We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"THIS IS OUR 'HILTON' "”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Kerikeri
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
155 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“"THIS IS OUR 'HILTON' "”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

said Wendi, positively speaking and speaking positively, when spouse and self checked into this motel owned by Wendi and Tony. Arrangements toward Christmas dinner for the two of us, plus two non-staying almost-local friends, had been made with Wendi over several weeks. The four diners to prepare their own food with Wendi to allocate utensils, cutlery and you name it. Throughout, Wendi had been delightful in her emails and simply caused the impression that she would not only be helpful but go that extra mile to ensure the dinner was a success to the extent of offering her private kitchen oven to put the heat on our soon to be yummy leg of lamb. In the event Wendi set the Christmas dinner table delightfully, with lights, candles, glassware, crockery, cutlery, crackers (the pulling kind) resulting in a wonderful evening – which would not have been so wonderful without Wendi’s bubbly enthusiasm coupled with her great concern for her guests and her, and Tony’s, personal Hilton. Remember too, that 50% of our small group were not even staying at the motel.
This motel cannot be seen from just about anywhere until one is outside the door – set in a wonderful wooded area and reached by a long entranceway – even though it is in central Kerikeri, minutes from shops and less from the nearest supermarket.
Woodlands has motel units (all studio) and smart tourist cabins. Spacious parking. A small conference room, Tony’s very own bar, a lounge with dining area. Loads of BBQ eating space with BBQ’s and, of course, a pool and spa. For the cabins there is a communal kitchen and lounge area. Tony has said there is an evening menu available outside of Christmas/New Year holiday seasons for all guests.
Spouse and self have travelled widely and stayed at hotels, motels, timeshares, B&B’s and most everything in between and all over both hemispheres. This stay has been the most memorable. It isn’t the buildings we think of firstly it is the welcome and ongoing hospitality, service-with-unfailing-enthusiasm and can-more-be done attitudes of Wendi and Tony. Our thanks to both of them for all they did for our small group.
A warning was given to me on Christmas afternoon by a repeat visitor. “Be warned”, she said,”You come here as guests of Wendi and Tony, but leave as friends”.
After all that, why did we decide to stay at Woodlands. Dear reader, if you look at the many reviews to date there is not one, even tiny, adverse comment in any of them. Very few motels have gained that level of excellence in TA. No, it's not the real Hilton (with apologies for the use of the name) but you now know whose Hilton this is. Good on both owners.
The only bad news since returning home is that the bed in Unit 6 was more comfortable than my own.

Room Tip: Studio Unit 6 may be the better as it's at the furthest end of a longish block, nearest to trees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Probian9910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsmotel, Owner at Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
So glad that you enjoyed your stay at "Our Hilton" and your Christmas
with your friends.

Kind Regards,
Wendi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    23
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
65
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We had an excellent two night stay at Woodlands , Wendi and Tony were wonderful hosts, very accommodating and so friendly. Beautiful landscape with the trees . Thank you so much Toni and Wendi will be back looking forward to more cocktails.

Room Tip: The room was a share twin room, the room well presented clean, tidy many amentities, i.e. ,minibar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsmotel, Owner at Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Wonderful, glad that you enjoyed your stay so much, we certainly enjoyed having your group and we look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,
Wendi & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were on a business trip and would highly recommend this place to tourists, for business or just want a break from everything. The host Wendi was delightful and made you feel very welcome. The location was magic with all the greenery one see from the rooms. Loved it and am planning togo there with my family and friends.

Room Tip: The studio apartments were lovely. The outlook was magic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilkish V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Having just completed a 6 month project in KeriKeri, I cannot leave without mentioning Woodlands Motel, this motel is by far one of the best motels in Northland, the rooms are better furnished than many of the major hotel chains, beds are the most comfortable I have been in for a considerable time.
Both Wendi and Tony are extremely good hosts and have a wealth of knowledge on the surrounding areas and willingly assist you in booking excursions, they really go out of their way to ensure that your stay at Woodlands is an enjoyable one, I cannot thank them both enough for everything they have done for not only myself but all of my colleagues.

Room Tip: All ensuite rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobrennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsmotel, Owner at Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hi Bob, thanks so much for your fantastic feedback and great you thought so much about your stay, the feeling was mutual. Hope to see you all back again soon - as there is a big gap to fill.

Cheers Wendi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I recently stayed here for 5 nights. The woodlands motel has a real homely feel to it, from the moment you step into the reception area. Rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. And it is so wonderful to wake up to the sound of chirping birds in the morning, right at your doorstep. Tony and Wendi are such warm and great ppl, and they treat you like family, and Wendi is such a great cook! I would definitely love to stay there again and would strongly recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay while in Keri Keri. The location is also great, within walking distance to town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chewyanxu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsmotel, Owner at Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
It was wonderful to have your group stay with us and so easy for you to become part
of the family as you were such wonderful guests. We look forward to your return.

Wendi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Excellent stay. The owners went above and beyond and made our stay very easy and memorable.
Thanks guys, we'll be back in a heart beat.
..........................................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKLCityDweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsmotel, Owner at Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
The pleasure was all ours.

Cheers Wendi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

my stay at the woodlands motel and conference venue was extremely enjoyable and satisfying, i was working for a week with my two almost teenage children in tow and whilst i worked they were well looked after by the proprietors of the establishment unbeknownst to me they had a range of activities to keep them occupied while i was away working. the friendly hospitality provided to us during our stay was above and beyond what we would have expected. A lot of the pressures of looking after while your working was alleviated. Tony and Wendi-the proprietors-, provide a very clean and well maintained establishment i will be making this a destination stop on my future trips in Kerikeri.

Thank you very much Tony and Wendi... look forward to seeing you again.

Room Tip: they do not have a fitness center, all rooms are maintained the same. they have a great bush walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsmotel, Owner at Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
It was great having you here for the week and Michael and Charles were very helpful and we enjoyed getting to know them. Hope that the week paid off for you - workwise.
See you then time. Wendi and Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kerikeri hotels
0.4 mi away
Colonial House Motel
Colonial House Motel
#5 of 16 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.7 mi away
Motel Kerigold Secluded Chalets
0.1 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
1.8 mi away
Kerikeri Park Motel
Kerikeri Park Motel
#4 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue

Property: Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
Address: 126 Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business travelers, weekend getaways and tourists alike, Woodlands is just a short stroll from Kerikeri cafes, restaurants and boutique shopping. Fantastic value with facilities and accommodation styles to suit a range of needs. Enjoy a relaxed stay in a native bush setting and informal environment. Conference facilities are available for business meetings, weddings and group functions including catering and bar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing