We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmm yum”

Makana Chocolate Boutique
Book In Advance
More Info
$114.06*
and up
Shore Excursion: Bay of Islands Sightseeing Tour
More Info
$95.05*
and up
Full-Day Wine and Gourmet Delights of Marlborough Tour with Omaka Aviation...
More Info
$87.45*
and up
Half-Day Wine Gourmet and Scenic Delights Tour from Blenheim
Ranked #2 of 14 Shopping in Kerikeri
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is a chocolate boutique where they make speciality chocolates before your eyes (and you can have a go too!) and the products are the best chocolates, without fear of contradiction, you'll find anywhere!
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mmmm yum”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stopped in on the way back to our accommodation to watch the chocolate being made. We were offered lots of delicious samples (apricot chocolate, macadamia butter toffee crunch and macadamia brittle). So good and such friendly service! We couldn't resist buying some.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hayleypearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    35
    12
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chocolate perfection”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

A quaint little shop with a viewing window where you literally watch the chocolates being hand-made in front of your eyes. The staff are lovely and offer you the daily taste tester as you walk in the door. This is the peak of chocolate perfection, melt in your mouth bliss. It's not too sweet or sickly, and the textures are amazing. I'm going to be buying these as gifts for all my friends and family over the coming months! Couldn't recommend this place more!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erintimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Most amazing chocolate ever!
Definitely try the Macadamia Butter Toffee Crunch!
Will be stopping here again for sure!

Helpful?
Thank madskul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“yum yum!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Greeted with samples and a cheery hello!
Great to watch the product being made and was able to try other products beyond the samples offered

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LizNZ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good Quality for a Price”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

It was our first visit to Kerikeri and other than visiting the supermarket and the wood-carving store next to this place, we spent most of our time tasting samples & trying to decide which ones we wanted to buy.

For the upcoming St.Patricks Day, there was a toffee brittle made with Guiness Stout & it was too good to pass up. My beer-brewing husband was in 7th Heaven!

The clerk was generous with samples & we watched the chocolate-making for awhile. Not rocket-science but interesting

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank itchfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makana Chocolate Boutique also viewed

Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Makana Chocolate Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing