We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for exploring the Northland”
Review of Relax a Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relax a Lodge
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect place for exploring the Northland”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed here four nights in the Doolittle cabin, and it was absolutely delightful. Cabin was well equipped, peaceful citrus grove setting. The nearby beautiful hostel lodge had Claus (owner) and host Inga nearb, who were extremely helpful. We stayed four nights and tried to extend our stay but it was booked. The larger cabins would be perfect for a family. Lots of groceries, restaurants, etc nearby in Kerikeri. Hostel rooms/beds were also very nice,

Room Tip: Doolittle cabin perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nzack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
26
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Have booked this based on the good reviews, and am not disappointed. The wooden lodge is first class, and the staff are very friendly. Our accommodation is right in the midst of a large orchard. There are two big supermarkets in Kerikeri, and we just bought food to cook on the BBQ. Truly great value accommodation, will definitely return and highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Booked an en-suite room but were shown to a cottage in the orange groves.Beautifully equipped with bathroom,kitchen,sitting area with TV and comfortable bed,We even had tea and cofee and a large bowl of oranges provided.Hosts Claus and Inger were most helpful and we had a most enjoyable stay.Keriki is adelightful town with some great walks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

So glad we chose to stay here. Its really relaxing. The kitchen is very well equipped, probably the best I have seen. The animals are lovely, and the hosts are fantastic. Superb value for money.
Would have liked to stay much longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wightlady503888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I think this place has recently changed its name to Relax a Lodge. Personally find it more fitting as well because it is so much more than a hostel. We were in the Valencia Cottage what is now known as DoLittle. It is anything but little. We loved the place so much we wished we could have stayed longer! Beautifully decorated, the most comfortable bed, beautiful bedding, plush towels, fully equipped kitchen and everything provided was of the highest quality. It was even more comfortable and beautiful than all the motels we have been at in the country so far and at a fraction of the price! With the BBH card, it is even cheaper! Best money spent on accommodation yet!

You are surrounded by mandarin and orange trees and friendly pet dogs. You get free fruit and free wifi as well. Wished we could have spent more timechatting with the lovely people staying there and the owner. Thanks for a great stay and kudos for maintaining such an amazing place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

What a fantastic place to stay - so glad we chose this place. The cottage was perfect for us and was beautifully presented and really well equipped - with everything from teabags, to washing up liquid in the kitchen. Our hosts were really friendly and flexible, allowing us to bring our cat and to check out late - fantastic service. Only 5 mins drive from town, so convenient.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Valencia cottage. Nestled in between rows of oranges, it was private and well equip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I booked the Valencia cottage for 10 nights and ended up staying 14. I loved the farm! It was so peaceful and relaxing. The two young men currently running the hostel, Christian and Martin, are so hospitable and cordial .... And the owner is simply wonderful. He helped me change my flat tire and we had a ball of a time! The workers staying in the lodge were some the most interesting people I have ever met. Such a wonderful blend of cultures, languages and interests. We spent a lot of time together talking about absolutely everything ... and music and Wagner in particular. All of the cottages are gorgeous and cozy, as is the hostel itself. Claes has given the place a personal touch that makes it feel just like home.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are quiet because the hostel and the cottages are situated in the middle of an orga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
2.1 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
2.0 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
1.2 mi away
Avalon Resort
Avalon Resort
#4 of 26 in Kerikeri
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
461 reviews
8.1 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relax a Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax a Lodge

Property: Relax a Lodge
Address: 1574 Springbank Rd | State Highway 10, Kerikeri 0293, New Zealand (Formerly Kerikeri Farm Hostel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Relax a Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
»Come to find a little paradise.....«We are happy to welcome you in a cosy hostel with loads of character. Surrounded by our organic orange and mandarin orchard. We offer a wonderfully relaxing base for exploring the Bay of Islands and the Far North. Enjoy the atmosphere of a roaring fire. Relax on our spacious terrace while the sun is setting, swim in the pool or just sit back, relax and watch the oranges grow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Relax a Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing