We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway”
Review of Briarwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Briarwood
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I wanted a relaxing weekend escape and Briarwood couldn't have been more perfect. Beautiful setting and decor, incredible claw foot bath, and movies on tap (and an iPad, so you could watch them in bed!). But it's the little touches that make this place really special, like the schoc chocolates on the bedside, and the botanical 'tea bag' for use in the bath. If I was going to be really picky, the sound proofing between the rooms wasn't great. But otherwise, couldn't fault it. Will definitely return.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
Thank Rach_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 53 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were the tired parents of three little kids having a precious break away.... Briarwood was perfect - elegant, comfortable, calming, luxurious and Ian was the perfect host, he was there if we needed him but left us in peace otherwise. We had a log fire, a movie from his in-house dvd library, perfect Wairarapa wine and a pizza take-out recommendation from Ian... bliss, sigh.... We shall certainly return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain S, Owner at Briarwood, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm thrilled to hear you had an enjoyable night here at Briarwood. We look forward to having you back again soon and making sure your stay is just as comfortable.....Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay in the Briarwood studio which was spacious, private and comfortable, with a well-equipped kitchenette, comfortable king-sized bed and interesting art on the walls. Briarwood is a short walk from cafes and restaurants, and Greytown's boutique fashion shops. Next time we'll bring the dog - nice to find accommodation of this quality that is also pet-friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain S, Owner at Briarwood, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Thanks very much for your kind review....we look forward to seeing you again soon with your 4-legged friend!...cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Loved this place with the proximity to restaurants being just few hundred metres away and The wineries were 15 minutes drive. Cozy place with fire setup and iPad with complimentary wi fi. Best option when staying in Grey Town. The toiletries too were top notch which goes to show the level of detailing. Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Pritish27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain S, Owner at Briarwood, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you Pritish for your kind words. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay...regards Iain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at Briarwood for one night and were delighted with every aspect of our time. The rooms are beautiful and the attention to detail is faultless. The gardens are wonderfully presented. The host (Ian) is friendly and knows the town well. The fine touches like an i-pad and a well appointed kitchen make the stay relaxing and a home away from home. You won't be disappointed here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vincentarbuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain S, Owner at Briarwood, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at Briarwood. I am really pleased that you enjoyed yourselves and I hope you come back and visit us in Greytown!....regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had one night at Briarwood and wished we could have stayed on. One of the best places we have ever stayed. A beautifully appointed room with all you could ever need. We had the secluded studio at the back on the property. Managed to get a last minute great deal on wotif.com too. Don't miss out on staying at this exceptional hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoutiqueWannaBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain S, Owner at Briarwood, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience of Briarwood. I'm delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.....kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

As others have noted, the amenities such as Ipods and Ipads provided really make this a convenient stop. The property is gorgeous and impeccably maintained. It's comfortable and decorated with great taste. The art collection (we had two suites) is modern and interesting and thoughtfully currated. We found the owners recommendations in town to be spot-on. Our only disappointment was in only having one night to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShanghaiJululu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain S, Owner at Briarwood, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

I am so pleased you had a great stay - thank you for choosing Briarwood as your quick Wairarapa escape ...next time stay a couple of days!...cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greytown
0.4 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#1 of 3 in Greytown
170 reviews
11.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
9.9 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wyett House
Wyett House
#2 of 4 in Greytown
28 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briarwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarwood

Address: 21 Main Street, Greytown, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Greytown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Greytown
Price Range: $182 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Briarwood 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Briarwood provides 3 apartment suites combining a perfect balance between urban chic and Victorian elegance. Briarwood has a Qualmark 5 star rating and has been praised by international travelers and New Zealanders alike.Located at the northern end of Greytown, Briarwood is an easy 5 minute stroll to shops and cafes. You can shop, eat and coffee the day away! Briarwood is also the perfect spot to take in the wider Wairarapa assets - sunshine, wine and smiles is just the start of it all.Enjoy stunning accommodation where the Briarwood team will ensure you have the most pleasurable stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Briarwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing