We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful setting, very comfortable, friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colonial House Motel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Kerikeri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This motel is set amongst some lovely bush. It is very quiet. Yet not far from the township and a walk to the historic stone store. The owners are very friendly. We enjoyed the clean saltwater swimming pool, and the spa pool. The unit we were in was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beatnink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 149 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

We greatly enjoyed a three night stay in a two bedroom cottage right by the pool. The cottage seemed recently refurbished and was bright, clean and fresh with quality cotton linens, an efficient kitchen and comfy beds. The beautiful setting is lush with palm, citrus and jacaranda trees. A one minute drive or 10 minute walk to the center of town, this motel has the best of both worlds. Alan and Andrea are exceptionally warm and attentive hosts and every time we needed something they were easy to find. Highly recommended and an excellent value for the quality accommodations and excellent location. Also, a short walk to beautiful local historic sights. Nice for a morning stroll. Pool is salt water, clean and fresh, well kept.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cairo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

When people talk about "a home away from home", they must be referring to the Colonial House Motel and its wonderful owners.

We stayed for 3 nights in a 2 bedroom unit. The rooms were large, comfortable and well equipped. Cost was very reasonable and it was a very relaxing stay. It was great after a busy day touring around to come back and have a dip in the pool and relax in peaceful and quiet surroundings.

From arrival with the complimentary cookies and wine, to the very friendly and genuine farewells there is little to fault from our stay. The location is approximately 1km form the centre of town so is both walkable, or just a quick car trip. It is on the Stone Store road so this is also an easy stroll down the hill or a very short drive.

However there were a couple of things that do set Colonial House Motel apart from many other places I have stayed.

Firstly as you can see in the photos, this motel is very green. Nothing is on top of each other, you are not forced into a concrete box that is the same as the next concrete box, and there is a genuine feel of being in a relaxed countryside setting.

Secondly the owners were simply fantastic and went out of their way to ensure the holiday was a great holiday. Any question was always answered with knowledge and with a friendly helpful manner. As an example when we were looking for a cruise, they not only offered to arrange one, but offered a discount on prices that they could get as a local provider. When we settled on an R Tucker Thompson cruise, Andrea arranged the whole trip while we were out seeing the other sights and on our return that evening had our tickets and boarding details all printed out ready to go. She even confirmed with the crew regarding my vegetarian option too. Simply service above and beyond normal expectations.

I totally recommend Colonial House Motel and my family will DEFINITELY stay again when next in Kerikeri.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and were very happy with the room. The bath/shower was excellent and the bed comfortable. The proprietors were really friendly and accommodating with our request for a late check out.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Hugh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed for 4 nites here in unit number 2. A full one bedroom apartment. More like one side of a duplex. Totally self contained and a very nice setting. I think that there are only about 10-12 units here. They do offer a bar-b-que and pool. The internet connections are very good and overall the place is very well kept.
The owners Alan & Andrea are very sweet people and were very helpful giving us a "lay of the land" and telling us about the surrounding areas also.
The place is really more of a home style setting as opposed to a motel scene.
Thank you very much for sharing your place with us.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed unit # 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cpjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

A first class place to stay just three hours from Auckland (drive carefully). A brilliant level bush setting that denies the cares of the world. Close to the town centre, but not too close.Be prepared for excellence. Roy Jenner

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

From the moment you arrive, Andrea & Allan make you feel at home.
A welcome glass of wine, some of Allan's home baked cookies, and a pretty accurate weather forecasting from Andrea, who then organized a fabulous day trip for Suzie and I with UNIQUE Dune Rider Tours, up 90 mile beach to Cape Reinga. (a must)
The accomodation amongst the trees, being able to sit outside with a glass if wine, and listen to the evening chorus of bird life, was delightful and relaxing.
If you are going to stay in Keri Keri....stay here....its fabulous!!
Thanks again.

David & Suzie

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
0.3 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
1.1 mi away
Motel Kerigold Secluded Chalets
8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
2.2 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
524 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kerikeri Park Lodge
Kerikeri Park Lodge
#4 of 16 in Kerikeri
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial House Motel

Address: 178 Kerikeri Road | Cnr Peacock Garden Drive, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Kerikeri
Price Range: $99 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial House Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free unlimited WiFi. Netflix and 50+Digital channels. Super new quiet cottages & cabins with comfortable beds and own sundecks in subtropical gardens. Saltwater pool and lovely hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Colonial House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing