We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly and well-priced”
Review of Kauri Park Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kauri Park Motel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Kerikeri
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly and well-priced”
Reviewed January 7, 2011

This is a nice place to stay. As others have said, the attitude of the hosts goes a long way in setting the tone. The welcoming glass of sauvignon blanc didn't do any harm either! It's not high-end, but it is clean, comfortable and competent. The gardens are restful and the pool nice without being luxurious. There is some noise from the road during the day, and you would need a car to go into town. We found it good value.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    74
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
118
201
25
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2011

My family stayed for two days and hosts were very friendly. The rooms are very clean and tidy. Overall a nice motel to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Location: removed approx 20m from very busy road, so not super quiet. The road is not too busy at night, though. It is a 30 minute+ walk into town (along the busy road). Grounds are nicely kept, and there is a small swimming pool. Rooms have all the basics, which would make them a solid 2 star on an international scale, but nothing luxurious. Wall paper is peeling at corners of windows and doors.
Sleep quality: the bed was rather hammocky, very soft in the middle. Pillows far too hard and high, particularly in combination with the soft mattress. Fridge in the same room as the bedroom was of the noisy sort, and a loudly ticking clock was provided.
On the bright side: staff was very friendly, room was very clean, wireless internet working (though painfully slow). Offering accessible rooms is a nice touch
All in all, I found there to be an agreeable relation between money spent and service received, but differing from other's reviews, would not consider this to be a bargain.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuaMaRima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2010

We have stayed at this lovely motel hideaway three times now, including our honeymoon in 2007. It is well positioned as a gateway to the Bay of Islands and is close to the shops of Kerikeri and not far from the popular resort of Paihia.
The accommodation at Kauri Park has always been first-class and is set in beautifully secluded grounds with fruit and native trees and bush and a heated swimming pool. Hosts Dallas and Delphine are an awesome couple - so friendly and helpful it is easy to see how this motel is flourishing under their management. The amenities are comprehensive, with Sky TV and free Wi-Fi and the units (especially ours with a spa!) are comfortable and really relaxing !
This is one of those rare places where you can enjoy peace and quiet and yet be only a short distance from shops and restaurants.
We will definitely be returning and have no hesitation in recommending Kauri Park Motel. If you try it........you'll like it !

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

I keep coming back, best place I have stayed in. Very quiet, comfortable clean and amazingly friendly staff. Great meals too.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fernyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Everything about this motel is just how it should be, lovely rooms which are immaculately clean and perfectly maintained. The owners are friendly and helpful and the price is reasonable. STAY THERE!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterRAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2010

great service and a nice private room. easy to find. nice breakfast too

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuzzynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
10.5 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
1.9 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
10.6 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
946 reviews
1.8 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
9.0 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauri Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauri Park Motel

Property: Kauri Park Motel
Address: 512 Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0293, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauri Park Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort-style motel, nestled amongst 2 acres of subtropical, park-like grounds is the perfect base for travellers wishing to explore Kerikeri, the Bay of Islands and the many attractions that beautiful Northland has to offer. We have a wide range of rooms available, all with free WiFi, 50+ Sky channels, cooking facilities, private decks and ensuite bathrooms, most with spa baths. Continental breakfast and evening meals available. Come and relax in our pool area surrounded by subtropical gardens or on your own private deck overlooking our beautiful grounds. We also have an Art Gallery at Kauri Park selling local arts and crafts, all of which are made on site by your hosts, Carl and Justine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Kauri Park Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing