We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful created nature retreat, comfortable cottages, spa”
Review of Avalon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avalon Resort
Ranked #4 of 28 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2014

It was my first stay of my New Zealand trip, and it was the best accommodation I had during my 6 weeks lasting journey . The whole property is wonderful created with gardens, small lakes, a nature pool and spa, a river for a nice swim and some available kayaks made it perfect .
I was warm welcomed with a drink and got a nice cottage with my own private deck. The cottage was well equipped, nothing was missed and very stylish furnished. All was clean, very imported for me was the perfect WIFI connection for free.
The staff was very friendly and helpful .
Kerikeri is within walking distance. Everything is available and nevertheless you are living in a picturesque hideaway. For kids its nice too, because of the very friendly pets like goats ,ducks, little pigs and friendly dogs. I can really recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noughtyprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 205 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

This was our first trip to Kerikeri and we stayed in one of Willems 4 cottages named "Earth". The cottage was one of four, spacious clean and provided all the facilities you'd expect to find in a self catering resort. The resort was conveniently located for Kerikeri but we spent most of our 3 days in the nearby town of Paihia where all the ferry boats, helicopter rides and water sports activities were and the town was also a short boat ride to the town of Russel.
The Avalon resort, although not ideally located for us was lovely with its very rustic feel. Although we did not use them, they had an outdoor spring water swimming pool, communal BBQ area and a central location where you could relax with others if you so chose. The owner, Willem, was helpful in guiding us to lovely walking areas and tourist drives. The tranquility the Avalon Resort has to offer is lovely and I would certainly recommend the resort but Kerikeri itself had much less to offer than Paihai so if we come to the region again we would probably choose to stay in Paihai.

Room Tip: Choose the town you stay in carefully as Kerikeri lacks the activity some may crave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The staff at Avalon really are the making of the place. Their friendliness is something other motel/hotel operators could take a lot from! Great value for money considering all the activities we were able to do. Would highly recommend to anyone needing a relaxing getaway!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Our family of four had a delightful holiday at Avalon Resort in Kerikeri. The location and grounds are beautiful and the studio apartments are modern and clean. We had fun with the friendly animals, kayaking on the river (including the dog - Bomo!) and taking a dip in the spa and pool. The barbecue area enabled easy to prepare meals and relaxing evenings after our water activities in Piahia. Many thanks to our gracious hosts who were very helpful and friendly. What more can I say? Would highly recommend to others. We'll be back!

Room Tip: The Emerald & Ruby studio apartments have interconnecting doors for families and are close to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This gem of a place is very centrally situated on the main road into Kerikeri, yet once you drive down the long drive, busy life disappears and you enter a peaceful world. The piggies and ducks are very excited to see you and the staff are friendly and helpful. The room (we stayed in the Ruby bedroom) is very comfortable (bed, shower, furniture, tv). The balcony area is covered / sheltered, even on a windy and rainy day. The little kitchenette is very well appointed and it is easy to cook a meal as there is also a decent BBQ. Large decking in front of the room, with tables, give you the option to mingle with others.
The pool ..... OMGosh!!! Not saying anything more, but my swimming costume will be out first thing when I get there next time.
Minor niggles:
- the plunger head was broken. They did promise to fix it after we left.
- no metal brush to clean the BBQ.
TIP - take USB with movies - very good set up with TV & DVD, although they have a good selection of movies.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loekie_Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Avalon resort, great location. Excellent hosts, beautiful landscape grounds, with amazing views and natural swimming pool. Loved all the little animals, the piggies are adorable and so sweet. Will definitely visit again in the future. Shame the rest of my holiday wasn't here. Wish I had stayed here all the time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Our family had a delightful couple of nights at the Avalon Resort in Kerikeri, and wish it could have been longer. The cottages are modern, well equipped, and spotlessly clean. Only downside might be that the extra beds provided for our teenage children weren't particularly comfortable (apparently!) - but the king size bed in the main bedroom was great. The host was most welcoming and informative, and the complimentary drink on arrival much appreciated! Garden setting is superb, and an atmosphere of peace and tranquility prevails. There are numerous tame animals that call the grounds home (including a family of pigs), and most will drop by your cottage to say hello! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
0.9 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
8.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.1 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Apple B&B
Apple B&B
#5 of 28 in Kerikeri
15 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treghan Luxury Lodge
Treghan Luxury Lodge
#1 of 28 in Kerikeri
312 reviews
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Resort

Address: 340A Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range: $82 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon is a small boutique resort with self-contained serviced cottages and studio units, facing the golf course. Described as a little paradise and piece of heaven by many travellers, our 7 acre property features natural springs, waterfalls, lakes and river where you can kayaking. Our secluded valley has the feel of a nature retreat, but is close to shops, restaurants and various attractions in Kerikeri and the Bay of Islands. Set at the top of the valley, the stylish self contained cottages offer elevated views over the beautiful property. The deck, as well the large windows, allow one to be fully immersed in nature both inside and outside. With a king bed in the bedroom and 2 sofa-beds in the lounge, the unit can sleep up to 4 guests. The cosy self-contained studio rooms are located near the lush gardens around the Oasis pool complex. They sleep 2 or 3 guests and can be adjoined for families. Our studios all have an en-suite bathroom, a kitchenette and a private covered deck area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avalon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Kerikeri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing