We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avalon Resort
Nearby Hotels
Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
$46
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Stone Store Lodge Accommodation(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kauri Park Motel(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
$90
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$85
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial House Motel(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
$80
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kerikeri Park Lodge(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
$93
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moon Gate Villa(Kerikeri)
$137
$130
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relax a Lodge(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
$152
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
$98
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveler rating
172
27
8
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
27
8
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesfour poster bedducknatural spring poolearth cottagespring fedkunekune pigsthe main roadfresh water pooltranquil spaceself containedlong drivewaystudio apartmentthe riverbeautiful parkwake upbeautiful tropical
Filter
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 212 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2009

We booked the cottage there and arrived being caught by surprise - the resort is simply fantastic! Views, surroudnings, cottages, service - everything at Avalon is second to none! I can hardly imagine the better place to stay in Kerikeri, especially with young children. Our son broke in tears when we were about to depart asking for another day there! Thank you very much, Willem!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

We searched for Kerikeri accommodation off the net and you are never sure what you are going to get, BUT Avalon Resort turned out to be the perfect pick. The accommodation is very clean and extra comfortable with nice kitchen facilities (there is no stove or oven). The owners are very helpful and hospitable. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and tended and the ducks, chickens and pigs provide a very nice rustic feel even though the property is right in town. Each of the four units is very private; we were there with a family gathering and had three of the four units which was ideal for getting together for meals etc then having our own space at night.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zierow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

We have stayed at Avalon Resort several times now and enjoy each stay as if it is our first. The hosts are gracious and welcoming. The cottages are immaculately presented, tastefully furnished and well equipped. It is very easy to relax and unwind in such a peaceful setting. The bonus is being able to stroll around the beautifully landscaped grounds or simply watch the ducks and geese from the deck while they paddle around the ponds. We look forward to our next stay. Ainsley & Andrea of Whangarei.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingWhangarei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

Looking to get out of Auckland for a week and can't afford to sell your family into slavery to buy a batch? Try this place on for size. A great place to base yourself to check out the North of NZ. More than enough to keep all occupied for a week and owners are more than reasonable in arranging a fair price in the off season. A fantastic operation with free-range animals to boot, there has been a lot of effort put in to establish and run this business. The location is far enough out of the center of Keri-Keri to get that country feel, but close enough to walk off a few drinks from the many places to eat in town of a evening. We reviewed loads of similar operations in the area before staying here - this is the pick of the bunch.

A TIP - some inconsiderate so-and-so has put up a sign blocking Willem's (the proprietor's) sign advertising Avalon when entering the town. Follow the directions on the website and you should be OK.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Mad_Scientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

After seven weeks touring New Zealand we found our piece of Heaven at Avalon Resort. Willem and Betty made us feel like we were friends rather than clients. The cottage was just beautiful with every convenience and the bed was pure bliss.
Almost the best part though was the magnificent grounds- a secluded valley in the heart of Kerikeri which Willem has transformed with ponds, a waterfall, gardens, trees and wildlife.
The free internet, wine and fruit juice were the icing on the cake.
We left here very reluctantly and hope to one day return. Thank you Willem and Betty for a great three days.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SugarArtistColac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews