the wonderful reveiw. It was our pleasure looking after you both and do hope you visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
8.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.9 mi away
Colonial House Motel
Colonial House Motel
#5 of 16 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Stone Store Lodge Accommodation
0.8 mi away
Avalon Resort
Avalon Resort
#4 of 26 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Gate Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Gate Villa

Property: Moon Gate Villa
Address: 462 Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0293, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moon Gate Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the shape of Cupid’s bow, Moon Gate Villa was originally designed for a romance novelist. Its timeless and elegant design offers sumptuous accommodation surrounded by 1.5 acres of gardens, waterfalls and reflective pools. Private suites feature luxury linens, in-house movies, exclusive guest lounge and access to the heated pool.Free hi-speed Internet and a full breakfast is included in all our rates. Evening dining by arrangement. A hidden treasure, 2 minutes from Kerikeri village in the heart of the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Moon Gate Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing