We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“marathon”
Review of Avalon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avalon Resort
Ranked #4 of 26 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
“marathon”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at the Avalon resort for 2 nights was the weekend of the Keri Keri half marathon, We needed a place to relax & to recover from the marathon. The cottage we had was beautifully furnished with complimentry juice & really nice plunger coffee to welcome us also a loverly big bath to soak away the aches & pains that we received. There was also the use of a sauna if needed. We had veiws of tropical gardens a lake with friendly wild life(batman & Barbra) rolling hills which made for a very relaxing much needed out look & rest.Thank-you Willem for going the extr mile for us,will be back same time next year.

Room Tip: cottages are great for 2 or for 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    25
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
106
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed 2 nights oct 12, there are 4 self contained units surrounding some ponds in the centre of the property. The owner Willum has created a wonderful setting and he goes to some lengths to make your stay memorable with tips about the local restraunts and tours of the bay of islands. Our biggest disappointment was we only booked 2 nights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were in need of a private, relaxing weekend away. We were made to feel relaxed as soon as we arrived, and our particular needs were taken into account when our room was assigned to us by the owner. Beautifully furnished, open green views, water, and friendly ducks make Avalon a perfect getaway. We LOVED it and will be going back when we can.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at the Avalon cottages for 10 days in October and loved it! The cottages are spacious and well-apointed, beautiful enough for the parents to feel spoilt, yet relaxed enough for the kids to enjoy. The welcome drinks and juice was a great touch after a long drive, the spa and pool were much loved and well used by our children and the tropical garden setting is just sooooo relaxing and beautiful. The resort uses water from a spring and this has proved to be excellent for those with eczema and other skin ailments. Having the cottages serviced on a daily basis was a bonus as was the use of the communal kitchen near the pool area as we spent most of our time there. Willem's hospitality with the extra touch, the extra attention is rare these days. Everything was clean and tidy at all times, a credit to Willem and his staff. Next time we're in Kerikeri we'll definately be staying at Avalon, nothing else compares really. PS: try the bakery up the drive way for morning croissants - they're excellent and so were their breakfasts!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oaties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at the Avalon resort this past long weekend. The service was exceptional, our cottage was beautiful. The best value for money in town (kerikeri)! Willem is very helpful and made sure our stay was comfortable. We kayaked down the Puketotora River (situated at the back of the property). It was lovely, along came Willem's two dogs, who accompanied us on our journey down the river, half the time swimming alongside us and the other half running along the side of the river. We loved the farm and the farm animals who came and greeted us in the morning! The place was right in the town of Kerikeri but away from all the hassal and bassal, of city life.

Room Tip: All the cottages have a theme,fire, water, air & earth. Choose your favourite :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shuvnita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I am a rep and travel the north island half the month i am away. I rate this place in the atop 4 hotels under $160 per night to stay in. Willem is very hospitable and makes sure you are comfortable. Be sure to try the Sauna after a long drive. The peace an quiet of this place will ensure you are rested. Be sure to ask Willem of the bakery to go to for breakfast in the morning as the food is yum.

The rooms are up there with the nicest I have seen, modern and comfortable. My favourite is the two bedroom unit but make sure you book ahead as they fill up quick.

I enquired about the opportunity to run a conference as this is well set up to be a suitable getaway learning environment as an alternative to expensive city based conference venues.

Room Tip: The rooms with two bedrooms are really nice to stay in especially if there are more than one of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkesbury Upton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Down a long lane off the main road in the middle of the town is a beautiful green valley with a few luxury cottages dotted around. You can't quite believe it. A friendly welcome with a glass of wine, the owner just wants you to be part of the resort. Relaxing, pleasant, reasonable, thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndAir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kerikeri hotels
0.9 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
0.2 mi away
Motel Kerigold Secluded Chalets
1.2 mi away
Colonial House Motel
Colonial House Motel
#5 of 16 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
0.5 mi away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Resort

Property: Avalon Resort
Address: 340A Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon is a small boutique resort with self-contained serviced cottages and studio units, facing the golf course. Described as a little paradise and piece of heaven by many travellers, our 7 acre property features natural springs, waterfalls, lakes and river where you can kayaking. Our secluded valley has the feel of a nature retreat, but is close to shops, restaurants and various attractions in Kerikeri and the Bay of Islands. Set at the top of the valley, the stylish self contained cottages offer elevated views over the beautiful property. The deck, as well the large windows, allow one to be fully immersed in nature both inside and outside. With a king bed in the bedroom and 2 sofa-beds in the lounge, the unit can sleep up to 4 guests. The cosy self-contained studio rooms are located near the lush gardens around the Oasis pool complex. They sleep 2 or 3 guests and can be adjoined for families. Our studios all have an en-suite bathroom, a kitchenette and a private covered deck area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avalon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Kerikeri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing