We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most peaceful getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magic Cottages at Takou River
Certificate of Excellence
Sakhalin Oblast, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The most peaceful getaway”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed in the Shearers Cottage for 3 nights, given to us as a gift by friends who loved it so much they wanted to share it! It's an easy place to find and even though we live in Whangarei, it felt like we had really gotten away from it all. The cottage was really well equipped and we had the fire going so were cosy. The weather wasn't too flash, being winter, but we did a few walks, spot of fishing and kayaking too. It's so quiet and being able to sit outside and watch and listen to the tuis was very restful. Next time we need to leave the kids behind... We went to Kerikeri and up to Mangonui so it's a good location if you want to get out and about, but it's value is really in the tranquility.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    12
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
23
146
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Offers total privacy, wonderful scenery and a back to nature experience. The weather was pretty crappy but we didn't have a care in the world while we were there. This cottage is wonderful and everything we needed was on hand. The little touches were great Just wish we could have stayed longer. Very romantic. Perfect place for a honeymoon

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Wanting to explore the Bay of Islands and at the same time have a little vacation from our vacation, we decided to stay at the Magic Cottages for 6 nights. It was one of the best decisions we made during our vacation. The place is exceptionally beautiful and peaceful. Located right next to the Takou River, it gave us many activity posibilities i.e. fishing, swimming, kayaking, hiking, etc... It also gave us a chance to explore the area at a leisurely pace without driving for hours at a time. Our hosts were very friendly and very helpful. We couldn't have asked for better hosts!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meso2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here last weekend and we had a fab time. The rooms were actually a wee bit smaller compared to the ones shown in the photo but nonetheless we had a great stay
Cute, secluded and v. peaceful and would recommend this to other couples seeking a romantic getaway
Bubbles on arrival was a nice touch. So was the free use of their kayaks. It was a stunning winter morning (crisp but atleast the sun was out and not a cloud in the sky) we paddled down to the beach.
We didn't get to meet the owners but one of the guys called in and said hello and gave us some info abt the place and things we could do around kerikeri

My only recommendation would be to provide some extra toiletries like shower gel (there was shampoo and conditioner provided) and maybe a bigger heater in the room. It does take a while for the room to heat up.

Hot bath under the stars at night with bubbles = priceless!

Tip: Take some extra fragrant candles with you (there's plenty in the draw but those are the smaller tea light ones)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

All previous reviews on this website probably say it all - and we won't bore with with all the details of how wonderful our stay was.

But what we do want to talk about (and has not been previously mentioned) is our chance to experience an absolutely stunning and romantic outdoor bath right under the stars and by the candlelights.

We had no idea what to expect when we followed Ian in the dark just with a couple of flashlights guiding out way, but when we arrived at the site we were completely overwhelmed by the beautiful, romantic setting of the outdoor bath that was waiting for us there. We spent a couple of hours of intimate, yet relaxing time there. We would highly recommend this to any committed couple visiting.

We were also very touched by the genuine, warm hospitality Ian and Anna have shown to us.

It was truly a perfect weekend getaway for us.

We will definately stay with them again and recommend the property to everyone.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Magic Cottages at Takou River was an amazing experience. Our stay at River cottage was like a dream. This is a peaceful place where you can enjoy the birds waking you up in the morning, sunshine on the portch while drinking coffee or having a bath under the stars. The hosts are great and very friendly, they have thought about everything you can think of. The immaculate River cottage has 2 bedrooms with a bathroom downstairs. Upstairs is the dining, kitchen and living area. Nice deck flows from the living area with a view to beautiful scenery.
Grab a kayak and go down the Takou River to the beach, enjoy the walk around the farm, or simply relax and enjoy your book. Our experience was fantastic, we strongly recommend visitors to book this accommodation and expirience a life in escapism.
Thank you for warm hospitality Ian and Anna and the kids!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drazenka D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We loved our stay in the very special Magic Cottage. We were both really sad to leave after our 6 night stay. We stayed as a couple on our honeymoon and loved the outdoor bath, and waking up to a beautiful view every morning. The bay window was also a fantastic place to lay back and relax with a book, or just gaze out at the view - it was as if you were on a boat on the river.
Thanks for your warm hospitality Ian and Anna!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikerickson14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
15.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
9.8 mi away
Moon Gate Villa
Moon Gate Villa
#1 of 28 in Kerikeri
223 reviews
8.4 mi away
Stone Store Lodge Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
10.2 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
461 reviews
15.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Cottages at Takou River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Cottages at Takou River

Property: Magic Cottages at Takou River
Address: 660 Takou Bay Road | Northland, Kerikeri 0246, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magic Cottages at Takou River 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set a short distance from Kerikeri in the Bay of Islands and voted one of the Top Ten Luxury Lodges in New Zealand, Magic Cottages at Takou River are secluded and beautiful riverside retreats set on the banks of the picturesque Takou River. Within earshot of the sea at Takou Bay and surrounded by 150 acres of certified organic pasture, native bush and 5 acres of sub-tropical gardens, the 4 cottages and recently completed Lodge provide boutique self-catering accommodation that is eco-friendly yet still indulgent.Peace, seclusion and tranquility abound - a beautiful private river frontage; 150 acres of organic farmland with marked walks along the river bank, through native bush and pastures to secluded swimming and picnic spots; magical glow worms; 5 acres of beautiful sub-tropical gardens to wander and explore; our private jetty and boat house with free kayaks, canoes and fishing rods; and last but not least, access to the beautiful deserted sandy beaches at Takou Bay a short paddle or drive downstream. Once you've finished exploring, relax and unwind in the privacy of your cottage with a pampering massage or spa treatment. To complete your stay, gourmet meals are also available by prior arrangement. Magic Cottages are centrally located to explore the wider Bay of Islands and Far North, yet hidden away from the hustle and bustle amid 150 acres of organic pasture, native bush and river frontage. Enjoy the flourishing birdlife; wander enchanted gardens and riverside walks; paddle to Takou Bay; relax, refresh and romance in the claw foot bath – or bask in the bliss of doing absolutely nothing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Magic Cottages at Takou River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Cottages At Takou River Hotel Kerikeri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing