We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just loved the dining experience”
Review of Cafe Cinema

Cafe Cinema
Ranked #13 of 39 Restaurants in Kerikeri
Price range: $4 - $26
Cuisines: Swedish, International, New Zealand, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: "IT'S YOUR PLACE" ...That's what we like to say, so welcome to our place which is also your place. We enjoy the company of our local clientele who have become regulars at the restaurant and created a great community with whom we share our lives every day. It's the 'local' place to hang out for coffee and chats and a great place for meals all day. Our chefs are passionate about fresh food, prepared beautifully and served with style. We are committed to healthy and delicious food that satisfies all tastes, so whether it's our famously tender and tasty calamari, or our weekly fish dish specials, or a vegetarian delight, a hearty steak, or a divine dessert, we'll have something just for you. Our commitment to sustainability and environmental awareness is important to us, and we serve free range chicken, pork and eggs. We recycle everything we can from bottle tops (Kidney Kids Foundation fundraisers), to food waste (pigs, and compost). Our community,our tamariki (children) and the wider whanau (family) mean everything, and we support our local charities and services wherever and however, we can to support our community. So...Welcome...To your place.
Kerikeri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just loved the dining experience”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is the 3rd time that I have been to this cafe, I just love it, it has a wonderful ambience about the place, the food is just superb and staff lovely.

Will be back again

Keep up the great work.

Wendi

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank woodlandsmotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mats W, Owner at Cafe Cinema, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
HI - I thought I'd responded to this ages agao! sorry!
thanks for your lovely words...and we'll keep on giving you a great experience ..just keep on coming back!
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    55
    16
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One dinner in Kerikeri”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We were recomended to go here for a meal and all boxes got a tick. Beautiful food, nice warm atmosphere, excellent service, fantastic bckground music and lovely fellow diners to chat with.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mats W, Owner at Cafe Cinema, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Cheers! we do aim to provide a great dining experience with friendly and welcoming service so we're pleased we ticked all the boxes for you. Many thanks for your superb review. We really do appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Couldn't get a coffee...”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Very disappointed as we went to see a movie on Sunday night, but when asked to buy a couple of takeaway coffees we were told it was not possible as they were too busy?? It didn't look busy to us and we had half an hour to wait until the movie started so we would have waited but were not given that option. Off to McDonalds so that was disappointing.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windsortravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mats W, Owner at Cafe Cinema, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Oh dear, that's a boo boo. Perhaps I should have taken the time to explain it better. Sorry guys! if I'd known you had time to wait for a coffee it would have been ok - but I was under the impression you were in a hurry as you wanted takeaway coffees.....
I do apologise! Our aim is to keep everyone happy-and obviously I let you down this time.
It was unexpectedly busy ..and I had noone else rostered on, so I had to prioritise the diners. Sorry!
Come and have dinner some time and we'll look after you well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely worth a return visit”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Just enjoyed great coffee and a very good bacon bennie sat out in the sun. This is a fairly small restaurant with a limited brunch menu but I would rather a smaller tasty menu than a huge menu that the chef can't cope with. The meal definitely represented good value for money and we will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tinkerboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mats W, Owner at Cafe Cinema, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Hi- Thanks for that!- yes we are very proud of our reputation as the best brekky spot in Kerikeri. It's a great location making the most of the sun and we do pride ourselves on fab coffee and Brunch! Glad you could share with us. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nealt little place”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Enjoyed the pictures with my family and a bite at the cafe. Food was fresh a bit pricey for us as a family, we enjoyed the evening though!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank viliteca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mats W, Owner at Cafe Cinema, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thanks for your review! Lovely to have you here. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Cinema also viewed

 
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Cafe Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing