We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely mini break in Martinborough!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peppers Parehua Martinborough

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely mini break in Martinborough!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

I stayed for two nights last week in one of the Winemakers Cottages and very much enjoyed my stay at Peppers Parehura. I found all of the staff I dealt with very attentive and felt that a lot of attention was paid to detail. I loved both breakfasts that I had there (these were included in the room rate), and found these to be most plentiful. On the last morning that I stayed there the restaurant was closed for breakfast because there were minimal guest numbers so I had my breakfast delivered to my room..I was very impressed with this service! I cooked my dinner in one of the nights I stayed and found the kitchen to be well-supplied with all of the equipment that I needed. Loved the nice, cosy warm fire too! Overall, a very lovely, relaxing experience that I would totally recommend to anybody looking for a little break away!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muchtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Kia Ora,

Thank you for your lovely comments on Peppers Parehua Martinborough, the team are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your Getaway with us and we all look forward to hosting you again soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    140
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
38
353
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Beautiful room, friendly staff- hard bed ruined our stay unfortunately.
My partner and I had terrible sleeps and both suffered terrible back pain due to extremely hard mattress. Spa bath didnt work , but everything else was lovely. If you like a very hard bed then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiminwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Kia Ora,

Thank you for your review, it is disappointing to hear that you found the bed hard, this was mentioned to us after your first night. Our beds are very new and we don't often ever get complaints about them. We do hope that the double continental quilts that were layered on the mattress for you under the sheets for the duration of your stay improved your sleep.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in March for our wedding night and it was amazing! We stayed in the secluded cottage with a lovely country side view.
When we arrived (after midnight) the fire was roaring (was a chilly summers day). The under floor heating was great, the sheepskins rugs, the hot tub were awesome. We had breakfast in the morning with pretty much everything you wanted and was a great to start to life as a married couple. Will be back!

Helpful?
Thank MacpacSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Kia Ora ,

Congratulations on your recent marriage!.

Thank you for your recent review about Peppers Parehua Martinborough, the team are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We all look forward to welcoming you on your next stay.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
180 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Husband and I stayed one night at Peppers Parehua in a winemakers cottage(21). $187 incl full cooked buffet breakfast. Thought it was an excellent deal. The room was large and had everything you could want but the best things were the gas fire(stunning on a cool evening) and the large spa bath. Good kitchen facilities and large comfy bed but if I was being picky I would say pillows are a bit hard. Did not dine there in the evening but next time we will. Would happily recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Kia Ora,

Thank you for your review on Peppers Parehua Martinborough, the team are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we all look forward to welcoming you on your next stay.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Great staff. lovely restaurant,relaxing quiet location. Stayed in a 'Winemaker's Cottage'. Loved the gas/coal fire! Only minor points were a limited restaurant menu compared to other vinery locations I have stayed in, and perhaps the prices compared to other places. However, would certainly stay there again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Kia Ora ,

Thank you for your comments on Peppers Parehua Martinborough, the team are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we all look forward to welcoming you on your next stay.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

If you have a reason to spend a lovely weekend at peppers you absolutely should. Its secluded and quiet and romantic. The rooms are lovely and cosy.
Our room had a wooden hot tub and a roaring fire a huge big king size bed, underfloor heating through the bathroom, spa bath....very nice.

OK however I was not won over by the restaurant at all, heavy city prices for meals that were at best ok. The restaurant has a very good online presence and the reviews we read were all very good but frankly the menu is not great, the entrees were hearty country fare, the mains.... well the beef was far too tough and got sent back, the lamb totally overcooked and gamey.
To be fair we were not charged for the beef and I didn't follow up on the lamb. but Meh.
There is some lovely restaurants in Martinborough like "Medici" so don't limit your choices for convenience sake.

Otherwise Peppers is really great and you will love it!!

Room Tip: Get a room with a hot tub!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Our-NZ-holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Kia Ora,

Thank you for your review on Peppers Parehua Martinborough. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found the room to be very comfortable.

We all look forward to welcoming you on your next stay and hopefully enjoying our new menu which was launched yesterday.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Our cottage was very cosy and relaxing, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the surroundings were peaceful and made for a great retreat away from the real world, I do recommend this place highly, but for a few "little" issues that for the cost of a weekend away here were just a slight let down on the whole experience. The buffet breakfast was a bit on the basic side for variety and with 40 minutes still to go before breakfast service finished the pastries were not topped up, although on request they would have got me some, but not the point. Could not relax in the hot tub as the assault of bugs was unstoppable so maybe some citronella candles or cutting back the plant growth might be advised. There were a few more "small" issues, but all in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 35lizzy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

The team here at Peppers Parehua Martinborough are so pleased to here you had an "almost perfect" stay here, we have noted some of your concerns.

We enjoyed having you here and hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
0.7 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
21.2 mi away
Wharekauhau Country Estate
Wharekauhau Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Featherston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
The Old Manse
The Old Manse
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pinot Villas
Pinot Villas
#3 of 8 in Martinborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Parehua Martinborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Parehua Martinborough

Property: Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Address: 52 New York Street, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand (Formerly Parehua Country Estate)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Martinborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Parehua Martinborough 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 5 acres of park-like grounds amongst the internationally renowned wineries of the Wairarapa wine region at Martinborough, Peppers Parehua Martinborough boasts panoramic views stretching to the Tararua Ranges. At Peppers Parehua Martinborough you have the choice of designer accommodation including Winemakers Cottages, Secluded Cottages, Woodland Villas, plus Garden and Lakeside Cottages. All Peppers Parehua Martinborough accommodation is contemporarily designed and features full self-catering facilities, gas fireplaces, spa baths and in-room selections of gourmet treats and regional wines. Peppers Parehua Martinborough is an easy 10 minute walk from the Martinborough Wine Village and is the perfect retreat for unwinding and relaxing. If something more energetic is on the cards, guests can enjoy the all-weather tennis court and swimming pool. In the evening the Pavilion's bar is the place to be for pre-dinner drinks, followed by dinner in the restaurant. Our dinner menu showcases the finest local produce, with the picturesque trees and lawns of Peppers Parehua Martinborough providing a fitting backdrop. All children younger than 2 years can stay free of charge when using existing beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Peppers Parehua Martinborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parehua Country Estate Hotel Martinborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing