We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avalon Resort
Nearby Hotels
88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kauri Park Motel(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
$85
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moon Gate Villa(Kerikeri)
$138
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stone Store Lodge Accommodation(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kerikeri Park Lodge(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
$96
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relax a Lodge(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
$49
$44
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$85
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial House Motel(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
$81
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
$78
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
$48
$42
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveler rating
172
27
8
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
27
8
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesfour poster bedducknatural spring poolearth cottagespring fedkunekune pigsthe main roadfresh water pooltranquil spaceself containedlong drivewaystudio apartmentthe riverbeautiful parkwake upbeautiful tropical
Filter
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 212 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2010

We stayed here for two nights and were duly impressed. My wife did the research on this spot - and she picked a winner. All the other posts ring true. The facilities were great - nice beds, great to have a kitchen en suite - and the property was fantastic! Host Willem has a small number of farm animals and my 5 & 7 year old daughters loved the goats, chickens, geese and pigs! The chickens were really friendly - coming to visit us (in a nice/quiet way) each day. The property also boasts river access, which my kids loved - we swam both days in great, clean NZ water! Kerikeri is a great spot to stay in - less crowded than some of the other spots further north. I wish we could have spent another day or two here.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BK-1K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2010

Lovely place, warm welcome at this family. Rooms where beautifull, breath taking....
Ask for nice place to eat, to go to and the owners will help where ever possible.

We like to come again....

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

What a delight it was to pull up at Willem's door after a very long journey from Melbourne!! Given the Christmas/New Year period it took us nearly 5 hours from Auckland airport to Kerikeri given the horrible traffic jams. Lordy - a few by passes are needed on the main route north or don't travel in peak periods!!

The property itself is just a dream - only 4 cottages at this stage but so peaceful and quiet. The rooms are serviced daily to an extremly high standard and we really appreciated the personal touches like the little Christmas tree on the dining room table and the lovely bottle of red wine. Kitchen is very compact and not ideal for cooking full meals but ideal for snacks and breakfast etc. Willem is an extremely hospitable host with untold energy - nothing was too much trouble including greeting us when he was obviously having his dinner or when we couldn't get the DVD player to work. I forgot to mention the ground coffee and other little luxuries provided - yes, it is worth giving yourself a nice little treat at the Avalon resort!!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneMum55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

We stayed 11 days with 2 children (5 and 3 years old) and enjoyed the fantastic place. The cottages are well equipped, very nice furniture and a beautiful view from the balcony. Internet access worked perfectly. Our kids loved the animals and the possibility to play in the water. It was one of the highlights during our 3 months trip through New Zealand. Thanks to Willem and his family for the great time we had! Moritz wants to greet Julia and Louis still talks about the chicken walking around the place.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auszeit2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights over New Year with our 2 children (ages 4 and 5) and had the most relaxing stay. The cottages are very well equiped and although compact, provide high quality accomodation and everything we needed. The location is gorgeous and the children loved the river swimming and kayaking, the animals and trampoline. Kerikeri is lovely, esp the Pear Tree restaurant, Rainbow Falls walk etc and Avalon Resort is about 20 mins to all the hustle and bustle, trips etc in Paihia. Willem was a great host, very helpful and has done a great job in creating a lovely holiday spot. We will return!

Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
Thank JuJuAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews