We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious accmmodation with Fantastic view and hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Swallows Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Swallows Ridge
Ranked #1 of 26 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Drummoyne, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
“Luxurious accmmodation with Fantastic view and hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We travelled North Island for the week and this was the best accommodation we stayed at. Mick was very helpful and made us feel very welcome. The views of Bay of Islands was beautiful and the accommodation superb, ensuite in every room, breakfast the lot. When travelling ir is also nice to talk to people and Mick is very Friendly. It was a shame Chris was not around to chat to. I would recoomend a stay here when going up North of North NZ. The Rainbow falls is not that far away and is a good trek. Many good restaurants nearby. Highly recommended. We did not se the swimming pool but that was very picturespue.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
182
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My second visit to this fantastic home even surpassed the first trip. Mike & Chris are the perfect hosts and nothing is to much trouble.Waking up from a wonderful, restful and quite sleep to be welcomed to a view that cements Kerikeri's place as one of the best places to visit in New Zealand and maybe the world. The house is close to Kerikeri and all the local historic attractions but what sealed it for me was the friendly and welcoming attitude these British ex-pats have towards their guests. Top notch and thoroughly recommend a stay at this beautifully set up home.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea views. But all rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Most wonderful stay with Chris and Mike. Immaculate rooms with en suite and separate residence lounge. Beautiful and peaceful rural setting overlooking rolling pastures and views
of the Kerikeri inlet. and only a 10 minute drive to the historical Stone Store area of the Kerikeri township. Attentive and welcoming hosts with good local knowledge. Highly recommended.

Tim and Jill Bellamy. timandjillbellamy@hotmail.com

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

A warm, friendly, country welcome and spectacular views over the Bay of Islands. Beautifully and thoughtfully planned modern designed B&B. Everything you could wish for clean, comfortable and quiet. Chris and Mike were wonderful hosts and we so enjoyed chatting with them over a cuppa and learning about their life and travels. Their suggestions on where to go and what to do to make our short stay so memorable was very much appreciated. Loved the country feel with the cows, ducks and chooks (especially Henny Penny) and we even got to hear a kiwi!! Mike makes a wonderful English breakfast and was very attentive to our needs. Just wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank classical_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

The website is impressive but in reality it doesn't do any justice. The house is immaculately presented, the hosts Chris and Mike have thought of everything. From their welcoming smiles, modern decor to the hearty big breakfast and not to mention the useful local recommendations. Their high attention to detail made our one night stay feel like we were in a 5 star hotel with the luxury of making ourselves at home. Our friends visiting from Melbourne rated it as well, it was a beautiful way to greet and farewell a day of exploring the gorgeous Bay of Islands.

Room Tip: The 2 Rooms with the view is a breathtaking way to start and end your day
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsReed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

A very warm welcome from Mike & Chris for our 2 night stay in their lovely home.We had the Kingfisher suite which was immaculate and had a bottle of wine waiting for us - a nice touch.Mike arranged bookings for our evening meals in town and Chris was particularly helpful in doing our laundry even though water was scarce.Great views all round and we could not fault this place in any way.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnpamMorecambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

It is so lovely to find a warm, welcoming place to stay when travelling from overseas. Mike and Chris are engaging and interested in people & so obviously enjoy providing a top quality experience. The room we were given had private access to a terrace, was immaculately clean, comfortably furnished with top quality decor and all with a view across the bay. The location is in a quiet and restful setting in the top of a ridge, a ten minute drive away from the township. We would highly recommend this delightful bed & breakfast to any & all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
3.4 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
4.6 mi away
Treghan Luxury Lodge
Treghan Luxury Lodge
#2 of 26 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
4.3 mi away
Avalon Resort
Avalon Resort
#4 of 26 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast
3.5 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
8.7 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#2 of 21 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swallows Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallows Ridge

Property: Swallows Ridge
Address: 32A Rangitane Road, Kerikeri 0294, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our purpose built award winning accommodation (2010 House of the Year Silver Medal). Set in 21 acres, our secluded and peaceful location is a designated Kiwi area. Yet is near to town and only two minutes drive to Doves Bay Marina. Enjoy peace and tranquility with fantastic coastal views of the Bay of Islands, Kent Passage and Kerikeri Inlet. Swim in the heated 12mtr pool or relax on your own private patio. All rooms are large with en suite. Home made bread and eggs from our own chickens for breakfast. Visit Kerikeri's historic Stone Store, cafes, farmers market and art galleries, play a round of golf or take a trip to a local beach. Swim with dolphins or catch a marlin - we can arrange it for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swallows Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing