We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colonial House Motel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Kerikeri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Really enjoy staying at Colonial House it's convenient and quiet, love the birds and butterflies there. Hosts are very welcoming and look after your every needs.

I'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BraeNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan_and_Andrea, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thanks for our kind review. and apologies for the belated response. Yes we are very quiet because of being away from the road, and also because of the traffic diverted along the bypass.
The birds love the peace too, and you saw the beautiful monarch butterflies.

We do try our best to look after your needs and we are glad you appreciated that. Please come and stay with us nxt time you come to beautifiul Kerikeri.
Alan & Andrea & PussPuss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 143 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2012

I always love staying at Colonial house motel and have been lucky enough to do so often in the last couple of years. Andrea and Alan are so welcoming and make you feel right at home - nothing is too much trouble. The motel itself is set in beautiful grounds and when it's warm nothing beats cooling down in the tropical feel swimming pool. The units are clean and fresh and well positioned. I have recommended it to friends and family and they too have always had a lovely time.
I intend to stay there again when I am next in Kerikeri.

Room Tip: The 2 bed unit that opens onto the pool is the best one in my book. Briliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Colonial House Motel during our trip around the North Island, and would rate it among the best of the motels we stayed at. The hosts are really welcoming, friendly and helpful; the units are nice and well-equipped (and with lots of free SkyTV-channels). The motel is situated in a really pleasant and quiet location in a subtropical garden-like setting, but still within walking distance of the town. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanDS_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

was a great stay and be quiet and Andrea § Alan was great lovely thank you so much for all

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We were in Keri Keri for our son's wedding and are so pleased we stayed at the Colonial House Motel.
Andrea and Alan are great hosts and were excellent to deal with.
We would stay again and we will tell anyone we can to stay there also.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katrinamarie713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

My friend and I were attending a wedding in Kerikeri and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Colonial. While Kerikeri is beautiful and the wedding was great, our stay was made even better by Alan and Andrea at the Colonial who simply couldn't do enough for us. They made us feel so welcome and were extremely helpful with booking excursions, recommending restaurants and directions etc.
The motel itself benefits from a superb location - 5 mins to the Stonehouse and some great hikes/walks (especially to Rainbow Falls), lovely cafe's nearby and then only 5/10 mins walk into town - what more could you ask for?!
Hot tub is lovely and relaxing and the pool is great too.

Thanks Alan and Andrea from the 2 Irish girls!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzannemulvaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We chose this motel as it was central to all the things we had planned, also because it offered a 2 bedroom cabin. The hosts were very welcoming and went out of their way to make sure we new all the wonderful attractions in the Kerikeri area. This is one of the few motels that we would like to return to in the future. Thyank you for creating a lovely setting and making our stay special Andrea and Alan

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellat54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
0.3 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
1.1 mi away
Motel Kerigold Secluded Chalets
9.9 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
496 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Kerikeri Court Motel
Kerikeri Court Motel
#8 of 16 in Kerikeri
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial House Motel

Address: 178 Kerikeri Road | Cnr Peacock Garden Drive, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Kerikeri
Price Range: $94 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial House Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free unlimited WiFi. Netflix and 50+Digital channels. Super new quiet cottages & cabins with comfortable beds and own sundecks in subtropical gardens. Saltwater pool and lovely hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Colonial House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing