We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magic Cottages at Takou River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Our stay at Magic cottage was such a breath of fresh air It was a birthday present for my husband that I was so lucky to share what a great place to destress .we bought a grab one package and the best we have ever bough we can not wait to go back .The whole experience is just first class .And the extra service from Anna was lovely we were upgraded to the Lodge which was so luxurious and we also had the hot tub package this is a must . there is so much to do or do nothing if you please cooking facilities are first class and Anna even offered us salad items from her garden for our dinner the gardens are divine and kayaking on the the river is a must .And all of this is in such a natural and caring environment.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for Magic Cottages at Takou River
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 184 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

Our arrival on Christmas Eve, after an arduous journey, was met with the special sight of twinkling lights on the Christmas tree, a chilled bottle of sparkling wine in the fridge and freshly cut flowers from the garden. Shearer's Cottage was spacious, light and refreshing with everything you could possibly need and many extra features that show careful attention to detail given by Anna and Ian. Following Ian's friendly and informative meet and greet, we enjoyed several of his recommended 'must do' walks, sights and meals out - 'Food' near the Stone Store. This idyllic spot allowed us to relax on the sunloungers on the large deck, use the freely available kayaks to paddle down the bordering river to the peaceful beach and spend quality time walking the farm tracks; an interesting walk was had down to the glow worms which adorn the river banks, before indulging in an alfresco bath - with only starlight to punctuate your thoughts. All this luxury delivered in a truly environmentally conscious manner. Our hosts have created their own kind of magic. A wonderful place.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The best holiday my boyfriend and I have ever been on! So much to do and see that you don't even have to leave Takou River! The use of the fishing rods, kayaks, beautiful beaches, walks, river, beautiful cottages with a very well equipt kitchen makes for an extremely well priced holiday. We got a package on GrabOne with included the Hot Tub experience and even in a thunderstorm is was absolutely fantastic and topped the holiday off :) Have recommended it to all of our friends and family. Would go again in an instant :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I was in search of somewhere to take my partner for his birthday and found the Magic Cottages, we ended up staying in the Summer Cottage and couldn't have been happier the house was beautiful fresh flowers, everything you need to cook and bake. A wee walk away we had our own Balaniese Hutt and clawfoot bath with fire and bbq - absolutely amazing. On Saturday we went kayaked down the river tot he ebach and explored and also had a picnic down on the river side, explored the farm with the bush walk around the property and we also booked in for the hot tub down on the river on the Saturday night, what a magical experience, covered under Pohutakawa trees and stary night skies we lit a fire and had champagne it was truly magical. Thank you so much Anna and Ian it was truly beautiful and we will be back amazing amazing job you have done.

Thank you =)
Logan & Tessa

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TessaAllenMoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Magic cottage is one of the nicest places we have ever stayed at any where in the world.
It is in a world of its own, in a beautiful quiet setting. The cottage and furnishings are top quality but at the same time designed to make you feel relaxed and at home. Well set up to do your own cooking. There are 4 or 5 cottages to choose from,all different configurations and some cater for small groups. As a couple Magic cottage is our number 1 choice, it is right on the rivers edge and more secluded. Kerikeri town is only 15 minutes away and there are some nice places to eat out at or visit. The hosts, Ian & Anna are top people, a lovely couple that will do what ever possible to make sure you enjoy your stay. We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Talk to Anna or Ian and explain what you are looking for, i'm sure they will advise you on the m...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MEANDMEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
takouriver, Owner at Magic Cottages at Takou River, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Hi there,

We're so glad you had such a fantastic time and enjoyed the peace and tranquility at Magic Cottage!

Really looking forward to welcoming you back to Magic Cottages and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Kind regards,

Anna & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My hubby and l stayed at the Magic Cottage for the first time a few days ago and what at amazing experience !! We are now planning our next trip back in April and the third one in Nov...despite 6 1/2 hrs drive from Papamoa..that's just to tell you how much we enjoy the place :)
The attention to detail is superb..Anna and Ian are the friendly and lovely couple that make this place so unique and special..thank you guys !!! See you soon :) xoxo

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a couple try the Magic Cottage
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
takouriver, Owner at Magic Cottages at Takou River, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Hi Roxana,

Thank you so much for making the drive north to stay with us! I'm so glad that you had an amazing time, and really looking forward to welcoming you back in April...and November!

Have a great summer in the meantime, and thank you for taking time to write a review.

Best wishes,

Anna & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

My girlfriend and I had the most amazing weekend in the River Cottage. The cottage itself was luxurious without being ostentatious, whilst the setting was breathtaking. We were able to truly relax and soak up the sun and views in total privacy. The Hot Tub was absolutely perfect and made for a truly magical night. It was one of the best weekends I have ever had and we were truly sad to have to leave on Sunday. I can not recommend this place highly enough

Room Tip: We stayed in River Cottage which was amazing, but I suspect Magic Cottage might be the pick of the b...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
takouriver, Owner at Magic Cottages at Takou River, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Hi Jack,

I'm so glad you both had such an amazing weekend in River Cottage, and that you enjoyed the peace, privacy and most of all the Hot Tub Experience!

Hopefully we can welcome you back in the not too distant future for some more luxurious relaxation!

A belated 'thank you' for writing a review too.

Kind regards,

Anna & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kerikeri hotels
8.6 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
9.2 mi away
Motel Kerigold Secluded Chalets
8.4 mi away
Stone Store Lodge Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Moon Gate Villa
Moon Gate Villa
#1 of 28 in Kerikeri
223 reviews
9.1 mi away
Avalon Resort
Avalon Resort
#4 of 26 in Kerikeri
202 reviews
10.2 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Cottages at Takou River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Cottages at Takou River

Address: 660 Takou Bay Road | Northland, Kerikeri 0246, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Kerikeri
Price Range: $146 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magic Cottages at Takou River 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set a short distance from Kerikeri in the Bay of Islands and voted one of the Top Ten Luxury Lodges in New Zealand, Magic Cottages at Takou River are secluded and beautiful riverside retreats set on the banks of the picturesque Takou River. Within earshot of the sea at Takou Bay and surrounded by 150 acres of certified organic pasture, native bush and 5 acres of sub-tropical gardens, the 4 cottages and recently completed Lodge provide boutique self-catering accommodation that is eco-friendly yet still indulgent.Peace, seclusion and tranquility abound - a beautiful private river frontage; 150 acres of organic farmland with marked walks along the river bank, through native bush and pastures to secluded swimming and picnic spots; magical glow worms; 5 acres of beautiful sub-tropical gardens to wander and explore; our private jetty and boat house with free kayaks, canoes and fishing rods; and last but not least, access to the beautiful deserted sandy beaches at Takou Bay a short paddle or drive downstream. Once you've finished exploring, relax and unwind in the privacy of your cottage with a pampering massage or spa treatment. To complete your stay, gourmet meals are also available by prior arrangement. Magic Cottages are centrally located to explore the wider Bay of Islands and Far North, yet hidden away from the hustle and bustle amid 150 acres of organic pasture, native bush and river frontage. Enjoy the flourishing birdlife; wander enchanted gardens and riverside walks; paddle to Takou Bay; relax, refresh and romance in the claw foot bath – or bask in the bliss of doing absolutely nothing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Magic Cottages at Takou River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Cottages At Takou River Hotel Kerikeri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing