We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice”
Review of Swallows Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swallows Ridge
Ranked #2 of 28 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Warm welcomes, wonderful view and friendly attention from MIke and Chris made this an excellent visit for our trip to the Bay of Islands.
We happily recommend it.
What can be bad about folks who have a duck which wants to be petted?

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMcKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 260 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have literally just walked back through the door from our absolutely lovely stay at Swallows Ridge, we stayed for 3 nights over Easter Weekend and just wanted to stay longer it was hard dragging ourselves away. Mike and Chris are the perfect hosts and nothing is ever too much,whether booking your evenings meal or excursion or drinking all the juice and asking for 3 different kinds of egg at breakfast!! The house itself is absolutely immaculate and beautiful design ( i loved the beds and the bed linen) we made full use of the guest lounge with 3d tv and surround sound on a night in with the latest bond movie, it really felt like a home from home. We really cannot fault anything of our stay, from the hosts, to the setting, to the house itself its really a 5 star experience. We are very much looking forward to a return visit and will definately be recommending to friends!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieMike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband had surprised me for our wedding anniversary and booked Swallow's Ridge for two nights, and boy did he do well!
Firtsly the place is just gorgeous, amazing views,and incrediably clean through out the house. Our room and bathroom were beautiful, decent size, new and clean.
When we arrived we were greeted by the lovely hosts Mike and Chris who were more than accomadating during our stay, and since my husband had informed them it was our wedding anniversary, they had gone the extra mile and we were greeted by a lovely bottle of wine, chocolates and a card congratulating us on our anniversary.
I hightly recommend Swallow's Ridge to anyone looking at staying in Kerikeri, you wont regret it, we will definetly be staying again :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tami L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Swallows Ridge at the beginning of February. Chris and Mike are wonderful hosts, very welcoming and willing to give their time. Their house is immaculate and very comfortable with beautiful views a 10 minute drive from Kerikeri. We look forward very much to returning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Absolutely fabulous! Short distance by car from the nearest town but this is preferred by some of us.
My wife and I stayed for three nights in early February and could not have been more comfortable or contented. I especially enjoyed relaxing in the heated pool before heading into town for a late supper.
Many thanks to Chris and her husband/breakfast chef Mike!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BardofMountbatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Mike and Chris have created a very comfortable and unique boutique type B& B with stunning views across the Bay of Islands and with first class comfort and service. Nothing is too much trouble for the hosts and the rooms are impecable. This B&B would put many 5* hotels to shame. However, it is out of town (one of its attactions) and can be difficult to find without a good map.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

8 minutes drive from Kerikeri township, this beautiful B&B with wonderful views of the hillside and water, this stunning luxurious facility commands you to relax from the moment of arrival! The lovely hosts, Mike and Chris are super helpful, but also not the slightest bit imposing, so guests can relax completely in their rooms or the purpose-built dedicated guest wing. We will definitely be returning, and recommending to friends! The room was lovely, the breakfast delicious, all whilst looking out at a stunning view. In our opinion, well underpriced! If you are considering it as a place to stay - DO IT! You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: All three rooms have a view, although the two rooms on the waters side have a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
3.4 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
5.1 mi away
88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast
8.7 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#1 of 21 in Paihia
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Treghan Luxury Lodge
Treghan Luxury Lodge
#1 of 28 in Kerikeri
312 reviews
4.3 mi away
Avalon Resort
Avalon Resort
#4 of 28 in Kerikeri
205 reviews
5.3 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swallows Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallows Ridge

Address: 32A Rangitane Road, Kerikeri 0294, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range: $117 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our purpose built award winning accommodation (2010 House of the Year Silver Medal). Set in 21 acres, our secluded and peaceful location is a designated Kiwi area. Yet is near to town and only two minutes drive to Doves Bay Marina. Enjoy peace and tranquility with fantastic coastal views of the Bay of Islands, Kent Passage and Kerikeri Inlet. Swim in the heated 12mtr pool or relax on your own private patio. All rooms are large with en suite. Home made bread and eggs from our own chickens for breakfast. Visit Kerikeri's historic Stone Store, cafes, farmers market and art galleries, play a round of golf or take a trip to a local beach. Swim with dolphins or catch a marlin - we can arrange it for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Swallows Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing