We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and food let down by below average service and...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The White Swan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White Swan
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greytown
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great location and food let down by below average service and...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We purchased a Treat Me voucher, it took a number of attempts to secure our stay due to the popularity of the Treat Me promotion which I dare say was "over sold" and demands exceeded the ability to service customers from this promotion. It was great to sit outside in the afternoon sun with a few drinks but we found ourselves having to go to the bar for service whilst the service staff (mostly young but two mature staff members) entertained themselves and were far from proactive with their approach to customer service!

The food was better than expected but small in portion, we had decided on some of the dishes listed on the menu displayed by the front door as you enter the establishment but was disappointed to be handed a 'special menu' when we sat down in the restaurant with very few options as a result of purchasing a Treat Me voucher (now a mistake in hindsight).

The room was tidy but the phone wasn't working, the alarm clock couldn't be set and we found several old crackers sitting in one of the draws, I wonder who inspects the room and is responsible for QA? We agree about the bed, looks like a double with absolute ''roll together'' and a bounce similar to a trampoline, a disappointment given the reputation of this establishment. If you stayed in the rooms without a discount voucher like Treat Me it would not represent good value for money!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WELLYFOODIE007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    58
    20
    12
    5
See reviews for
12
118
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We bought a half price voucher from TreatMe, so at $199 including dinner we didnt have high expectations. It was great to sit outside in the afternoon sun with a cold beer. Would have been better if the waiting staff had come out to see if we wanted another rather thsn sitting idle behind the bar.
The restaurant food was very good. Scallop entree was cooked perfectly as was the fillet steak main. However again the young waiting staff werent trained enough, friendly though they were.
The room was very clean and tidy. But the letdowns were the noisy ceiling fan (needed as was a warm night and they have no air con). The cooler units for their cool store are right outside the bedroom windows so with thst noise opening windows was not an option.
The tv was an old crt with terrible reception and a broken remote.
The worst was the bed. Hard mattress and bouncy like a damn trampoline. In a place like this there is no excuse for cheap beds! A nice night ruined by a terrible sleep.
Fix these things and the stay would improve dramatically.
At their standard room rates they are not good value.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCWellingtonNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Spent a very quick time in Greytown, was a rest stop/sleep on the way to Wellington.
Its kinda like they are trying there best.. but not quite there.. This place has huge potential but small things let it down.. Not that I go away to watch TV, but 15 yr old tv's with bad reception and high pitch noises is not what you want.
We got upgraded to a large one bedroom apartment, which was very spacious. had a huge kitchen but had a sign saying as you are a hotel guest please do not use the HOB or dishwasher etc..mmmm
Bed was uncomfy.. I Presume it was a queen with 2 single beds put together.. spend some money on top layers guys... i only paid $150 for the night, this apartment would of been $250.. so over priced for what it was and would not be happy if I had paid that much
Because I was only there for a little time, I cannot comment on staff and I only saw them for really 2 minutes or so.. they seemed a jolly lot..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were heading north for a funeral but thought we would break the journey by staying in a lovely spot on-route and make the msot of the summer weather and journey. The White Swan was place we had been to before for meals and a drink but had never stayed in their back of property suites or studios but we had seen their rooms within the hotel. We ended up with an suite out the back which was our preference , and it was very relaxing and really enjoyed that. we were very impressed with the bar and restarurant staff and the accomodations manager (or person), they were all very service oreientated but just so natural and pleasant to deal with, and it was a very busy night for them - huge tables of reserved guests for different occasions, but we were looked after very well, and we enjoyed the food (not flash but certainly nicely prepared and very enjoyable). I think the White Swan was very impressive and we had a great night's sleep in a very comfortable 'suite'. Staff were without doubt amongst best we have come across outside of a hotel we stayed in in Vietnam. Great shower too - amazing water pressure. And Greytown is a fav place for me to visit.

Room Tip: I would recommend suites or studios out the back of the White Swan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwimum54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

As everything else in Greytown was closed on Sunday night we ended up here despite intending to have a casual pub meal. So glad we did though. It was a lovely night, so we sat out front watching the world go by. The staff were lovely, very friendly and extremely tolerant of 5 busy mums who were enjoying their time out, and were probably being a bit naughty! They even helped us out for one of our initiation challenges ;)

I didn't feel very hungry so i just chose an entree, pan seared scallops with minted pea purée, crispy bacon, salmon caviar and lemon oil. It was amazing, the best meal I'd had in ages and it was surprisingly substantial. The other girls were equally impressed. We found the prices very reasonable considering the quality, mine was $18 and the others' mains were about $25ish. No room for dessert but the selection looked very tempting.

Will absolutely be back and would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsy_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Conveniently located on the main street of Greytown, I got a friendly reception in this hotel of character. The room was comfortable and quiet. The shower was great. The entrance hallway and bar area are charming. Great atmosphere, with friendly staff. The Wairarapa wineries in the Gladstone area and Martinborough are easily accessible. A good place to stay when visiting the region.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oenophil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englefield Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Nice character hotel, very friendly staff. Good food but let down by the deserts, which appeared to be mass produced and bought in, and a 45 minute wait for the main course - and they weren't busy. Very good breakfast served in room. Wifi was $20 for 24 hours - come on!all hotels of this calibre should include it in the price. We liked this hotel, but is overpriced by about $40-$50 per night.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back away from the street are protected from the evening sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EGLSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greytown
9.5 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Greytown Hotel
Greytown Hotel
#3 of 3 in Greytown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
9.0 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
0.1 mi away
Greyfriars Motel
Greyfriars Motel
#1 of 6 in Greytown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan

Property: The White Swan
Address: Main St., Greytown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Greytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Swan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The White Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Greytown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing