We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst stay ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Turkey Red Country Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Greytown B&B and Inns
Feilding, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“worst stay ever”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This place sucked.We booked through a Grabone Deal.They omitted to tell us there was a 40th party booked that night.Meal was very small..Room was clean but shared amenities not great.Worst thing was room was right over pub and music just pounded away.We left and went home in the middle of the night.When I rang owner to tell her she admitted she should have told us how noisy it would be.She was not interested in giving a refund.I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurkeyRed G, Owner at Turkey Red Country Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
The only 40th Birthday that the Hotel has hosted was in June. The reveiwer states they stayed in July 2013 . All guests who booked in that Saturday where told of the event prior and asked if they would prefer another night.
We had several different groups staying who joined in the celebrations. A review has been posted regarding this birthday celebration. All refunds are done through Grabone and not the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    11
    10
    7
See reviews for
4
40
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

If you are looking for a luxury 5 star resort experience then this is not for you. But, if you like value for money and a comfortable country pub experience, then go for it. Turkey Red is a renovated old country pub with a funky feel. The rooms, while not large, are a pleasant surprise. The bathrooms are shared and are clean and tidy and you have dressing gowns supplied. The service is warm and friendly and the food is tasty. All in all, a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel represents very poor value for money. Don't bother with the food, it is overpriced and you will be left hungry - overcooked meat, undercooked vegetables.
As others have mentioned, the facilities are run down and the rooms are very small.
The worst part was there is no sound baffling between the pub underneath so don't expect to get any sleep. We got up in the middle of the night and drove home.
Very disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Greytown hotels

New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a Grab One deal, and this gave us a room and two course meal and wine for two people. We were pleasantly surprised at how much value we received for this deal. The room wasn't huge, but was very clean and nicely appointed. The shared bathroom facilities were fine. The meal was tasty, our only comment would be it would have been nice to have a veg or a smidgen of salad on the plate too (we both had the steak and chips, but it lacked greenery). Excellent value overall, and a lovely weekend break. Pleasant staff too. Many thanks.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwiquilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I organised to have my 40th birthday party at Turkey Red on the 29th of June. I did not stay in the hotel, as I live locally but I had friends who did and thought the rooms were lovely and comfortable. I found the staff to be very friendly and efficent and they made our group feel welcome on arrival. They even took us home at the end of the night. I organised a D.J. through one of the staff members and we were not disappointed. We ate canape style food which was delicious and well worth the money spent. A lot of fun with great staff and a great venue. Thank to the team at TurkeyRed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lalaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Bought a voucher thinking it would be a nice country pub/hotel getaway.
Boy were we wrong.

As others have mentioned, no soundproofing, so we got to hear a very sad sounding blues band until 12 in the morning, followed by roudy drunkards at the pub for another 3 hours. The rest of the morning was listening to the pipes of the shared toilets flushing.
The rooms are tiny, the double had only enough room to walk around the bed and had an in-room sink. Yay. Very average shared facilities, more like a budget backpackers.

Food was very lame. $28 for a small slab of pork and a couple of undercooked pieces of broccoli and carrot = disappointing. Ordered some fries to fill the gap, they took our money but "forgot" the order. Bad service all around, especially having to move mid-meal for the band to set up.. maybe the staff should have moved the tables prior?

Probably the kind of place you'd stay if you had one too many and missed the last horse out of one-horse town. Even with a voucher, it certainly wasn't value for money and we won't be recommending it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mortemia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurkeyRed G, Owner at Turkey Red Country Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
The voucher mentioned is a deal of $85 for a nights accommodation, two 2course meals and 2 glasses of wine at the hotel. The meals served are the same as all diners have at the restaurant.The double rooms are smaller than our queen rooms but have bathrobes, individual soaps,woolrests, electric blankets etc. Preference is given to 2 night stays with vouchers for the queen rooms.
The hotel is licensed until 1am and as the owner I live on site. The staff were gone by 1.30 and the whole bar area is totally lockedso we have no unwelcome patrons.
It is unfortunate that these guests were unhappy but if the complaints had been bought to the staffs attention we would have rectified any dissatisfaction at the time. We want all our guests to have a good experience and feel they can recommend the hotel so we apologise for any shortcomings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The food was pretty good but we thought overpriced for what we had been paying in New Zealand. It looks like the hotel has been renovated at the front but they have a way to go with the public conveniences!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mackasx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greytown hotels
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Greytown Hotel
#3 of 3 in Greytown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#1 of 3 in Greytown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oak Estate Motor Lodge and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Briarwood
Briarwood
#1 of 5 in Greytown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Saddlery
The Saddlery
#2 of 6 in Greytown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Greyfriars Motel
Greyfriars Motel
#1 of 6 in Greytown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turkey Red Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turkey Red Country Hotel

Property: Turkey Red Country Hotel
Address: 53 Main Street, Greytown 5712, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Greytown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Greytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a new backpackers suite The Stables for budget accommodation.We can accommodate groups of up to 24poeple in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Turkey Red Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing