We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, environment and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Kerikeri
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location, environment and service”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Excellent accommodation, would definitely stay again. My husband and I stayed here with friends to attend another friends wedding. We stayed three nights and really enjoyed it. Excellent value for money, we chose to stay in an executive suite rather than the tourist flats. This worked well as we had our own space and bathroom. And a beautiful bush outlook! Staff were great, putting up with the noise the group of us made! Town is in easy walking distance. Only regret is that we didn't get time to explore the bush a bit more and go walking.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newlyweds246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    24
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
67
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Very, very impressed with the sevice provided by Tony and Wendy , the owners. Ours was a large group that took many rooms with people coming and going over a few days. They were throughout relaxed, accomodating, efficient and friendly. They went the extra mile to help us by allowing us to use some of their kithchen equipment for the wedding (that they could have said no to), not being impolite when we were late checking out, allowing us to leave our wedding recyling/rubbish (we had the wedding at another place) at their motel, allowed me to write my wedding speach on their computer etc etc etc. Its not the flashest of motels but its clean and tidy and good value. And very quiet and a pleasant location and right near the middle of Kerikeri. I have stayed at many venues and was impressed with their service. I will stay here again. I will reccommend to all my friends. I reccommend to you.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are away from the car parking and pool areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I loved staying here, in fact my nana and husband as well. Wendy and Tony were very accommodating and when we needed assistance they were there. We loved the area and the surrounding, close to the shops and the bypass, well done Woodlands your awesome

Room Tip: Room 5 is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toshi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsmotel, Manager at Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Great that you enjoyed your stay as well as our motel - Woodlands.
It was lovely to meet you. All the best for 2013 and hope to see you all again.

Kind Regards,
Wendi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue at Kerikeri definitely gets a 10/10. It truly ticked all the boxes.

The owners Wendi & Tony Brunton make you feel at home with their warm and inviting approach to their guests and their needs. They even assisted me to plan a 3 day road trip to get the best out of my holiday and take in all the sites.

The complex from the rooms to it's surroundings are immaculately maintained - very impressive.

Room Tip: Any room is a great one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsmotel, Owner at Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
It was wonderful that we got to help plan your iterinary as I am sure that you really
enjoyed what Northland had to offer, especially the bus trip to Cape Regina - which is
truely a highlight.

Thank you for your stay.

Wendi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our 2 nights at Woodlands Motel in peak season!! We've stayed in many similar types of accommodation around the world and found this amazing value for money! We found Wendi and Tony very helpful and friendly!! We even changed our booking at the last minute and Wendi was very accommodating and helpful!! The motel setting is very tranquil and peaceful with lots of tall trees and is very central to the Kerikeri shops. The highlight for us was the use of the spa pool and enjoying the surrounding bush setting! We stayed in the affordable (studio) motel unit which have shared bathroom and a (very well equipped) kitchen and lounge. There are also some slightly more private Executive motel rooms with their own bathroom. Thank you for an awesome accommodation option!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellydubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsmotel, Owner at Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
It was a pleasure to be able to change your accommodation dates to suit your travel
arrangements. So glad you enjoyed Woodlands and our facilties. Enjoy the rest
of your time here in New Zealand.

Kind Regards,
Wendi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland NZ
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

said Wendi, positively speaking and speaking positively, when spouse and self checked into this motel owned by Wendi and Tony. Arrangements toward Christmas dinner for the two of us, plus two non-staying almost-local friends, had been made with Wendi over several weeks. The four diners to prepare their own food with Wendi to allocate utensils, cutlery and you name it. Throughout, Wendi had been delightful in her emails and simply caused the impression that she would not only be helpful but go that extra mile to ensure the dinner was a success to the extent of offering her private kitchen oven to put the heat on our soon to be yummy leg of lamb. In the event Wendi set the Christmas dinner table delightfully, with lights, candles, glassware, crockery, cutlery, crackers (the pulling kind) resulting in a wonderful evening – which would not have been so wonderful without Wendi’s bubbly enthusiasm coupled with her great concern for her guests and her, and Tony’s, personal Hilton. Remember too, that 50% of our small group were not even staying at the motel.
This motel cannot be seen from just about anywhere until one is outside the door – set in a wonderful wooded area and reached by a long entranceway – even though it is in central Kerikeri, minutes from shops and less from the nearest supermarket.
Woodlands has motel units (all studio) and smart tourist cabins. Spacious parking. A small conference room, Tony’s very own bar, a lounge with dining area. Loads of BBQ eating space with BBQ’s and, of course, a pool and spa. For the cabins there is a communal kitchen and lounge area. Tony has said there is an evening menu available outside of Christmas/New Year holiday seasons for all guests.
Spouse and self have travelled widely and stayed at hotels, motels, timeshares, B&B’s and most everything in between and all over both hemispheres. This stay has been the most memorable. It isn’t the buildings we think of firstly it is the welcome and ongoing hospitality, service-with-unfailing-enthusiasm and can-more-be done attitudes of Wendi and Tony. Our thanks to both of them for all they did for our small group.
A warning was given to me on Christmas afternoon by a repeat visitor. “Be warned”, she said,”You come here as guests of Wendi and Tony, but leave as friends”.
After all that, why did we decide to stay at Woodlands. Dear reader, if you look at the many reviews to date there is not one, even tiny, adverse comment in any of them. Very few motels have gained that level of excellence in TA. No, it's not the real Hilton (with apologies for the use of the name) but you now know whose Hilton this is. Good on both owners.
The only bad news since returning home is that the bed in Unit 6 was more comfortable than my own.

Room Tip: Studio Unit 6 may be the better as it's at the furthest end of a longish block, nearest to trees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Probian9910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsmotel, Owner at Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
So glad that you enjoyed your stay at "Our Hilton" and your Christmas
with your friends.

Kind Regards,
Wendi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We had an excellent two night stay at Woodlands , Wendi and Tony were wonderful hosts, very accommodating and so friendly. Beautiful landscape with the trees . Thank you so much Toni and Wendi will be back looking forward to more cocktails.

Room Tip: The room was a share twin room, the room well presented clean, tidy many amentities, i.e. ,minibar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsmotel, Owner at Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Wonderful, glad that you enjoyed your stay so much, we certainly enjoyed having your group and we look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,
Wendi & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kerikeri hotels
0.1 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
0.4 mi away
Colonial House Motel
Colonial House Motel
#6 of 16 in Kerikeri
132 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
0.8 mi away
Avalon Resort
Avalon Resort
#4 of 26 in Kerikeri
201 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kerikeri Park Motel
Kerikeri Park Motel
#5 of 16 in Kerikeri
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue

Property: Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
Address: 126 Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business travelers, weekend getaways and tourists alike, Woodlands is just a short stroll from Kerikeri cafes, restaurants and boutique shopping. Fantastic value with facilities and accommodation styles to suit a range of needs. Enjoy a relaxed stay in a native bush setting and informal environment. Conference facilities are available for business meetings, weddings and group functions including catering and bar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing