We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oak Estate Motor Lodge and Conference Centre
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Greytown
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“a pleasant stay”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The past reviews have been quite positive and our experience was also pleasant.

Our one bedroom had cooking facilities and a nice outlook on some large trees facing hospital drive.

We were there over the long Easter weekend and so did not notice any traffic noise until Tuesday when people started back to work. It was not a particular problem, but the rear units might be a good choice for stay during the week.

The only slight downside was that internet access was NZ$ 7.00 per hour. Some hotels in Masterton offer free WiFi if that is important in your selection

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    21
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
28
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cromwell, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Accommodation overall was pleasant and quite acceptable even though we had been hoping to secure a studio unit at a cheaper rate for the one night passing through Greytown. Where I believe they came unstuck was charging us $6 for 2 slices of bread and some margarine! My husband and I shared a full breakfast at $17.00 - this included bacon, sausages, tomatoes, eggs and hashbrown. Neither of us eat sausages so I asked if the sausages could be swopped for bacon and if we could have a couple of extra pieces of toast as we intended to share. This was apparently no problem. We expected to pay extra for the toast (2 slices of bread which we toasted ourselves in the unit) but $6! I think that was a bit over the top and marred what could have been a pleasant experience for us both!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakestate, Owner at Oak Estate Motor Lodge and Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Our standard charge for toast and spreads is $6.00, however had you pointed out on check out that you had only had toast and margarine and thought this was excessive, we would have happily reduced the charge. Please contact me regarding a refund 06 304 8188. Thanks Andrea Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
58 Cox Drive Wagait Beach
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have been travelling around both the north and south islands and have stayed at about 8 self-contained units. All were priced between $120 - $180 per night for 2 adults. Although all had their good and bad points Oak Estate Lodge Motel stood out above the rest. Not only was it well presented but it way it was a real home away from home. You could sit on a comfortable lounge and watch TV without either sitting on the bed to look ahead or on the lounge and look sideways. The separate bedroom was a plus and the spa was just perfect. The kitchen has all you needed to cook a light meal and the hosts were very welcoming. There is quite a lot to see in the area too. We could have comfortably stayed more than our 2 day stay.

Room Tip: The studio room with a spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lureinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We loved our stay here. We stayed for 3 nights at Christmas in a 2 bedroom suite. It was so spacious for us (2 adults, 2 children) and everything was modern, clean and very comfortable. The spa bath was excellent, good kitchen and the children enjoyed the trampoline and swings. Would definitely recommend it and will return in future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle_Sydney13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed one night in a two bed unit and wished we were staying longer. We could not fault a thing, it was tastefully furnished, spacious and very clean and we loved the outside area at the back of the unit. In a great location and great value, will definitely recommend and hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotmankiwigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I stayed one night at this motel. It has a lovely feel to it. We had a unit that had a patio overlooking trees and a park. It was very quiet and restful. Everything was very clean, everything worked as they should do and decor was very pleasant. it was very warm. Motel is really driving distance fro cafes but in summer you could walk to them if you enjoy a little birt of exercise. I found management very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cressida_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite for a couple of nights. The motel is in a great location, very handy, only a short drive to Featherstone, where our family live. The rooms are very new, clean, spacious. The fold out sofa bed was quite uncomfortable, as they tend to be, but the bed in the main room was very good. Nice bathroom, but no soap provided for the shower, just shower gel. Good kitchen, nice coffee! Friendly staff and a good price. Recommended!

Room Tip: The one bedroom suite was room 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greytown
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Greytown Hotel
#3 of 3 in Greytown
25 reviews
0.8 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#1 of 3 in Greytown
167 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
12.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
0.7 mi away
Greyfriars Motel
Greyfriars Motel
#1 of 6 in Greytown
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Estate Motor Lodge and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Estate Motor Lodge and Conference Centre

Property: Oak Estate Motor Lodge and Conference Centre
Address: 2 Hospital Road, Greytown 5712, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Greytown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Greytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oak Estate Motor Lodge and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oak Estate Motor Lodge and Conference Centre offers spacious, quality, affordable, self-catering accommodation plus well equipped conference facilities centrally located in the picturesque Wairarapa town of Greytown. Come and stay with us at Oak Estate Motor Lodge, Escape from the city and the stress of day to day life and relax in our beautiful garden setting, Each room has double doors opening out on to the verandah. We are located just 5 minutes walk from the centre of Greytown, an hour drive from Wellington, 20 minutes from Masterton, 10 minutes from Carterton, 5 minutes from Featherston. Greytown is a great spot to base yourself in to explore the greater Wairarapa Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Oak Estate Motor Lodge and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing