We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Something very special”
other travelers have booked this property
The Carriage House
A Special Place in Kerikeri Bay of Islands
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Carriage House
A Special Place in Kerikeri Bay of Islands
Waterfront Jetty Dining / Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
The Carriage House
A Special Place in Kerikeri Bay of Islands
Waterfront Jetty
Dining / Living Room
The Carriage House
The Brewers Dray
Just Playing
Gypsy Bow Waggon
Sitting Room
Fully Equipped Kitchen
King Size Ensuite Bedroom
Two Modern Bathrooms
The Boat Jetty
King or Twin Beds
Reflections of Moored Yachts
1924 Vauxhall 30/98
Kerikeri Farmers Market
The Carriage House Farm
The Shire Horses
The Historic Stone Store and Kemp House
Rainbow Falls Track, Kerikeri
Chris Booth Sculpture and Kerikeri Library
Kerikeri Golf Course
The Kerikeri Stone Store Basin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands, Northland Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gurelana
Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Something very special”
Reviewed April 6, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Great place to stay, the host are just fantastic and so helpful. Ask to see the carriage collection and the old cars; you are in for a treat.
We stayed 2 nights there and I could stay even longer.
I have no hesitation whatsoever to recommend this place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect setting, close to all amenities.”
Reviewed February 20, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful, peaceful setting. The Carriage House is spacious and well equipped. Close to town and lots of amenities, good restaurants and cinema. The owners (Adrian and Sylvia) made our stay very special, taking us for a ride in one of their horse drawn carriages and giving us lots of local information. Set on the estuary but never far from a beach and many interesting places to see. We would happily visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel A
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation and superb hospitality, a really enjoyable stay”
Reviewed January 31, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed in this spacious accommodation in Kerikeri, in the Bay of Islands. It had all that we could desire. Our hosts couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The location was ideal for what we wanted to achieve within this area - ready access to the many islands, historical and cultural settings and fine restaurants. Adrian and Silvia (our hosts) were rightly proud of property and were keen to share with us their passion for horses, carriages and vintage cars. Adrian breeds horses and has one of the finest collection in New Zealand. It was a real pleasure and education listening to him.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinaA...
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
1 review
“Amazing place”
Reviewed November 7, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Stayed for Labour weekend with my family and our dog - easy to find (literally 2 mins outside Kerikeri center), friendly welcome, clean and spacious accommodation.
The accommodation was comfortable for four adults with two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a well equiped kitchen for self-catering; there are also good food options nearby in Kerikeri. The horses were friendly and had no issues with our dog (or vice versa!). We took kayaks with us and launched from the jetty on the property to kayak on Kerikeri River. Adrian and Sylvia are very nice hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rOadtripp...
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Memorable!”
Reviewed November 2, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Carriage House was a wonderful place to stay! The suite itself was very quiet, spacious and comfortable with a well equipped kitchen . . . perfect for 2 couples. Adrian and Sylvia were very welcoming and friendly hosts. We enjoyed seeing and hearing about the collection of carriages and vintage automobiles. The horses were an added bonus! Information about the surrounding area and sites was readily available. A terrific way to begin our vacation in New Zealand!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of the property
Liked least: We liked everything about this property.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed September 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We could definitely recommend this beautiful property, home away from home, good location, people very friendly & helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: being on the property with the horses it was very relaxing.
Liked least: cant think of anything liked it all
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy P
Caineville, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Second stay here--great as always”
Reviewed February 19, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This very comfortable cottage is in a beautiful location. The hosts offer trememdous hospitality, making our visit even more delightful. I'd recommend this to anyone who wants all the comforts of home in a vacation rental.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and hosts
Liked least: No drawbacks--this is an excellent plce to
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing