We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfect”
Review of Avalon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avalon Resort
Ranked #4 of 26 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
“Simply Perfect”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed for two nights in July 2013 in Earth cottage. What can we say more than perfect. Willem (the owner) has obiously put a lot of thought into his resort. Everything you need and a very high quality. The four poster bed was the highlight of a very well thought out cottage. Location is also perfect. On main road just out of town. But set back from the road so completly tranquil.

Can't wait to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    25
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
106
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Duxbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My son, fiance and I recently stayed at your resort and had an amazing time! It was a lovely place in paradise with a super friendly and helpful owner. The resort was impeccable and we loved the hospitality we received. My son loved the pigs and chickens not to mention the fabulous dvd collections. The transportation service was fantastic and we appreciated the stop to food store too! We had the best time and would recommend this place highly. Thank you for all you did to make our stay so inviting. This was the best place out of our whole trip to New Zealand honestly!

Sincerely,

Guests from Duxbury, Massachusetts USA

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TylerSophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The location is gorgeous and family with a river and plenty of places for kids to run around in.
The rooms are self contained cottages to there is no waking machine or oven. There is a stove, microwave and fridge.
Also a bbq and pool area down near the office.
My husband and I were there on our honeymoon and found it so relaxing and didn't worry about anything.
The host Willem is helpful with attractions and even brings newspapers each day.
Overall definitely recommended and good value.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanNatB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My Family and I stayed at Avalon Resort in May 2013. We were greated by our very friendly host Willem on arrival who took us up to our cottage and bought us our welcome drinks. He also let us know about the local attractions and restaurants that were worthwhile. The property is beautifully presented and the cottages were very impressive. Definitely stay here if you are visiting the Bay of Islands region. We will be telling our friends and family to come here too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveH77398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was the first stop in NZ for my wife and me (apart from an overnight in Auckland) and it was definitely one of our most pleasant stays. The whole ambiance of the villa, the resort, Kerikeri and the whole area seemed to us at the time to be idyllic and that is our lasting memory two months on. We would recommend it to anyone not wanting "another hotel". The owner, Willem, could not have been more helpful. We went wrong in our planning as we only stayed for a couple of nights!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThefourfromMansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The cottages are well equipped and the grounds are lovely! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This is a great 'home base' for exploring the bay of islands region of the North Island. It is very quiet and beautiful. We had to ask to 'reboot' the Internet server a few times, but found that to be not at all unusual anywhere in NZ. Free Internet was a great service so cannot complain.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and each has a fun theme.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral UK
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of February for a few days in a studio, it was well presented and comfortable. Willem was an excellent host helpful and friendly but not "in your face" .
The property is well located for the local attractions and the setting is idyllic. For the few nights the studio was ample space for two, book a cottage for more room.

Room Tip: For the few nights the studio was ample space for two, book a cottage for more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
0.9 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
10.4 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
1.1 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
0.5 mi away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
7.5 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Resort

Property: Avalon Resort
Address: 340A Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon is a small boutique resort with self-contained serviced cottages and studio units, facing the golf course. Described as a little paradise and piece of heaven by many travellers, our 7 acre property features natural springs, waterfalls, lakes and river where you can kayaking. Our secluded valley has the feel of a nature retreat, but is close to shops, restaurants and various attractions in Kerikeri and the Bay of Islands. Set at the top of the valley, the stylish self contained cottages offer elevated views over the beautiful property. The deck, as well the large windows, allow one to be fully immersed in nature both inside and outside. With a king bed in the bedroom and 2 sofa-beds in the lounge, the unit can sleep up to 4 guests. The cosy self-contained studio rooms are located near the lush gardens around the Oasis pool complex. They sleep 2 or 3 guests and can be adjoined for families. Our studios all have an en-suite bathroom, a kitchenette and a private covered deck area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avalon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Kerikeri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing