We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avalon Resort
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   340A Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 32 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
derbyshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

Stayed for 5 days with my son. The owner Willem gives every attention to detail extremely clean with a daily service, beautiful location ideal for touring Northland, the cottages are superb very modern and tasteful. Would recommend the Avalon for anyone really enjoyable and relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindamycock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    18
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
92
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

We stayed here for two nights and were duly impressed. My wife did the research on this spot - and she picked a winner. All the other posts ring true. The facilities were great - nice beds, great to have a kitchen en suite - and the property was fantastic! Host Willem has a small number of farm animals and my 5 & 7 year old daughters loved the goats, chickens, geese and pigs! The chickens were really friendly - coming to visit us (in a nice/quiet way) each day. The property also boasts river access, which my kids loved - we swam both days in great, clean NZ water! Kerikeri is a great spot to stay in - less crowded than some of the other spots further north. I wish we could have spent another day or two here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BK-1K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

Lovely place, warm welcome at this family. Rooms where beautifull, breath taking....
Ask for nice place to eat, to go to and the owners will help where ever possible.

We like to come again....

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

What a delight it was to pull up at Willem's door after a very long journey from Melbourne!! Given the Christmas/New Year period it took us nearly 5 hours from Auckland airport to Kerikeri given the horrible traffic jams. Lordy - a few by passes are needed on the main route north or don't travel in peak periods!!

The property itself is just a dream - only 4 cottages at this stage but so peaceful and quiet. The rooms are serviced daily to an extremly high standard and we really appreciated the personal touches like the little Christmas tree on the dining room table and the lovely bottle of red wine. Kitchen is very compact and not ideal for cooking full meals but ideal for snacks and breakfast etc. Willem is an extremely hospitable host with untold energy - nothing was too much trouble including greeting us when he was obviously having his dinner or when we couldn't get the DVD player to work. I forgot to mention the ground coffee and other little luxuries provided - yes, it is worth giving yourself a nice little treat at the Avalon resort!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneMum55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riedstadt
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

We stayed 11 days with 2 children (5 and 3 years old) and enjoyed the fantastic place. The cottages are well equipped, very nice furniture and a beautiful view from the balcony. Internet access worked perfectly. Our kids loved the animals and the possibility to play in the water. It was one of the highlights during our 3 months trip through New Zealand. Thanks to Willem and his family for the great time we had! Moritz wants to greet Julia and Louis still talks about the chicken walking around the place.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Auszeit2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights over New Year with our 2 children (ages 4 and 5) and had the most relaxing stay. The cottages are very well equiped and although compact, provide high quality accomodation and everything we needed. The location is gorgeous and the children loved the river swimming and kayaking, the animals and trampoline. Kerikeri is lovely, esp the Pear Tree restaurant, Rainbow Falls walk etc and Avalon Resort is about 20 mins to all the hustle and bustle, trips etc in Paihia. Willem was a great host, very helpful and has done a great job in creating a lovely holiday spot. We will return!

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JuJuAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

Bravo Willem and Betty. What a terrific little secret. Get away from the rigours and traumas of the real world and come here. Didn't want to go home.

Stuart and Maggie Gill

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hougoumont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
0.1 mi away
Motel Kerigold Secluded Chalets
0.9 mi away
Abilene Garden Motel
Abilene Garden Motel
#6 of 16 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
1.2 mi away
Colonial House Motel
Colonial House Motel
#5 of 16 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
8.7 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Resort

Property: Avalon Resort
Address: 340A Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon is a small boutique resort with self-contained serviced cottages and studio units, facing the golf course. Described as a little paradise and piece of heaven by many travellers, our 7 acre property features natural springs, waterfalls, lakes and river where you can kayaking. Our secluded valley has the feel of a nature retreat, but is close to shops, restaurants and various attractions in Kerikeri and the Bay of Islands. Set at the top of the valley, the stylish self contained cottages offer elevated views over the beautiful property. The deck, as well the large windows, allow one to be fully immersed in nature both inside and outside. With a king bed in the bedroom and 2 sofa-beds in the lounge, the unit can sleep up to 4 guests. The cosy self-contained studio rooms are located near the lush gardens around the Oasis pool complex. They sleep 2 or 3 guests and can be adjoined for families. Our studios all have an en-suite bathroom, a kitchenette and a private covered deck area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Avalon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Kerikeri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing