We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxurious base to explore Martinborough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Certificate of Excellence
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A luxurious base to explore Martinborough”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The winemakers cottage nestled in the attractive landscaped grounds of Peppers resort is the perfect place to stay while you experience the delights of Martinborough and its award winning wines.
We grabbed a bike (with useful basket in front) and spent the day exploring the many delightful adjoining vineyards and wineries. Back to the swimming pool and tennis court to work off the wine tasting and create an appetitie for dinner.
Our cottage was beautiful, spacious and elegantly furnished. We didn't have time to use the fully equipped kitchen but noted how useful that would be for a longer stay. It was too warm for the open fire but it would have been so welcome on an autumn or winter visit.
Dinner at the Pavilion was very good and breakfast (included) even better. The fresh fruit was outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Kia Ora,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and are very happy to hear you had a lovely experience at Peppers Parehua and the Pavillion our restaurant.

We do hope to see you again at Peppers Parehua in the very near future.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    150
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
47
401
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a special weekend away. Fantastic rooms with separate kitchen and lounge area. Our room had a great private terrace overlooking the country side. Great spot to enjoy a romantic bottle of wine. Handy to all the wineries. staff very friendly. Resort very private and quite.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GM007_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your time her at Peppers Parehua.
We hope to see you again soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2013

drove to martinbourgh for a break away to celebrate our 25th anniversary.stayed in peppers parehua in a villa which is in the heart of the winery country.loved the villa with its balcony,and its cosy gas fire that looks like its real.great breakfast with plenty of selection.I would go back again. probably the only down side is the air- blast all through the day to scare away birds off the vines.but we were out most days and they don't have it going off at night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Kia Ora,

Thank you for your review on Peppers Parehua Martinborough. We are very pleased to hear you had a lovely 25th wedding anniversary - congratulations!
We hope to see you back again(if not before) your next anniversary.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at Peppers Parehua recently.

The cottage was very comfortable with gorgeous rural views. We spent one afternoon on our little deck playing Scrabble, drinking local wine (from the Martinborough Wine Centre) and watching the cows in the neighbouring paddock, and it was just a great way to relax. Very comfortable bed and lovely big spa bath. The window seat was a great place to curl up with a book.

We had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant - the food was excellent and the service was wonderful. There is a free guest laundry which was very much appreciated. The town centre is an easy 10 minute walk away.

After a busy week on the road this was the perfect place to stop and take time out. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Kia Ora,

Sincere thanks for your warm review of our property.

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time here and your experience in our restaurant.
We look forward to hosting you here at Peppers Parehua again soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the rooms - more like one bedroom apartments with comfy sofas in the living rooms.

It was very warm the weekend we visited. We found a fireplace, electric blankets, heated Towel racks, an electric space heater ...but no fan or air con. We were roasting for the first few hours and had to open everything up to try to cool the place down.

The Internet is terrible. Useless. 15 free minutes Per day, and then a system that didnt allow for full day extension. Rubbish. Apparently the Internet service provider had been called, but it was annoying as we had a lot of local wineries and restaurants we wanted to explore online before we visited. The front desk were sympathetic and we appreciated their attention, inspite of the limitations of their system. Fix your bloody Internet!

The breakfast was fine. It was nice to have a choice of Continental only vs Full cooked. We ate at the restaurant for dinner once and it was superb.

Martinborough is gorgeous. A great weekend away trip out of Wellington.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jetlagwoofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Kia Ora,

Thank you for your above comments.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your breakfast and dinner in our Pavillion restaurant.
We do apologize that the internet was "playing up" during your stay hopefully this will not happen again should you return.

We look forward to hosting you again in the future,

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canthox
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We first stayed at Parehua in 2009 and have been back six times since then.
On the outskirts of the pleasant wine growing town of Martinborough the hotel has a small lake with ducks surrounded by trees and an exquisite view across the valley pastureland where the only sounds you'll hear are occasional trucks coming down the road or the cows trooping off to be milked.
The cottages are extremely well equipped for self catering with a gas open fire for the cool evenings.
The beds guarantee a good night's sleep and the heated floor of the bathroom makes getting up on cold mornings a pleasure.
We have stayed in each type of room, those with a hot tub on the balcony are particularly excellent in midwinter when you can get up and watch the sun rise from the tub with a chilly face but everything else toasty warm.
We live in Sydney but whenever we want to just lock ourselves in, drink wine and relax for a few days (playing lots of Scrabble with which each room is equipped) this is the place we go. In the highly improbable event of stir craziness the region has quite a few drives and walks as well as an abundance of vineyards and local producers.
The staff are all very good with Queenie being our particularly outstanding favourite.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good, more money gives more square footage, a better view or both plus a hot tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canthox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The team is very pleased to hear you thoroughly enjoy it here at Peppers Parehua Martinborough and are a returning guest of six times. Thank you for choosing us to be your preferred favourite resort to relax.

The team here at Peppers Parehua look forward to having you back again soon and to making sure your stay is just as enjoyable as all the previous ones.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed in a villa with our three children for a big treat for two nights to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday and it was just wonderful. While I would usually recommend this as a place for couples to go, the facilities for our kids were great. We played tennis, swam in the pool, played petanque, played cricket in our back garden, had a soak in the hot tub, had delicious breakfasts and enjoyed a self-catering picnic on our lawn all without leaving the property.

I just love the decor on this place, as it is a true Kiwi experience with the fire, the ceramics and soft furnishings being very natural and New Zealand in style. This place is a true get away from it all, superbly comfortable and very quiet. A perfect place for a short break away from life's busyness.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Kia Ora,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.

The team here at Peppers Parehua Martinborough are very pleased to hear you had a very enjoyable 40th, we are very fortuanate that we do have lovely grounds and ample activities to keep everyone pleased.

We look very forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
0.7 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
23.1 mi away
Wharekauhau Country Estate
Wharekauhau Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Featherston
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
1.3 mi away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Pinot Villas
Pinot Villas
#3 of 8 in Martinborough
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Parehua Martinborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Parehua Martinborough

Property: Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Address: 52 New York Street, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand (Formerly Parehua Country Estate)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Martinborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Parehua Martinborough 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 5 acres of park-like grounds amongst the internationally renowned wineries of the Wairarapa wine region at Martinborough, Peppers Parehua Martinborough boasts panoramic views stretching to the Tararua Ranges. At Peppers Parehua Martinborough you have the choice of designer accommodation including Winemakers Cottages, Secluded Cottages, Woodland Villas, plus Garden and Lakeside Cottages. All Peppers Parehua Martinborough accommodation is contemporarily designed and features full self-catering facilities, gas fireplaces, spa baths and in-room selections of gourmet treats and regional wines. Peppers Parehua Martinborough is an easy 10 minute walk from the Martinborough Wine Village and is the perfect retreat for unwinding and relaxing. If something more energetic is on the cards, guests can enjoy the all-weather tennis court and swimming pool. In the evening the Pavilion's bar is the place to be for pre-dinner drinks, followed by dinner in the restaurant. Our dinner menu showcases the finest local produce, with the picturesque trees and lawns of Peppers Parehua Martinborough providing a fitting backdrop. All children younger than 2 years can stay free of charge when using existing beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Peppers Parehua Martinborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parehua Country Estate Hotel Martinborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing