We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B & B we have been to in New Zealand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Treghan Luxury Lodge
Ranked #1 of 26 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best B & B we have been to in New Zealand”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Wow! Talk about going the extra mile-our hosts, Wendy and Tony went the extra 10 miles. They really could not do enough for us. Nothing was too much trouble, from planning our daily activities to the little afternoon treats.
The breakfasts were absolutely delicious. The rooms and the bathroom were spotless and the decor was superb. Comfort at its best
We would highly recommend this 5 star B & B (at an extremely reasonable price) to anyone who takes a trip to Northland

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treghan, Owner at Treghan Luxury Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you so much for rating us 5 star and the best B&B in NZ. We certainly very much enjoyed your visit and make great efforts to always have our rooms spotless and comfortable. I love cooking so for you to really enjoy my food is a real bonus, come again soon. Regards
Wendy and Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
217
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Wendy and Tony were the most amazing B&B hosts!! As soon as Wendy opened the door we felt like we were a part of their family! Our room was beautiful and so comfortable! Wendy welcomed us and also showed us the places to eat and things to see and do. She booked dinner for us and our Bay of Islands Dolphin Tour. It was so nice knowing that things were booked and ready to roll!! Wendy cooked breakfast both nights and it was absolutely delicious!!! The adorable kitty cat even joined us! Nawwww.

We loved every single place that was recommended by Wendy and Tony! We discovered that B&B's are definitely best for advise on things to do, as they send you to the local gems rather than just the tourist hotspots!

Our only regret is that we didn't stay long enough! There are so many things to do with just not enough time!! We wanted to spend some time star gazing from our room but it was too cloudy both nights :-(

Wendy and Tony, Kris and I had the best time with you both and also with Cookie and Peter!! We will 100% be back and we will be recommending you to EVERYONE! Thank you for making us feel so welcome and making out honeymoon all the more perfect (with sparkling wine, choccies and treats every day)!! I know that mum is excited to come stay so expect her in the not so distant future!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slkuskopf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treghan, Owner at Treghan Luxury Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hi to the Happy Newly Weds oh what a pleasure it was to be part of your special celebration, your mum did well to book you the "Honey Moon Package" and now she is coming over to stay so can't wait to meet her, feel like we know each other already from the email communications. We wish you all the very best for a happy future together, you made the perfect couple, delightful. Enzo Furrari (the Cat) thought so to. What a fun breakfast we had with you and the other couple, hilarious. Come back soon and hopefully you will see the magical night skies as we are not effected by light pollution, stunning. Regards Wendy, Tony and of course Enzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This has been by far our best accommodation in NZ, having travelled extensively throughout the country. Everything you thought you wanted - and more - was there. In addition to having a superb suite and excellent breakfasts, our stay at Treghan Cottage was made so special by Wendy and Tony's continual attention to our particular needs, helping us to get the most from our holiday. They are both such lovely people who relate warmly to all their guests. We are already planning to stay with them again next year, before our return to the UK.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John0313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treghan, Owner at Treghan Luxury Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, it is indeed high praise and it is great to know that the things we also love, fine food, great standard of accommodation, wonderful service are what you found in us. We love what we do and so making new friend like we have with you two is very special, we look forward to seeing you again and I know that we will next year. We will pick up where we left off. Regards Wendy and Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our stay at Treghan Cottage exceeded even our highest expectations. Prior to arriving, we had already received a welcoming email from Wendy & Tony together with instructions on how to locate the cottage and also a suggested list of activities we could undertake. They could make the bookings for us.
Following a very warm welcome we were shown our palatial suite which had everything that we thought might be required ... plus more.
Breakfast was like a family gathering where discussions took place on what we had done the day before, our plans for the days ahead, suggestions where to dine tonight etc. A sumptuous breakfast was woven around the conversations. Wendy & Tony are excellent hosts. Nothing is too much trouble.
One very small challenge which confronted us was locating the entrance to the cottage after dark.The Treghan Cottage sign is easily seen from one direction but not the other.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treghan, Owner at Treghan Luxury Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
What a wonderful review, thank you so much we go out of our way to make sure your trip fits your needs and maximizes your special visit and we are delighted we delivered in every aspect. We specialize in trip booking and planning and are real foodies and I do love cooking and presenting food to a high standard, great that you enjoyed it.
With regards to the light on the street, Kerikeri has no main street lights 1km out from the village, we had one light and since your comment have now erected another brighter one so this should stop this problem, thank you for letting us know. Regards Wendy & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bungendore, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Celebrating our first wedding anniversary with Wendy and Tony was something special. Both my husband and I have demanding jobs and we wanted somewhere quiet and peaceful just to relax and enjoy each others company. We travelled from Australia to Kerikeri just to experience Treghan Cottage and Wendy and Tony's wonderful hospitality. Wendy and Tony were always there if we needed anything and Wendy helped us organise special dinner for our anniversary. The setting is ideal for couples who want time for themselves. We have already recommended Treghan Cottage to our friends and would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dayle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treghan, Owner at Treghan Luxury Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, we really enjoyed your visit and it was a privilege to make your special celebration all that more special with the little extra's. We are pleased the Tui suite gave you the privacy you were looking with its large and well appointed rooms opening onto the garden and gave you the relaxation you needed. You are a delightful couple and we are really looking forward to your return visit in June. Regards Wendy and Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Our stay at Treghan Cottage was perfect in all aspects. The accommodation is first class as is the food and service. It is well placed for visiting many very interesting places and above all, there is peace and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treghan, Owner at Treghan Luxury Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, it really means a lot to get your feedback. We are delighted that you found our quiet retreat, peaceful and quiet its a great location not having any immediate neighbors, wonderful bird life and views yet less than 1 km to Kerikeri. Come again soon for more relaxation and yummy food. Regards Wendy and Tony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful three nights. The accommodation food and service from Wendy and Tony was excellent. we would certainly reccommend Treghan Cottage to anyone especially those who want help with suggestions for tours restaurants and where to visit according to their special interests

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treghan, Owner at Treghan Luxury Lodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for the review, we are delighted that you found our trip and tour service helpful, we specialize in sorting each guests individual needs and help them maximize their time in the area.
Come again, as you saw there is so much more to do in the Bay of Islands. Regards Wendy & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
1.2 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
8.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.1 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Avalon Resort
Avalon Resort
#4 of 26 in Kerikeri
201 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
461 reviews
4.6 mi away
Swallows Ridge
Swallows Ridge
#2 of 26 in Kerikeri
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treghan Luxury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treghan Luxury Lodge

Property: Treghan Luxury Lodge
Address: 394B Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Treghan Luxury Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treghan luxury accommodation in the Bay of Islands New Zealand.....beautifully appointed self contained accommodation, wonderful rural vistas, abundant birdlife and within walking distance of Kerikeri. Multi award winning and rated in the top 25 B&Bs in 2015 & 2012. Located less than 1k to the town and set back from the road providing a quiet private luxury retreat. Set within private gardens, and with bush where you can hear the Kiwis calling at night, this sophisticated bed and breakfast accommodation is available in just three luxurious self contained cottages - Owner's Cottage, Birdsong Retreat and Tranquility Retreat - making our accommodation well appointed for a relaxing holiday, a golf retreat or a romantic get-away. Owner's Cottage is one bedroom with a king bedroom, fully equipped kitchenette, free Wi-Fi, satellite TV, and full breakfast provisions included in price (we are known for our delicious food). Birdsong and Tranquility Retreats have two bedrooms (each with super-king beds which can be reconfigured to twin beds), two bathrooms, fully equipped kitchens with dishwasher and laundry facilities. Full breakfast provisions are provided, organic where possible. Treghan Luxury Retreat is designed with your relaxation in mind. The separate guesthouses and cottage each have a private entrance and garden settings. You can relax with a glass of wine on your deck, unwind and take in the views. Jewellery and art on display and for sale along with other gifts at The Art Place gallery onsite. Centrally located for all trips, tours, vineyards and golf courses including Kauri Cliffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Treghan Luxury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing