We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit confusing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kerikeri Park Motel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Kerikeri
Certificate of Excellence
British Columbia Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A bit confusing”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Not sure how to rate this place. We decided to stay here based on all the good reviews. When we arrived there was no one at the reception area, until a young man came along and told us the manager was out for a bit, gave us a key and asked us to return later to pay. No problem, but did think it was odd that the reception would be open, but no one there.

As soon as we opened our car doors we could hear this poor dog crying from the neighbors property. We asked the manager later about it and she told us it was unusual but she would call the neighbor right away.

However, after 2 hours of this poor dogs crying, I called the manager.back. She explained that the neighbor was not home, but they had gone over and looked and the dog was fine in his kennel. This was still going on after 4 hours, where the manager again explained that the dog was fine in his kennel and that he had recently been weened from the mother. This told us that she did know about this previously and should have been upfront with us at checkin time.

Not only was this upsetting it is out right cruel. While it is not the managers fault by any means, to brush it off and not be honest when we checked in bothered us. We decided to leave first thing in the morning and find another place to stay.

The motel itself is fine, but if you are planning to stay here I would certainly ask about whether the dog issue has been resolved.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mika98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerikeriParkMotel, Manager at Kerikeri Park Motel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Many thanks for your review - I apologise for not being here personally to check you in. And I do apologise for the issue with the dog. This was extremely rare and I was absolutely not aware of this prior until I was able to get hold of the neighbour. If I had known it was going to cry for that long I would have definitely told you when you asked me. I felt extremely agitated as well in regards to the dog because I knew you were upset about it crying and I was unable to rectify the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    20
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
40
93
7
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This place truly shocked me, as it was hidden from the road. A gem in the most beautiful surroundings and so quiet. I was lucky enough to be upgraded to a room with a spa bath which was great on the cold nights. The rooms including the bathroom were so spacious, I mean huge. The deck out the front wasn't , big, I have to say. Very modern rooms with lovely modern decor and very warm and fresh. I will most definitely say and my friends who had a peek, that we would recommend and go back here.

Room Tip: Upstairs are lovely as you get a good view out to the peaceful surroundings
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lulu1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerikeriParkMotel, Manager at Kerikeri Park Motel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Lulu1106

Thanks so much for your fantastic amazing comments. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and also that you found Kerikeri Park Motel to be a gem.

I certainly look forward to seeing you again in the future.

All the very best and kind regards
Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warlingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We chose it based on Tripadvisor reports and were delighted to find it met our ideals for peaceful location, comfort, cleanliness and friendly, helpful staff. It was also excellent value for money, as my wife and I were able to enjoy spacious accommodation in a Luxury one-bedroom Unit, together with our adult son, who slept in the living room. The bathroom and separate toilet, accessed from the corridor, were ideally arranged and the kitchen excellently equipped. Jacqui, the manageress, was unfailingly friendly and helpful, not only with advice and information, but in arranging laundry and even providing a personal taxi service to our chosen restaurant. While we were there the motel was in the process of changing ownership but if the new owners are lucky enough to persuade Jacqui to remain in charge the high standard should be maintained.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHK30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerikeriParkMotel, Manager at Kerikeri Park Motel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear RHK30

Thanks so much for your fantastic comments they are very much appreciated. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that your expectations were met.

It was a pleasure to have you stay and we do so look forward to seeing you in the future if you are back over this way.

All the best
Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

This property ticked all the boxes. Clean tidy spacious modern units.
Jackie was very friendly and helpful. The property is well off the road with loads of room for parking. Very quiet and peaceful!! We were just a couple travelling for business, but there was loads of rooms here for kids to play.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucyntrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, UK
Level Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This was our second visit and once again we absolutely loved it. Actually even better this time because Jackie was there herself whereas last time she was away and there was stand in management. The motel is in a brilliant location just off the main road into Kerikeri but concealed from the road. The road is quiet anyway but the location is such that you feel that you are miles away from roads etc.We were in Room 17 again. It is the biggest room at the motel and is clean bright and spacious and, being on the upper floor provides nice views of the large garden.
Best of all though was the friendly, helpful service from Jackie and her team. We used the guest laundry facilities and when the washing machine played up Jackie moved our laundry to her much larger machine to complete the wash. We have experienced so many friendly, amusing and helpful people in our trips to NZ and Jackie is one of the best.
Wifi signal was good and strong and Jackie allocated us a hefty chunk of wifi time on arrival...so much easier that the usual need to go back for more every day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hattiepops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerikeriParkMotel, Manager at Kerikeri Park Motel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear hattiepops

Wow your comments are very humbling thank you soo so much, they are extremely muchly appreciated.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
All the very best
Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taihape, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed over the New Year Period at Kerikeri Park Motel and had an absolutely wonderful stay. Jackie was amazing forever looking after us and all her guests and ensuring as to her motto nothing was ever too much trouble. I would not hesitate to recommend this to fellow travelers. Quiet location, modern and pristine units. Definitely a great find and we will be back to stay again. Thanks Jackie for a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppytai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had a family reunion at this motel and pretty much booked out the whole place. We had an amazing time, the manager could not have been more helpful or accommodating. The huge lawn area was perfect for volleyball and badminton. The rooms are lovely. They are very clean and value for money. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerikeriParkMotel, Manager at Kerikeri Park Motel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Sally R

Thanks so much for reviewing Kerikeri Park Motel and for your fantastic comments.

It was an absolute pleasure to have your family reunion here at the Motel and certainly look forward to seeing you again.

All the very best
Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kerikeri hotels
2.2 mi away
Colonial House Motel
Colonial House Motel
#5 of 16 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
1.1 mi away
Motel Kerigold Secluded Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.8 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
1.5 mi away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kerikeri Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerikeri Park Motel

Property: Kerikeri Park Motel
Address: 494b Kerikeri Road | Northland, Bay of Islands, Kerikeri 0293, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kerikeri Park Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in expansive park like grounds KERIKERI PARK MOTEL offers a quiet tranquil place to stay in a private location but also close to Kerikeri town centre. Opened in 2009, KERIKERI PARK MOTEL is the newest motel in Kerikeri, Bay of Islands. We have large self-contained studio and 1 bedroom units, catering for all types of travelers, whether families, corporate, groups or couples. All units are equipped with full kitchens - 12 units feature luxuriously tiled bathrooms with spa baths and King Size beds. Our 8 executive studio units are interconnecting making them ideal for couples traveling together or family groups. These units have fully tiled bathrooms with shower and queen size bed plus a full kitchen. Relax on your private upstairs balcony or walk out onto the expansive lawn from your downstairs patio. Enjoy the evening sunset with a glass of wine or order from our breakfast menu and relax in the morning sun. Kerikeri Park Motel is the ideal place to base yourself to explore Northland 'the birthplace of our nation'. An abundance of activities are at your doorstep. Come and share in our piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kerikeri Park Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing