We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Parrot Place

The Parrot Place
Ranked #3 of 38 things to do in Kerikeri
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wander through our glorious subtropical gardens and enjoy the entertaining antics and colourful plumage of a huge variety of native and exotic parrots from around the world.Enjoy getting up close and personal with our pet birds in a natural environment and get your photo taken with them and Elmo the dancing Macaw
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Have been a few times as very local to us. Always have a great time, the hosts Vanessa & Mark along with Chris are always very welcoming, happy to help make the visit into a experience.
You get to feed and hold some of the birds.
There is also a playarea and a gift shop.
And should you want to but a bird of your own they sell them and everything you could need to set you up.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    79
    8
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
“Great family attraction”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This was a really cool day, we went in the rain and it was the best! The birds were loving it. We got to hold some of birds, they sit on your shoulders, some on head :) and are super inquisitive. Lots of amazing photo opportunities as well. Elmo the gorgeous macaw is the most stunning and entertaining of the lot. You can also walk through a couple of the aviaries and hand feed them peanuts. We wanted to take them home at the end of the day. Highly recommend The Parrot Place, was definitely a highlight for us.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chantelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice collection of parrots”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Nice collection of parrots. Most are in enclosed large enclosures but there is also an aviary so you can be inside with them. Good family place and friendly people working. They would get children acquainted with the birds and interacted.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank WilliamJordan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's for the birds”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We feel that our visit to the parrot place was worth the money we paid, It's not that often you get a bunch of trained parrots sitting on your shoulder and the walk through averys are quite cool. Can get your pet bird a treat while you are there.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Warrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of our Holiday Highlights”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This was certainly one of the highlights of our holiday, we took our daughter and son-in-law and the three grandchildren there. The children especially just loved it. Mark was in charge and encouraged us all to handle some of the birds, needless to say they all came away wanting to take them home. We took lots of photos and everyone without exception thoroughly enjoyed their visit. It was great to talk to Mark about his birds and obvious that he loved what he was doing. One of the areas best kept secrets! Delighted to have found this through Tripadvisor

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ianrob99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Parrot Place also viewed

 
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 

Been to The Parrot Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing