We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great homely place to stay whilst in Northland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Treghan Luxury Lodge
Ranked #1 of 28 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised by Kerikeri's charm and instantly fell in love with it. Treghan Cottage was superb - Wendy and Tony were great hosts. They left us to our own devices in the evening, suggesting places to eat (Wharepuke Food - delicious) and visit that evening and the next day. The next morning we ventured round to the main house for a delicious breakfast cooked by Wendy. The pancakes were scrumptious, as was the rest of the meal. Wendy and Tony were from Wellington so it was great talking about familiar places with them and sharing our travel stories. They were great hosts and we would love to visit them again!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timbowl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 312 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2010

We lodged at Treghan Cottage for 3 nights in late March & had a great stay. Having spent 5 weeks in New Zealand, including an extra week courtesy of the Iceland Volcano, this was the best B&B we encountered on our trip.

Wendy & Tony are lovely hosts & we immediately felt at home - some people just have that knack. Tony's laid back style was nicely complemented by Wendy's organised approach - she really looked after us, recommending local restaurants & trips via e-mail before we even got there!

The place was pristine throughout & our room was private with our own patio overlooking a lovely garden. Fixtures & fittings were all high quality & the bed was so comfortable we actually made a note of the model number!

Breakfast was taken in the hosts' kitchen/diner, a lovely spacious room extending across the back of the property with views of the garden. Fruit, followed by a choice of main course, coffee, tea, toast, all expertly prepared by our hostess whilst we exchanged conversation about anything & everything.

By the time it came to leave we felt we had made new friends & would definitely stay again if travelling to The Bay of Islands, which was one of our favourite parts of NZ.

Thanks Tony & Wendy - hope to see you again some time!

Anne & Jeff Jones UK

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j5ffj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

This was our first trip to New Zealand and we wanted to experience some hospitality and get to know some locals while on our visit. Staying at Treghan Cottage fulfilled our goals and we came away richer people having gotten to know Wendy and Tony. Their bed and breakfast was clean, comfortable, and very quiet. Wendy greeted us with flyers and ideas of what to do during our three day stay, but left it up to us to decide what to do without any pressure. When she could, she used her networking contacts to get us reservations and gave great recommendations. Our stay was mixed with some downtime as well as activities, but when we were at the cottage we felt like we were in a quiet oasis. Breakfasts were quite delicious and comfortable in their dining area next to the kitchen. We often get a craving for Wendy's wonderful Blueberry lemon pancakes! We were able to get to know Wendy and Tony and the surrounding Kerikeri area well during our stay. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnetteandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Nice accommodations in a newer home with super hosts. We felt like we came as strangers and left as friends. You have to meet Enzo Fur-arri the super cat as well. He will win your heart. We were very pleased with our stay. Nice semi-rural maybe 3 minutes from the town of Kerikeri. Our suite was a bit small compared to some others but the bed was very good quality and everything was spotless. Plunger coffee available in room as well as a small but stocked fridge with the fresh milk one finds at every stay in NZ. Our only suggestion would be for more comfortable chairs if you want to lounge inside. On the other hand when you are around the bay of islands area who wants to stay in? It is beautiful here and you want to spend most all your time out sightseeing and enjoying the sights.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbinwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

We based our homestay at Treghan Cottage as a central location to explore the Bay of Islands area and beyond and found our unobtrusive hosts provided comfortable modern homely accommodation . Our hosts Wendy and Tony added the extras by suggesting local restaurants and places to visit within this very scenic landscape of central Northland . Treghan Cottage is the most memorable of all our stays in NZ , and recommendable to all those who just want a few days of relaxation and organised pampering!.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

Room was lovely and clean with good furnishing and excellent bedding. Lovely garden and quiet area. Breakfast was fresh & delicious with superb coffee. Very friendly hosts.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corkySA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

Very relaxing and enjoyable stay. Very clean and spacious bedroom and en-suite and separate large walk in robes with bar fridge. Great guidance on touring and tour maps etc. Original art on the walls by the host. Hosts so very relaxed and very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaGa4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
12.5 mi away
Tiki Tiki Ora
Tiki Tiki Ora
#3 of 19 in Russell
253 reviews
2.9 mi away
88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Avalon Resort
Avalon Resort
#4 of 28 in Kerikeri
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#1 of 21 in Paihia
361 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
506 reviews
1.1 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treghan Luxury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treghan Luxury Lodge

Address: 394B Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range: $209 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Treghan Luxury Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treghan luxury accommodation in the Bay of Islands New Zealand.....beautifully appointed self contained accommodation, wonderful rural vistas, abundant birdlife and within walking distance of Kerikeri. Multi award winning and rated in the top 25 B&Bs in 2015 & 2012. Located less than 1k to the town and set back from the road providing a quiet private luxury retreat. Set within private gardens, and with bush where you can hear the Kiwis calling at night, this sophisticated bed and breakfast accommodation is available in just three luxurious self contained cottages - Owner's Cottage, Birdsong Retreat and Tranquility Retreat - making our accommodation well appointed for a relaxing holiday, a golf retreat or a romantic get-away. Owner's Cottage is one bedroom with a king bedroom, fully equipped kitchenette, free Wi-Fi, satellite TV, and full breakfast provisions included in price (we are known for our delicious food). Birdsong and Tranquility Retreats have two bedrooms (each with super-king beds which can be reconfigured to twin beds), two bathrooms, fully equipped kitchens with dishwasher and laundry facilities. Full breakfast provisions are provided, organic where possible. Treghan Luxury Retreat is designed with your relaxation in mind. The separate guesthouses and cottage each have a private entrance and garden settings. You can relax with a glass of wine on your deck, unwind and take in the views. Jewellery and art on display and for sale along with other gifts at The Art Place gallery onsite. Centrally located for all trips, tours, vineyards and golf courses including Kauri Cliffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Treghan Luxury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing