We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional accommodation in wonderful surroundings.”
Review of Swallows Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swallows Ridge
Ranked #2 of 28 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We stayed three nights at this most ideallic of locations, and our only regret was not planning to stay longer.
Our hosts, Chris & Mike, made us most welcome and pampered to our every need in 5-star luxury.
After partaking of a hearty breakfast prepared by Mike, and enjoying the magnificent views, the options were to just relax by the pool or venture out to the many attractions of the area just a short drive away, including Paihia, the Waitangi Treaty House, and cruises around the islands.
The views from the house location are to die for, and Swallows Ridge is outstanding and most highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K858VGkenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 260 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Swallows Ridge for 3 nights recently. I dont normally do reviews of places I stay but the standard of accomodation and the excellent hosts should be publicised. This is an excellent place to relax and enjoy the views and the pool with welcoming hosts. The best stay we had over a month in NZ.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fergus186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We loved this place so much we returned for more! Swallows Ridge is a suberb B&B. A home away from home with 5 star service provided.

Accomodation is suberb.The rooms are spacious,clean and with great amenities provided including the pool area with amazing views.

If you want a place to unwind and relax while travelling this is the place to stay! Close to Kerikeri and many of the surrounding tourist spots. We highly recommend staying here. Such hospitality and fatastic breakfasts to kick start your day!

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank hew_will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Swallow Ridge is a very well run establishment .The location is utterly stunning , only a few minutes away from restaurants and shops , yet situated in the hills overlooking the bay , ( completely uninterrupted .) The rooms are very well equipped and to a high standard , as are the bathrooms. All rooms have a terrace overlooking the bay or mountains . Michael and Chris were excellent hosts and no request was too much for them. They will help with the planning of sightseeing trips , as well as booking retaurants , ensuring the best tables . This guest house was first class, and great value for money , the best we have found so far in NZ.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JARROGATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

This near new B&B is situated just outside town with awesome views and ample easy parking. After a very friendly welcome we were taken to our rooms which were large, spotless and had a superb en-suite. Slept well and awoke to pre ordered breakfast and great service. I can't recommend this place enough with the pool the views, great rooms separate lounge and warm and friendly owners.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank review003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Our stay could not have been any better. It was like staying with family and the room was stunning, large, clean and everything that you need is here. It has a little kitchen and washing machine and it was perfect for us and our 9 month old. She had a cot and loved the cow bambi and all the other cows, chickens and ducks. We couldn't have asked for anything better. The service was sensational. So good in fact I am definitely staying in touch with them and we will come again.
Mike and Chris are a wealth of knowledge about the area and the great things this place has to offer.
We can't speak anymore highly of this pristine hideaway on the top of the hill with views to
die for. I feel like I have been a royal for the three days that we stayed at Swallows Ridge.
You have to come here.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
Thank AmyHopson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

The location was the best, a little off the beaten track but worth the drive. Mike and Chris were great hosts who couldn't do enough for us Aussies. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The view was something else. 180 degrees of The Bays and surrounding farm lands. Christine and Bob.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scappybags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
5.1 mi away
88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast
8.7 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#1 of 21 in Paihia
357 reviews
4.6 mi away
Treghan Luxury Lodge
Treghan Luxury Lodge
#1 of 28 in Kerikeri
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
496 reviews
3.5 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
5.5 mi away
Relax a Lodge
Relax a Lodge
#11 of 28 in Kerikeri
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swallows Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallows Ridge

Address: 32A Rangitane Road, Kerikeri 0294, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range: $117 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our purpose built award winning accommodation (2010 House of the Year Silver Medal). Set in 21 acres, our secluded and peaceful location is a designated Kiwi area. Yet is near to town and only two minutes drive to Doves Bay Marina. Enjoy peace and tranquility with fantastic coastal views of the Bay of Islands, Kent Passage and Kerikeri Inlet. Swim in the heated 12mtr pool or relax on your own private patio. All rooms are large with en suite. Home made bread and eggs from our own chickens for breakfast. Visit Kerikeri's historic Stone Store, cafes, farmers market and art galleries, play a round of golf or take a trip to a local beach. Swim with dolphins or catch a marlin - we can arrange it for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Swallows Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing