We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, clean, relaxing and peaceful”
Review of Avalon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avalon Resort
Ranked #4 of 27 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2011

We stayed at Avalon Resort in one of their one bedroom cottages (Air) which was at the end of the four and more private. It was very clean, nicely furnished and had a lovely view of the pond and hills (bit of golf course too). The drive down was a bit rough but was well off the main road and at night it was peaceful. The four poster bed was exceptionally comfortable also. It was a bit pricey but for a one bedroom stand alone cottage was acceptable (just), although if they put the price up I doubt we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palmnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 203 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2011

We stayed in one of the en suite rooms which were advertised as spacious but we found the space small especially if you wanted to actually cook a meal. The closet door was stuck shut and there was a crack through our table covered up with a cloth. We had to ask for a reading light which was supplied. The host was amenable and helpful when approached. The 600 meter driveway was rutted, unsealed and steep. You cannot park near you room and, in fact, the parking is limited as it is filled with a boat, trailer, work van, etc.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goingroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

When we found the place on the internet we can tell that the place will be different than other places, and we weren't disappointed. The place is close to everything, the host was very friendly, the room was beautiful, peace & quiet, a very relaxing place. Specially my daughter was so excited to play in the pool & seeing the animal around the place. We regret that we only stay 1 night. We would recommend this place for couples or family that looking for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmrid0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

On behalf of my family who stayed at the Avalon Resort for four weeks recently: "Thank you so much for an incredible time!" They loved everything and every moment they were there! We highly recommend the Avalon Resort to everyone!
Loved the unit(s), loved the views, loved the pool, loved the animals, loved Willem and his awesome family!
Thank you again!
De Woestenburgers!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woestenburgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

We stayed at a cottage at the Avalon Resort in January 2011.
When we reached the grounds of Avalon Resort, it felt like entering a new world: so nice scenery and very tranquil and peaceful! The whole place has only a few cottages and studios and so it’s never very busy, making the veranda of the cottage a perfect place to relax – only a couple of friendly ducks check out the surroundings now and then, which we found very cute! (they belong to the owner)
We had a very warm welcome and were lead to our cottage where a beer was already waiting for us. The cottage was spacious and absolutely tastefully furnished and the kitchen area was well equipped. The bath had a bathtub and was elegantly fitted. The whole place to us had a down to earth yet exclusive feel. We also had a great start to each day thanks to the delicious and generously stocked breakfast baskets we received the evening before to our cottage.
We enjoyed our stay tremendously and think we could have had no better start to our NZ vacation than at the Avalon Resort. We thank Willem and his family for their hospitality, wishing them all the best for the future!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CandMBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We stayed with our daughter an 8 yr old. We had a fantastic time. Willem is an awesome host . I felt like he was a friend I was visiting, very welcoming and gave some really good ideas ,routes ,maps. We enjoyed Kayaking in the river , very serene and beautiful. My daughter had a blast with Willems two dogs and the fat hairy pigs !
We also watched some movies from his DVD collection and Sam enjoyed playing table tennis.Something for each one of us.
Will definately go back. Great place !!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShirleyLak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

This is the second time we have stayed at the Avalon Resort. As we were working in Keri Keri this place is the most wonderful little spot to come back and relax in. The cottages are just wonderful and Willem the owner is just awesome, making our stay wonderful. We are coming back for a third time and cant wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kerikeri hotels
0.9 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
1.1 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
480 reviews
2.1 mi away
Apple B&B
Apple B&B
#5 of 27 in Kerikeri
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Relax a Lodge
Relax a Lodge
#11 of 28 in Kerikeri
71 reviews
2.9 mi away
88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Resort

Address: 340A Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range: $82 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon is a small boutique resort with self-contained serviced cottages and studio units, facing the golf course. Described as a little paradise and piece of heaven by many travellers, our 7 acre property features natural springs, waterfalls, lakes and river where you can kayaking. Our secluded valley has the feel of a nature retreat, but is close to shops, restaurants and various attractions in Kerikeri and the Bay of Islands. Set at the top of the valley, the stylish self contained cottages offer elevated views over the beautiful property. The deck, as well the large windows, allow one to be fully immersed in nature both inside and outside. With a king bed in the bedroom and 2 sofa-beds in the lounge, the unit can sleep up to 4 guests. The cosy self-contained studio rooms are located near the lush gardens around the Oasis pool complex. They sleep 2 or 3 guests and can be adjoined for families. Our studios all have an en-suite bathroom, a kitchenette and a private covered deck area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avalon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Kerikeri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing