We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in all respects”
Review of Briarwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Briarwood
Khandallah Welling 6441
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding in all respects”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at Briarwood for one night and were delighted with every aspect of our time. The rooms are beautiful and the attention to detail is faultless. The gardens are wonderfully presented. The host (Ian) is friendly and knows the town well. The fine touches like an i-pad and a well appointed kitchen make the stay relaxing and a home away from home. You won't be disappointed here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain S, Owner at Briarwood, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at Briarwood. I am really pleased that you enjoyed yourselves and I hope you come back and visit us in Greytown!....regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had one night at Briarwood and wished we could have stayed on. One of the best places we have ever stayed. A beautifully appointed room with all you could ever need. We had the secluded studio at the back on the property. Managed to get a last minute great deal on wotif.com too. Don't miss out on staying at this exceptional hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoutiqueWannaBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain S, Owner at Briarwood, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience of Briarwood. I'm delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.....kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

As others have noted, the amenities such as Ipods and Ipads provided really make this a convenient stop. The property is gorgeous and impeccably maintained. It's comfortable and decorated with great taste. The art collection (we had two suites) is modern and interesting and thoughtfully currated. We found the owners recommendations in town to be spot-on. Our only disappointment was in only having one night to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShanghaiJululu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain S, Owner at Briarwood, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
I am so pleased you had a great stay - thank you for choosing Briarwood as your quick Wairarapa escape ...next time stay a couple of days!...cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2012

What an amazing stay we had here. Right from the start of the booking process, Iain was helpful and accommodating. The space was tastefully decorated and furnished thoughtfully, and with an amazing garden setting out the back. Lovely breakfast to boot!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain S, Owner at Briarwood, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words Hanna - we look forward to seeing you again soon - cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed in the studio about two weeks ago, and everything from the owner's welcome and tour, to the quality and cleanliness of the room made an extremely positive impression on us, and made this a quality stay. There are free in house movies, an iPod player, and a good selection of cds. The bathrobes, towels, and bathroom amenities were wonderful. There is plenty of room behind a separating wall at the back of the studio to store bags, hang clothes etc., and I thought that this was a great idea. I also loved the art on the walls. Very different and wonderful. Briarwood is something not to be missed in Greytown! One of the best experiences ever.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain S, Owner at Briarwood, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thanks Adam - we are very pleased that you enjoyed your break at Briarwood. Thank you for taking time to write a review, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future...cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This exceeded our expectations. The rooms were stylishly decorated, luxurious but also comfortable, and small details like the ipad appreciated.
The welcome from the owner was lovely. He was happy to take the time to give us recommendations on where to eat. It was nice to be able to walk down the road to the restaurants.
We didn't get a chance to try out the claw-feet bath, but it looked lovely and the shower was great along with the nice toiletries and generous towels.
The late checkout really added to the experience.
We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We were in the downstairs queen suite - it was just lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelBeeNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain S, Owner at Briarwood, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Hi RachelBeeNZ - thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Greytown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

It would be hard to find a better presented self-contained place to stay. We appreciated the high quality furnishings, ambience, art on the lounge wall, and the free use of an i-pad. Bathroom is attractive, modern and clean with great towels. The TV is a bit small, and we could hear noise and footsteps from upstairs for a while, but it stopped at night. We had the king suite and felt that the bed is probably in need of replacing. Serious 'roll together' in the middle suggests the springs have seen better days - we both had sore backs in the morning. We would have informed the owner privately but didn't see a feedback form and you don't see the owner after he has checked you in. You just close the door behind you when you leave. Don't let this put you off - its a really lovely place and I'm sure we will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonAbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain S, Owner at Briarwood, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Dear MonAbri – thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review on your recent stay at Briarwood.
I’m sorry to hear that you had a less than comfortable nights sleep. To date we have had nothing but positive comments about the level of comfort our beds offer in all our suites. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and rest assured we will investigate further and will absolutely take appropriate action.
The type of accommodation we offer is self contained and serviced and as such we try to ensure our guests privacy during their stay. Our guests are encouraged to check out at their leisure and we try to keep this process as hassle-free as possible.
We do hope you will consider us again when planning your next get-away, Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greytown
0.4 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#1 of 3 in Greytown
169 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
220 reviews
9.4 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wyett House
Wyett House
#2 of 4 in Greytown
28 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Saddlery
The Saddlery
#3 of 6 in Greytown
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briarwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarwood

Property: Briarwood
Address: 21 Main Street, Greytown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Greytown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Greytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Briarwood 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Briarwood provides 3 apartment suites combining a perfect balance between urban chic and Victorian elegance. Briarwood has a Qualmark 5 star rating and has been praised by international travelers and New Zealanders alike.Located at the northern end of Greytown, Briarwood is an easy 5 minute stroll to shops and cafes. You can shop, eat and coffee the day away! Briarwood is also the perfect spot to take in the wider Wairarapa assets - sunshine, wine and smiles is just the start of it all.Enjoy stunning accommodation where the Briarwood team will ensure you have the most pleasurable stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Briarwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing