We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Relax a Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relax a Lodge
Utrecht
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Cute hostel in the middle of orange farm.
Very friendly staff, clean kitchen and good equipped. Nice veranda at the back and cute dog.
Too bad you can't lock your room doors, we were there all the time but we were uncomfortable to leave our valuables in the room. It's bit out of the town, but no problems for us as we had a car.
Remember to book your trips in the Bay of Islands in advance, we just rocked up and lucked out for a boattrip the next day. We couldn't stay longer unfortunately.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vakantieganger101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
26
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gibsons, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

What a treat! Spotless kitchen and friendly hosts. Very nice rooms. Walked around the organic orchards of citrus fruit while the friendly KuneKune pet pigs came running up to say hello.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mellowjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

... this place offers so much more. Yes, if you're on the backpacker trail, then the main house is fantastic - Stefan and Aya (spelling may be incorrect - sorry) offer fantastic hospitality, but there is a whole other dimension. The private chalets in the orange groves offer a lovely getaway for couples and families - once the two bed unit has been expertly finished by Claus - are of an impeccable standard. Powerful hot showers, brilliant kitchenette, double glazing for peace and quiet, free internet and nice, private decks to enjoy the surroundings.

It does help being an animal lover as the friendly dogs and free range chickens will inevitably pay you a visit and it's well worth popping by to see the adorable kune kune pigs. If I'm visiting Kerikeri again, I'll be back without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarikei, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Probably the best hostel to stay in Kerikeri area! We booked a dorm but got a twin room with 1 single n queen bed (even dorm room has single bed, no bunk at all). It is 4 km away from town so its more convenient if you hv ur own transport, but even if u dont, the manager-Steffen will gv u a ride to and from town whenever necessary. Super comfy living room, clean house! Free internet too! Steffen is 1 of the best host, thanks for brought us to the beach! Shall we hv another challenge again? :D

From Bloody Freaking Asian-Sisera!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sisera_Liong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Good friendly atmosphere. Free internet was the major draw for me. The kitchen was ok (small), and it was nice that it had various spices and such to use. The shower had zero pressure and was only luke warm, so it was basically useless. It was nice that they weren't bunks, but the mattresses were really, really bad. It's right beside the highway, but the orange trees provided a decent enough buffer.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tch77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2010

After nearly two weeks of serious tramping around the northern tip of Northland, our arrival in Kerikeri was a welcome relief. We relaxed with other travelers in the quiet Kerikeri Farm Hostel just outside of town, where guests are invited to sample oranges from the on-site orchard and fresh eggs are available on the cheap.

The town itself is surprisingly bustling for its size (at least on weekdays), and there are a few cafes where a person can enjoy a tasty meal in a sunny location. My husband and I stayed for two nights before heading off, the perfect amount of time as we wouldn't have been able to find anything to do on a third day.

Our favorite bits of Kerikeri? Rainbow Falls and the riverside track down to the old Stone Store, a quiet lunch in Hongi Hika Park overlooking the boats in the inlet.

Helpful?
1 Thank miniappleses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2010

Kerikeri Farm Hostel is one of the nicest and best kept places I have ever stayed at. Lovely set-up, beautiful surroundings and absolutely spotless. Too bad I didn't have time to stay any longer. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steffen0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
2.1 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
2.0 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
1.6 mi away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Avalon Resort
Avalon Resort
#4 of 26 in Kerikeri
201 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
463 reviews
8.1 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relax a Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax a Lodge

Property: Relax a Lodge
Address: 1574 Springbank Rd | State Highway 10, Kerikeri 0293, New Zealand (Formerly Kerikeri Farm Hostel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Relax a Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
»Come to find a little paradise.....«We are happy to welcome you in a cosy hostel with loads of character. Surrounded by our organic orange and mandarin orchard. We offer a wonderfully relaxing base for exploring the Bay of Islands and the Far North. Enjoy the atmosphere of a roaring fire. Relax on our spacious terrace while the sun is setting, swim in the pool or just sit back, relax and watch the oranges grow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Relax a Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing