We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Cinema

Cafe Cinema
Ranked #13 of 39 Restaurants in Kerikeri
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $25
Cuisines: Cafe, European, New Zealand, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "IT'S YOUR PLACE" ...That's what we like to say, so welcome to our place which is also your place. We enjoy the company of our local clientele who have become regulars at the restaurant and created a great community with whom we share our lives every day. It's the 'local' place to hang out for coffee and chats and a great place for meals all day. Our chefs are passionate about fresh food, prepared beautifully and served with style. We are committed to healthy and delicious food that satisfies all tastes, so whether it's our famously tender and tasty calamari, or our weekly fish dish specials, or a vegetarian delight, a hearty steak, or a divine dessert, we'll have something just for you. Our commitment to sustainability and environmental awareness is important to us, and we serve free range chicken, pork and eggs. We recycle everything we can from bottle tops (Kidney Kids Foundation fundraisers), to food waste (pigs, and compost). Our community,our tamariki (children) and the wider whanau (family) mean everything, and we support our local charities and services wherever and however, we can to support our community. So...Welcome...To your place.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Has to be one of the best main meals I've had for under $30 in a long time. The pork and accompaniments were delicious, generous and cooked well. Service was excellent, relaxed and friendly. We were spoilt - thanks Cafe Cinema, we'll be back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mats W, Owner at Cafe Cinema, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks for that review! The pork is so delishious! It was good to have you all here and we'll look forward to your next visit....cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    54
    15
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best lattes in Kerikeri”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Food is great too, can't wait to get a slice of carrot cake! Have numerous flavors for your coffee as well (many local coffee shops don't have flavors which is a bit unusual for those accustomed to having their choice).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gonesailing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mats W, Owner at Cafe Cinema, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for that review!..ok, so now you've enjoyed our "Best in Town" coffees (and the carrot cake of course)-come along and try our Best Dinner In Town!....we promise you'll love it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“food made with Love”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

highly recommend, the management are awesome, was informed on the house special, what he recommended. The food was amazing, the cafe was beautifully set out, there were heaps of choices and a cinema next door if you wanted to see a movie afterwards. The highlight was the record place-mats, and the wooden theater look from the old days. Prices varied to suit all budgets.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Juliekarsten69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mats W, Owner at Cafe Cinema, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks Julie, it was truly a privilege to have you here. Great to meet you and glad you enjoyed our place. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“new menu!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We're regulars at Mats and Therese's establishment. We were there for a meal last night, a wee treat before the cinema. We had a quick look at the menu, and it had all changed! So I thought it'd be fair to re-review it, because the bar has been set even higher! I had confit of duck (one of my favourite dishes) and my wife had "nutty chick" - a nut-coated breast of chicken. Both dishes were superb, real top-restaurant quality offerings, and great sized portions.

So thanks for another lovely meal, you and your team are all stars!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LloydnLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mats W, Owner at Cafe Cinema, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Aww gee...it's our privilege to have you guys at our place. We love you both...and we love your honesty!!!! LOL. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, Northland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great dinner, service and ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Mats and the team do a fantastic job for whatever you want, a quick coffee and snack, a great short menu as a warm up before the cinema next door, or a fantastic full works dinner. Great ambience and friendly staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mats W, Owner at Cafe Cinema, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thanks for a great review, Simon. But...we want the full 5 stars...so better tell us what we can do better! ....we'll give you a pedicure while you eat? LOL.... Thanks again, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Cinema also viewed

Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Cafe Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing