We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, new, clean, good location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oak Estate Motor Lodge and Conference Centre
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Greytown
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite for a couple of nights. The motel is in a great location, very handy, only a short drive to Featherstone, where our family live. The rooms are very new, clean, spacious. The fold out sofa bed was quite uncomfortable, as they tend to be, but the bed in the main room was very good. Nice bathroom, but no soap provided for the shower, just shower gel. Good kitchen, nice coffee! Friendly staff and a good price. Recommended!

Room Tip: The one bedroom suite was room 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 59 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2011

This is a nice little place with quiet rooms just at the entrance to Greytown. I'd definitely recommend if for people that want a little comfort but not something expensive.

Room Tip: Rooms further from the main road are likely to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jake T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Lovely clean rooms. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit with a kitchen, which was spacious and had everything we needed. Hostess couldn't have been more helpful or friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nzapple27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2010

The lodge is close to many hiking trails in Greytown - a nicely restored 19thC main street. On the south edge of town, it is extremely quiet, located off the highway. The rooms are large and very comfortable. Well-equipped, they would be excellent for a multi-day stay. The owners had excellent recommendations for local restaurants. The owners were very friendly, trusting and helpful. All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prunes72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

Stayed here twice on business. Great little motels - these shouldn't be compared with hotel accomm - though I have to say carpet and decor, cleanliness better than a lot of hotels I've stayed in. Believe the owners are new. One of the best motels in NZ I've ever stayed in. Spacious rooms, LCD TV's, comfortable beds, fantastic heaters, electric blankets, big bathrooms with heated towel rails. Kitchen has electric jug, plunger coffee and various tea types, microwave and basic cutlery, cups, glasses etc. Very clean and quiet. Amazing service, always smiling, nothing was a problem, food was lovely home cooked food. Very friendly little dog part of the charm. Motels positioned on outskirts of Greytown. It's about a slow 15 minute walk into shops and cafes. Chairs and tables outside each motel unit, grassy area, trampoline, swings on grassy area inbetween the sets of motels for kids. Towels and bedding high quality. All in all excellent value.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvyrlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We have stayed at the Oak Estate a few times over the years, and on this last visit I felt the motel was starting to show its age.
The rooms are basic and some details such as shabby towels and an unfriendly welcome really let them down. The bathroom was also quite dusty so the cleaning seemed a bit once-over lightly.
Accommodation in Greytown and the surrounding area is of quite a high standard these days and I suspect you can get better value for money (& location) elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Stayed one night here. Roomy rooms but shame they had to paint some of the walls in a dark blue colour which meant the lights had to be on most of the time after 1500 because as its name suggests its surrounded by trees. Its 'downtown' Greymouth if there is such a thing but that means its nice and quiet. Internet is expensive($15NZ), has to be paid for in advance, and is extremely slow. So much so that I couldnt even get the most basic of sites without severaI minutes time lag. I asked for my money back the following morning but didnt get it from an unsympathetic relief manager. For that reason only I couldnt recommend

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teddall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greytown
12.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
0.8 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#1 of 3 in Greytown
171 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Greytown Hotel
Greytown Hotel
#3 of 3 in Greytown
25 reviews
8.5 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
0.7 mi away
Greyfriars Motel
Greyfriars Motel
#1 of 6 in Greytown
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Estate Motor Lodge and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Estate Motor Lodge and Conference Centre

Address: 2 Hospital Road, Greytown 5712, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Greytown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Greytown
Price Range: $92 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oak Estate Motor Lodge and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oak Estate Motor Lodge and Conference Centre offers spacious, quality, affordable, self-catering accommodation plus well equipped conference facilities centrally located in the picturesque Wairarapa town of Greytown. Come and stay with us at Oak Estate Motor Lodge, Escape from the city and the stress of day to day life and relax in our beautiful garden setting, Each room has double doors opening out on to the verandah. We are located just 5 minutes walk from the centre of Greytown, an hour drive from Wellington, 20 minutes from Masterton, 10 minutes from Carterton, 5 minutes from Featherston. Greytown is a great spot to base yourself in to explore the greater Wairarapa Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Oak Estate Motor Lodge and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing