We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colonial House Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveler rating
121
28
6
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
121
28
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade cookiesglass of wineon arrivalstone storeabsolutely lovely placefamily stayed herehome away from homefriendly hostsinsect screenssalt water pooltropical feelbedroom cottagecomplimentary beerlarge spa bathplace to stayan extra nightstaying longer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 155 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We arrived at the Colonial House Motel to be greeted by Andrea with homemade cookies and a glass of wine. The self contained cottage is newly refurbished, plush carpet, a crisp clean feel and well stocked for kitchen utensils and cook ware. The cottage had a lovely wee balcony area set in bush. Excellent value and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Awesome location set among bush, easy walking distance to village, our unit was very clean and modern. Loved sitting on deck in morning with coffee and watching the 2 large wood pigeons in the tree, the girls loved the spa, just what was required after long days sight seeing. The hosts were very friendly and helpful, we were greeted with a glass of wine and fresh baking. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting the Bay of Islands. We were going to stay only 2 nights then move on but ended up staying 4 nights. Beds very comfy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay on March 11, 12, 13 and wished our schedule had allowed a couple more days there. We were greeted with wine and fresh-baked, delicious cookies. We found the newly renovated suite to be wonderfully fresh. The kitchenette was well stocked. The shower was spacious and gorgeous – a delight to use. We used the BBQ one evening and the pool was nice and refreshing. Our hosts were very pleasant and accommodating offering lots of advice about local attractions and restaurants. One evening was very still and humid for sleeping, and they promptly brought a second fan to help keep us cool. We were very satisfied and have no suggestions for improvement.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Over the last 6 months I have stayed at Colonial House a number of times for business and once for a personal stay. The owners have been very friendly and know everyone by their first name. You receive wine, cookies and milk on arrival which is a nice touch. The units are spotless and a number of them have been renovated. The location is very central in Kerikeri. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davecorny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Andrea welcomed us with a glass of wine, cookies, and a choice of milk and soy milk. We stayed in one of the Studios that had been recently renovated; it was spotless, just like brand new. We can't say enough about how enjoyable our short stay was; Alan and Andrea are perfect hosts and, being well traveled themselves, know just what travelers require.

The location is quiet and set amongst tropical plantings. We were very pleased with the Eco-friendliness; recycling was actively encouraged with specific recycle bins in the car port and the shower had a low flow shower head.

Alan and Andrea are a charming couple and made us really feel like family; very well done. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this location to anyone staying in the Bay of Islands area.

Room Tip: Contact Andrea and she will help you chose.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews