We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful house in a lovely setting.”
Review of The Summer House

The Summer House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Summer House
Ranked #19 of 28 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 24, 2009

We stayed in many nice places during our three weeks in New Zealand but the Summer House stands out as our favorite. Our friends stayed in the downstairs suite while we were upstairs in a large bedroom with private bath. Our mattress was excellent and the bathroom and shower were outstanding. The house was immaculate and beautifully decorated with a south seas theme. The house sits on a two and one half acre former citrus orchard which Rod and Christine Brown have landscaped beautifully. Rod and Christine were incredibly helpful during our stay. Christine's breakfasts are to die for and Rod was an endless fountain of information regarding Bay of Islands attractions, history and ecology. They recommended restaurants, booked tours for us, and gave us great advice on attractions to see on our return trip to Auckland via the west coast. We could not have had better hosts or improved on the Summer House.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishdoc49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2008

Audley Travel had booked us into The Summer House in Kerikeri and it was our first NZ experience. We flew into Kerikeri from Auckland, having arrived at Auckland via Sydney and Hong Kong after a week in Xian, so we were exhausted! It was a joy to arrive at The Summer House where we had been booked into the Pavilion. This is a large room with a modern, well fitted out bathroom and it is exceptionally comfortable accommodation. There are french windows out onto a deck with steps down to the garden. Being keen gardeners ourselves, this was a real treat for us and Rod was happy to spend time taking us round and showing us all the plants and explaining the background to the garden which was part of a citrus orchard. They still have their own citrus trees and their fruit is used to make juice for the wonderful breakfasts Christine produces every day. There is a daily change of breakfast menu and all of it was wonderful - in fact, it was really hard to choose because there is such a range of home made goodies as well as a very generous and tasty cooked breakfast and masses of fresh fruit.
The room was extremely comfortable and our hosts were generous with their time and their advice as to places to have dinner or to visit. We had a very good meal at the quirky and charming Cafe Cinema and at The Keri Landing in the Stone Store basin where, on a warm day, it's lovely to sit looking at the water.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJHDevonshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2008

The Summer House was the best place we stayed on a three week trip to New Zealand. We spent 2 nights. The inkeepers (Rod and Christine) are very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Their garden is amazing. Our room was spacious and overlooked the back garden. Christine's breakfasts are excellent. We would certainly return if we are ever in the Kerikeri area again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2008

During our 5 weeks in New Zealand we stayed at many wonderful properties, all of which have been commented on favourably by other tripadvisor members. But why no review of this little gem? I suspect those in the know want to keep it secret! We met several people who had stayed there and all pronounced it first class.

The Summer House is set in a tropical garden designed by the owners, Christine and Rod. It is a true haven of tranquility. There are three rooms; we stayed in the garden suite which has self catering facilities, is large and opens out onto a veranda overlooking the pond and garden.

Two particular aspects set this place apart. Firstly, Christine. The house is immaculate, nothing is too much trouble and she cooks divine breakfasts. There was always a huge fresh fruit platter, freshly squeezed juice (both from the garden) and then a choice of cooked options. My vege husband was well catered for.

Secondly, Rob. He is a mine of information and helped us plan the two fantastic days we had in the Bay of Islands and where to go en route to our next stop. He seemed to know instinctively what we'd enjoy and he was right. We have several great memories which are all due to him. The Maori entertainment at the Waitangi Treaty grounds were so much better than what we saw in Rotorua - we wouldn't have thought of going if he hadn't suggested it.

This was our first stop in New Zealand and it gave us a magnificent first impression. Everywhere else had a great deal to look up to.

The Bay of Islands and Kerikeri itself are stunning.

You won't regret a visit here!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

My ladyfriend and I spent 3 days/nights at the Summer House in early January '08 and had a great stay. We booked the "Pacific Pavilion", which was a semi-detached "suite" that included a large bedroom, large
bathroom (walk-in shower, no tub), half kitchen, and semi-private deck
just outside double doors to the backyard garden. Overall, we had a great time and would highly recommend this B&B.

The couple that runs the B&B was very helpful with suggestions on what
to do, where to go, where to eat, etc., as well as provided us with maps and directions. They also made dinner reservations for us for two
of the nights (The Landing was excellent). Rod was particularly chatty
and helpful and seemed genuinely interested in getting to know us.

The biggest highlights were (1) the breakfasts and (2) the gardens that surrounded the property. The breakfasts included fresh tangelo juice from fruit that grew on their trees, homemade granola with milk/yogurt, toast, a fresh fruit plate (3 or 4 different kinds), French-press coffee, and a choice of one of 2 or 3 entrees, which varied daily (for example, eggs Benedict, warm croissant with fresh berries and cream, and French toast with a choice of toppings). They were a great start to the day and were quite filling.

The gardens in the backyard were brilliant. When we were there, it seemed like everything was in flower: banana trees, heliconias, impatiens, agapanthus, kangaroo paws, hibiscus, orchids, etc. For garden enthusiasts as well as those that like a tranquil, scenic setting, this is the spot. We enjoyed walking around the gardens as well as while sitting on our deck while having another cup of coffee (provided in room). There was also a woodsy area and a small grove of fruit trees that they maintain.

In the room, towels were changed daily and the bed was always made in the morning and turned down in the evenings. We felt like we had a lot of privacy, but yet the owners were always available. There was no
noise other than from birds. The kitchen had dishes, utensils, microwave, refrigerator, etc, which came in useful with leftovers from
dinner. They also offered some drinks for sale in their "minibar", but
we had brought our own wine.

There were a few things that could be improved. First, the bed was a bit soft, and the "king" bed was really two twin beds held together. This is common in much of the world, but personally I prefer a large bed without a seam in the middle. Also, the free wifi internet service was a bit spotty in the room and on the deck.

All-in-all, a great place to stay. We paid $310 NZ per night, which seemed a bit pricey given the poor state of the US dollar as of late. However, I found it very much worth the higher price compared with some nearby options -- it was worth a bit of a splurge.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FlytheTail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
USA
11
Reviewed November 3, 2003

We just returned from a magical vacation at a magnificent bed and breakfast home. Set in The Bay of Islands, a glorious French provencal style accomidation known as The Summer House. We felt truely blessed to have met the couple who own and run this establishment. They made us feel so welcome in their home and their knowledge on the local area and native forest was such a benifit. We look forward to returning to this bautiful country and stay once more at The Summer House a place we would recommend highly to anyone who enjoys the elegant comforts of home.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2003

My wife and I stayed at the Summer House for three nights during our honeymoon. Rod and Christine are excellent hosts. Rod had great suggestions for area attractions and Christine cooked absolutly delicious breakfasts.

The B&B is a short drive from many historic sites, old growth forests, charming villiages, glow worm caves, and beaches. We were able to see all of these on day trips.

The grounds round The Summer House are a joy to explore. The backyard has a well kept garden with a fish pond. There is a an orange grove that provides fresh citrus fruit (Oranges, Grapefruit, Ugli Fruit) for breakfasts. In the spring when we were there, we took great photos in front of at least five displays of flowers including thriving orchids.

The rooms are modern, well furnished, and perfectly clean. The B&B has only three rooms and accepts no children, so your stay is bound to be peaceful and personal.

  • Stayed: September 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen-Ost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kerikeri hotels
1.3 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
0.5 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
524 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kerikeri Park Lodge
Kerikeri Park Lodge
#4 of 16 in Kerikeri
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
1 mi away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
3.3 mi away
Bay of Islands Country Lodge Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summer House

Address: 424 Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range: $177 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Summer House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic hectare of sub-tropical gardens and citrus orchard, The Summer House offers boutique bed and breakfast accommodation in a tranquil setting yet only 1.5 km from Kerikeri Village. Rod and Christine have a wide knowledge of the history and geography of Kerikeri and the Bay of Islands and can help with your itinerary, book trips and recommend restaurants. Christine serves delicious breakfasts specialising in the fresh produce of the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Summer House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing