We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, high quality accommodation but close to all the action of BOI.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avalon Resort
Ranked #5 of 32 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
1 review
“Relaxing, high quality accommodation but close to all the action of BOI.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights over New Year with our 2 children (ages 4 and 5) and had the most relaxing stay. The cottages are very well equiped and although compact, provide high quality accomodation and everything we needed. The location is gorgeous and the children loved the river swimming and kayaking, the animals and trampoline. Kerikeri is lovely, esp the Pear Tree restaurant, Rainbow Falls walk etc and Avalon Resort is about 20 mins to all the hustle and bustle, trips etc in Paihia. Willem was a great host, very helpful and has done a great job in creating a lovely holiday spot. We will return!

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JuJuAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    18
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
92
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

Bravo Willem and Betty. What a terrific little secret. Get away from the rigours and traumas of the real world and come here. Didn't want to go home.

Stuart and Maggie Gill

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hougoumont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

Perfect! I echo all of the other reviewers thoughts!

We stayed two nights at Avalon and wish we had planned to stay longer! Willem and Better were amazingly helpful and friendly - above and beyond what we could have expected anywhere and did everything they could to ensure we had a great time, from providing helpful books on area trails to ideas on other things to do!

The place is in a secluded area of KeriKeri, but close enough to everything you would want to do. As another reviewer said, the grounds that are beautifully landscaped. The accomodations were fantastic - topped off by a beautiful four poster canopy bed. The cottage is beautiful, with lovely furniture and everything you need to cook, relax, and entertain yourself.

We had a great river adventure in the kayaks, walked around the grounds, and enjoyed the beautiful setting.

Definitely one of the best places we have ever stayed. We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenlipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

AMAZING - Paradise would be the only way to discribe this secret loaction secluded in the heart of Kerikeri. We stayed five nights at Avalon and wished we could stay longer. The hosts where friendly warm and helpful, went out of there way to make our stay enjoyable. Service was top notch.

The place is set in amazing park like grounds that are beautifully landscaped. The animals even go out of their way to make you feel at home. The cottage itself is classy, with nice furniture, a real warm feeling and contained everything you needed and more.

This is a place you can't pass up when you want to relax and enjoy peaceful and quiet surrounds. Location is perfect with a short walk into the town center. The river was crystal clear and you can't pass up going for a paddle in the kayaks.

If you want a romantic getaway then you are in for a treat. Private cottages that are secluded - with wonderful view. A real magical atmosphere that make it a special place to stay.

Overall one of the best places we have stayed in. We will be going back - Highly Recomended

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magical-Location
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

We stayed here for 1 night and thoroughly enjoyed everything about the Avalon. We couldn't believe how lovely the surrounding gardens were. The hosts were both friendly and informative and made us feel very welcome. The room was lovely, with a fantastic 4 poster bed and smart furniture throughout. If only we could have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessaauckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

It's not the first time we've stayed in Kerikeri, but the first time we've stayed at the Avalon.
With just the 4 cottages we were pretty sure we would get the peace and privacy we were wanting - and were not disappointed.
We stayed in the "Earth" cottage, serene earthy colours - and I guess the highlights were the draped 4-poster bed, and the private balcony.
The cottage was very comfortable, everything we needed, and all "shiny and new".
Willem was very helpful, even providing us with a laptop during our 3 night stay.
So ~ yes, would certainly recommend, and a great place to base your Northland holiday.
We stayed 3 nights, but would have liked longer.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morecambegirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

We have stayed at Avalon several times now, and are always welcomed warmly. The cottages are beautifully decorated and furnished, and the views of the lush garden and stream are very scenic. After a long drive, a glass of wine and relaxing on the private balcony is sublime, with the soft sound of water in the stream washing away stresses of work. We would highly recommend Avalon.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank howen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
0.1 mi away
Motel Kerigold Secluded Chalets
0.9 mi away
Abilene Garden Motel
Abilene Garden Motel
#6 of 16 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
1.2 mi away
Colonial House Motel
Colonial House Motel
#5 of 16 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
8.7 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Resort

Property: Avalon Resort
Address: 340A Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon is a small boutique resort with self-contained serviced cottages and studio units, facing the golf course. Described as a little paradise and piece of heaven by many travellers, our 7 acre property features natural springs, waterfalls, lakes and river where you can kayaking. Our secluded valley has the feel of a nature retreat, but is close to shops, restaurants and various attractions in Kerikeri and the Bay of Islands. Set at the top of the valley, the stylish self contained cottages offer elevated views over the beautiful property. The deck, as well the large windows, allow one to be fully immersed in nature both inside and outside. With a king bed in the bedroom and 2 sofa-beds in the lounge, the unit can sleep up to 4 guests. The cosy self-contained studio rooms are located near the lush gardens around the Oasis pool complex. They sleep 2 or 3 guests and can be adjoined for families. Our studios all have an en-suite bathroom, a kitchenette and a private covered deck area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Avalon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Kerikeri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing