We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I want to live here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puketotara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Puketotara Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Whangaparaoa, Auckland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
“I want to live here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

had such a fantastic weekend here. The hospitality is amazing. The animals are such a delight especially Hana! Mutsuo cooked us the most wonderful meal and John was a fantastic host. Foot massage and bbq by the river were real highlights. You don't need to venture out at all, shame we had already booked a couple of meals out. Next time I will make use of the DVD's, CD's and numerous books and stay in this home from home all weekend! Loved it :)

Room Tip: The cottage is a good option for sharing with others and being a bit more private if you want to
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pim66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
53
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Have lived in NZ for 8 years and stopped at many hotels/lodges in that time. Without a doubt this place is the best. John & Mutsuo provide fantastic hospitality (along with the animals), and go beyond making you feel welcome. Too many highlights to mention, but playing golf with their friends, with a bbq thrown in by the river halfway round was something I'll not forget. Thanks for everything guys, & see you soon...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gismo1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mutsuohatada, Owner at Puketotara Lodge, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thankyou so much for taking the time to write a review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. It was a delight to meet you. John Mutsuo and Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just got back to the cold and wet in the UK and now have the time to write this review. However I have just read all the other reviews and they say everthing. I do not know what new to say. They all had the same experiance as us. John Mutsuo & Hana the dog and the whole place and food and golf course and grounds were fantastic. Anybody in Kerikeri must stay here and you must eat in. Wonderful.

Room Tip: all room are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangaparaoa, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Wow, my husband and I have visited Kerikeri many times and stayed in some fantastic accommodation but nothing comes close to Puketotara Lodge. Everything was just perfect from the moment we arrived until the moment we left, from the stunning scenery and the mouth watering food to the most amazing hospitality shown by John and Matsuo, we just could not fault any aspect of our three day stay. We hope to pay a return visit very soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the king room which was very spacious, comfortable and homely. Our friends stayed in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Wowee - from Mutsuo's lovely welcome to our departure two days later, the whole experience staying at Puketotara Lodge was very special.
What a magical setting, lush green, beautiful garden, wonderful home grown fruits from the garden with superb breakfast.
Friendly beautiful Labrador dog, well loved cats, horses and Llamas in the field.
If you get the opportunity to stay at this place.
My only complaint was that because the King size bed was so comfortable and the heavy drapes so effective at blocking out the daylight - we slept in waaaaay too long and missed some of our day. Thankfully Mutsuo still presented us with the a breakfast that was up to the best restaurant.
I would rate it as a six star lodge - awesome : )

Room Tip: Definitely worth upgrading to the King size room with the spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our stay was sensational inside and out,

A spacious King room opened out to a fantastic view of the countryside Hana the black l labradoor was a very cool friend to have. We renamed her BP after black panther. The breakfast was YUM, good food from the farm :) Highly recommended

Thank you for the hospitality.

Room Tip: king size :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level Contributor
102 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

A quite spacious room ( Queen) which opened out to a fantastic view of the countryside & the 30 acres within which lies The Lodge .
We stayed for two nights in order to have a game of Golf at Kauri Cliffs ( 35 mins away)
Mutsuo & John took delight in making our stay very relaxing & great fun as well.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: Check Wotif for the latest deals on the rooms & then phone direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerbazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kerikeri hotels
2.2 mi away
Stay Kerikeri
Stay Kerikeri
#7 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
2.7 mi away
Stone Store Lodge Accommodation
2.1 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Avalon Resort
Avalon Resort
#4 of 30 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pagoda Lodge
Pagoda Lodge
#6 of 26 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puketotara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puketotara Lodge

Property: Puketotara Lodge
Address: 1608 E Springbank Road | Kerikeri, Kerikeri 0293, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Puketotara Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Puketotara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing