We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”
Review of Swallows Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Swallows Ridge
Ranked #2 of 26 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Swallows Ridge is a B&B that has beautiful views and the best hospitality.The hosts are Mike & Chris who could not be more helpful and make you feel at home in the most natural way it was like staying with friends.The down side was that we only had time for one nights stay.Would be certain to stay again when next in NZ and would recommend to anyone heading to the beautiful Bay of Islands.

Tony & Helen

Room Tip: Choice of views from rooms Sea or Country side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
182
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

An exceptionally fine B& B with views to match, the Tui room was fantastic. Exceptionally clean & excellent facilities. Both Chris and Mike were very friendly and helpful. Great breakfasts tailored to our taste and good recommendations for evening meals in Kerikeri (particularly The Pear Tree). Excellent advice for activities during the day and assistance with access to the internet while touring. This stay was one of the highlights of our 22 day tour of the North Island.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaBKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were so lucky to come across Swallows Ridge just outside Keri Keri, hosts Chris & Mike could not have been more welcoming or helpful, nothing was to much trouble. They have a beautiful modern home with immaculate accommodation and stunning views out over the Bay of Islands, peaceful, tranquil, truly a piece of paradise. Our room was beautifully presented, very tastefully decorated with everything we required and above all pristine.There is a large heated outdoor pool set in beautifully landscaped gardens. We highly recommend it and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Our room was perfect with stunning views over the beautiful landscaped gardens and pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Swallows Ridge is a beautiful and immaculate B&B. The hosts Mike and Chris are very nice and welcoming. We enjoyed the pool and the sunset over the lovely view. While it's a bit outside of Kerikeri we'd recommend it and would for sure stay there again when in the area.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dirk R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Nice place to stay with very accommodating hosts. Lovely pool with a view of the harbour. Location is a bit out of town but fine if you have a mode of transport. Rooms are clean and tidy and i would recommend this ace for anyone wanting a peaceful base in the Kerikeri area to see the Far North

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling81271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Scenic environment. Nice, very tidyand tastfully decorated accomodation. Fantastic Hospitality from Chris and Mike. We did enjoy our stay in Swallow Ridge Keri Keri very much. We'll definitely come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivian727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Beautiful location, immaculate, very tasteful & enormously comfortable accommodation, fantastic (heated) pool, delicious fresh breakfasts and the excellent and lively company of Mike and Chris or perfect peace if you want it. I will have no hesitation in recommending Swallows Ridge to all of my family & friends world-wide. A great asset for the Bay of Islands and New Zealand generally !

Room Tip: Choose a room on the sea-side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandynero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
7.4 mi away
Morepork Riverside Lodge
4.3 mi away
Avalon Resort
Avalon Resort
#4 of 26 in Kerikeri
200 reviews
4.6 mi away
Treghan Luxury Lodge
Treghan Luxury Lodge
#1 of 26 in Kerikeri
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
459 reviews
7.4 mi away
Appledore Lodge
Appledore Lodge
#4 of 20 in Paihia
245 reviews
5.1 mi away
88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swallows Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallows Ridge

Property: Swallows Ridge
Address: 32A Rangitane Road, Kerikeri 0294, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our purpose built award winning accommodation (2010 House of the Year Silver Medal). Set in 21 acres, our secluded and peaceful location is a designated Kiwi area. Yet is near to town and only two minutes drive to Doves Bay Marina. Enjoy peace and tranquility with fantastic coastal views of the Bay of Islands, Kent Passage and Kerikeri Inlet. Swim in the heated 12mtr pool or relax on your own private patio. All rooms are large with en suite. Home made bread and eggs from our own chickens for breakfast. Visit Kerikeri's historic Stone Store, cafes, farmers market and art galleries, play a round of golf or take a trip to a local beach. Swim with dolphins or catch a marlin - we can arrange it for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swallows Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing