We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of The White Swan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Swan
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Greytown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We purchased a voucher for our 15 year wedding anniversary from "One day out" which was a half price package for a park deluxe suite, meal voucher and bottle of bubbles.
When we booked the confirmation came back with a studio room not suite. I had to call to have this changed.
Arrived on a very cold May Sunday, room was freezing...would of been nice to have the room heated prior to arrival.
Bottle of bubbles was not a bottle but two mini bottles (so 2 glasses really)
Service was poor, staff unfriendly, when we checked out we were not even asked how everything went and did we enjoy our stay. Wouldn't go back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 172 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2011

A pleasant hotel in the Wairapa and well located for the vineyards. Outwardly very nice but unfortunately there seems to have been a desire to use the cheapest of fixtures and fittings, particularly in the bathroom. The hotel is not the cheapest so there is really no reason for this apparent economy.

Excellent value restaurant and very friendly staff essentially overcame the shortfalls mentioned.

The desire to have extremely expensive Wi-Fi available is a great pity as many hotels in the world have decided that this is no more of an option than the provision of toilet paper. Wake up White Swan. The local public library (50 metres away) does provide both Wi-Fi and computers.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank handr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

I had been to an open house for this old lady a couple of years ago. The suites are all different with different themes. At the start of this holiday we decided to book there, with the help of a treat me voucher that gave us an extraordinary deal for the room and included a 4 course dinner. The service in the hotel is really impeccable from the reception through to dinner staff. The room we had (Madison) is huge! Surprisingly, the bed is only a queen which looked dwarfed in such a large space. The matress could use replacing. There is a very large l-shaped leather look sofa though that takes up a lot of the middle of the room. Fresh flowers were a lovely touch. During the week, breakfast is served in the room since the restaurant is not open in the morning. we really enjoyed it and the price for it was really more than fair. Some not so good features: There is a large wrap around balcony accessed from the room BUT there was a dirty end of a cigar nd ashes in the ashtray on the table from a previous guest and the balcony itself looked like it had not been cleaned in a long while.Lots of dirt on the ballustrade and on the window ledges. Supplied coffee was Rchard Harris....really the bottom of the barrel on a par with Pams. Surely a classy place like this can provide some of the wonderful coffee that NZ has. Also becasue the hotel is on the main road and becasue we slept with the windows open (it was hot and muggy in Greytown the night we were there and the ceiling fan helped to move air around but was not enough) the street noise was quite disturbing. this is on a main road through the country and so trucks go through all night. We got an incredible deal and the special menu was excellent so I really can't complain. I don't think I would return at the pretty high regular price even though it is a lovely old place that reflects NZ of old with a modern touch. My relatively high rating reflects the amazing price we paid. It would have been lower had we paid full price.

Room Tip: I have to think that the studios at the back of the property would be quieter. They are less expensi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Went away on a special package/deal..... theme room was nicely decorated however quite small. Was very disappointed with the 3 course meal that came with the package. Was a strict set menu and not any items off their normal menu (which expected some similarity with). Meals were left barely eaten and us hungry. Would have preferred a pizza from their bar over what was offered. Further noise was a massive issue in the hotel. Appeared little sound proofing, could hear outside very clearly, party downstairs & people in surrounding rooms. Floor in room squeaked severly which made me nervous walking around the room late as thought we would wake others up (so ended up feeling very unrelaxed). Also room was hot! (even with heater off) could barely sleep. Again due to noise in hotel would have liked to put tv on as couldn't sleep (but knew would wake others up). Also the price of the hotel would have expected a newish tv instead of something that looked 15 years old and was rather small. Found staff friendly and helpful though. In brief if you are looking for a romantic chilled relaxed night away definately would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beanal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed at the White Swan courtesy of a deluxe gift package so felt we were on a treat from the minute we left home. (1 1/2 hours drive) Recommend the themed rooms in the main building for something a little different. We were warmly welcomed and escorted to the Mandarin room which was well appointed,spacious and warm but a little dark due to the dark (orange) decor. The promised bubbles on arrival were in 2 small bottles which meant we could have the treat twice - good idea. Unfortunately the weather (snowed in Greytown the next day) meant we did not venture out onto the balcony which overlooks the main st.
Our meal was "just right" and the new chef can be commended. There could have been more wait staff (just one) but we were not in a hurry and he was energetic, obliging and pleasant.
A party and band in the bar did not create the quiet ambience anticipated, but it was all over well before midnight and did not intrude on a good night's sleep.
Breakfast in the bar (with cheery open fire on very bleak morning ) was a la carte and when it arrived met expectations. As with the previous evening there were not many staff who at times needed to be looked for. Not a problem for us as we had the time.
Right out the front door is the main st of this delightful town with its row of boutique clothing, gift and antique shops and some foodie places into the mix. Women are very well catered for, but nothing for the men !

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShonaMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We got a great deal with one night in the George Suite and two 3 course dinners which was excellent value - but I don't think it is worth the full price for the rooms/meals but these specials seem to be available on their website regularly which is worth keeping an eye out for.

The room was very well appointed with lovely antique furniture, but it had a really huge and quite empty lounge which just didn't seem very warm or welcoming. perhaps a couch would take up some of the space and be a bit more comfy than the 2 chairs in the lounge. the bed was good and comfy, but being above a pub meant the room was quite loud and not very relaxing.

the service was good and friendly. we enjoyed sitting in the bar before dinner playing boardgames with a few drinks. and the 3 course meal deal was very good too.

would stay again, but only if on special, as while it is nice, it's not that luxurious or relaxing or that amazing food to justify paying full price.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Booked the full package deal - accommodation & meals. Recommend others try the theme rooms- We did the Ruby.
Downstairs dinner was ok. Staff appeared a little short staffed but thouse on duty were claerly taking up the slake. To the mangeressand a couple of the other people I would give you a work reference any time. Would recommend some of the towns other resaurants as well

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnzacPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greytown
11.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
9 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Greytown Hotel
Greytown Hotel
#3 of 3 in Greytown
26 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oak Estate Motor Lodge and Conference Centre
8.8 mi away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan

Address: Main St., Greytown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Greytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Greytown
Price Range: $111 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Swan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The White Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Greytown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing