We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bay of Islands retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kerikeri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lyness Accommodation
Ranked #18 of 26 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Bay of Islands retreat”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from a 10 day trip north of Auckland in the region of Northland. We spent 3 nights in the beautiful suite at Lyness Accommodation. The owners, Adrian and Sharon, are terrific hosts and provided great information as to the highlights of the Bay of Islands area. Their restored historic house and property sit on a hillside overlooking a bay in a peaceful and quiet neighboorhood in Kerikeri. A quick drive will take you to some great restaurants, our favorites being http://www.foodatwharepuke.co.nz for delicious and creative dishes, and http://www.thepeartree.co.nz/ for good food and beautiful setting. From Lyness, there is nice walk that will take you to New Zealand's oldest house, Kemp House (1821-22) and the world reknowned Stone Store (1832-36). Lyness accommodation has both a lovely suite that is attached to the main house and a separate cottage that is very private, cute and cozy. Of the three main towns in the Bay of Islands- Pahia, Russell and Kerikeri, Kerikeri feels less touristy, but within easy day trips to see the whole area. We highly recommend Lyness Accommodation and the town of Kerikeri. Stay several nights because there is a lot to see and do.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, Owner at Lyness Accommodation, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thanks Kathy and Don for the great review on our accommodation. We're happy you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great having some fellow Washingtonians here. And we also appreciate your advice and recommendations/links to our local restaurants and places to visit. If you're ever back this way, do come and see us. All the best! Sharon and Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Adrian and Sharon are delightful hosts. We chose the cottage which overlooks a vineyard and the river valley. One can also stay adjacent to their charming home in the "suite". The accommodation is very attractive and comfortable. The highlight was the ability to BBQ and enjoy fine New Zealand wines on the verandah. This is a gem and should be enjoyed for at least 3 nights so that the umpteen sites of physical beauty and grandeur in the Bay of Islands can be visited.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed in the Suite for 4 nights, and would have loved to stay much much longer.... We were on a romantic break, and it was perfect for us. Sharon and Adrian are wonderful hosts, they are absolutely charming and very attentive. The Suite is much bigger than how it appears in photos, and really pretty and feels relaxing with nice touches like bathrobes, heated floor in bathroom, choccies and fruitbowl on arrival.... The view is just so pretty! The location was perfect for us, we were happy to walk down to the Stone House, along the river or to KeriKeri town. Will definitely return one day and really can't recommend this place enough, it's a delight.

Room Tip: The cottage has stunning views and is very private, the Suite is much larger with better facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emuesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Our visit was a 50th wedding anniversary present from family, and was just beautiful! We loved the homestead-style house and suite, good to see an older, historic home so lovingly restored, and sympathetically improved. Sharon and Adrian are delightful hosts.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We had a lovely stay at this beautiful cottage - a genuine slice of NZ. The place is cute and small but definitely big enough for two. All the creature comforts you could hope for and the host has gone the extra mile to make sure you are well looked after. The view is spectacular and looks onto the historic part of Keri Keri. The bath was an extra special highlight and will really help you unwind.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebloom2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We went to Lyness for our honeymoon and had a lovely time. The suite was really comfortable and looked great. It was a pleasure to come back to at the end of the day. Being in the suite was fun and very unlike a motel where all you want to do is leave to go do things! The garden outside the suite was beautiful, we happily sat for hours watching dragonflies and monarchs meander around in the sun. We had been a little worried about being in a suite connected to the house for a honeymoon but we soon felt completely relaxed. Sharon and Adrian were great hosts and very knowledgable about what to do, and they really had thought ahead and provided heaps of unexpected little comforts. Magnificent bathroom which my wife now wants to emulate herself. Would recommend to anyone and everyone without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanusAurelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wachtberg, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

This was our first ever experience of B and B in New Zealand and we couldn't have chosen better. Sharon and Adrian are warm and welcoming hosts and a mine of information about how to get the most out a visit to the Northland. We stayed in the cottage which is a delightfully secluded chalet with a stunning view across the inlet; the interior is nicely furnished with everything you could possibly need.Th separate bedroom shares the view over the inlet through the double doors of the immaculate bathroom. Sharon's breakfast which include delicious freshly baked muffins or scones are not to be missed! We would thoroughly recommend Lyness accommodation and would gladly return for a second visit

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kerikeri hotels
2.4 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
453 reviews
0.9 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
2.7 mi away
Relax a Lodge
Relax a Lodge
#11 of 28 in Kerikeri
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
1.2 mi away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
2.4 mi away
Kerikeri Park Motel
Kerikeri Park Motel
#4 of 16 in Kerikeri
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyness Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyness Accommodation

Property: Lyness Accommodation
Address: 28 Pa Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lyness Accommodation is a very private and romantic getaway with water views over the Kerikeri Inlet. We offer 2 double, self contained units, Lyness Cottage and Lyness Suite, both with free WIFI. They have a 1920’s old world feel with lead light windows and polished rimu floors. Enjoy the ambience on your own private deck where you can watch sheep grazing at your doorstop or listen to the abundant birdlife. The cottage has a large clawfoot bath and the suite a spa-bath plus a fireplace. Our accommodation offers peacefulness and seclusion and is perfect for both honeymooners and independent travellers wishing a unique tranquil setting. We are located in Kerikeri which is a central base for exploring all the Bay of Islands has to offer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing