We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“anniversary get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“anniversary get-away”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

drove to martinbourgh for a break away to celebrate our 25th anniversary.stayed in peppers parehua in a villa which is in the heart of the winery country.loved the villa with its balcony,and its cosy gas fire that looks like its real.great breakfast with plenty of selection.I would go back again. probably the only down side is the air- blast all through the day to scare away birds off the vines.but we were out most days and they don't have it going off at night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Kia Ora,

Thank you for your review on Peppers Parehua Martinborough. We are very pleased to hear you had a lovely 25th wedding anniversary - congratulations!
We hope to see you back again(if not before) your next anniversary.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    155
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
47
408
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at Peppers Parehua recently.

The cottage was very comfortable with gorgeous rural views. We spent one afternoon on our little deck playing Scrabble, drinking local wine (from the Martinborough Wine Centre) and watching the cows in the neighbouring paddock, and it was just a great way to relax. Very comfortable bed and lovely big spa bath. The window seat was a great place to curl up with a book.

We had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant - the food was excellent and the service was wonderful. There is a free guest laundry which was very much appreciated. The town centre is an easy 10 minute walk away.

After a busy week on the road this was the perfect place to stop and take time out. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Kia Ora,

Sincere thanks for your warm review of our property.

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time here and your experience in our restaurant.
We look forward to hosting you here at Peppers Parehua again soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the rooms - more like one bedroom apartments with comfy sofas in the living rooms.

It was very warm the weekend we visited. We found a fireplace, electric blankets, heated Towel racks, an electric space heater ...but no fan or air con. We were roasting for the first few hours and had to open everything up to try to cool the place down.

The Internet is terrible. Useless. 15 free minutes Per day, and then a system that didnt allow for full day extension. Rubbish. Apparently the Internet service provider had been called, but it was annoying as we had a lot of local wineries and restaurants we wanted to explore online before we visited. The front desk were sympathetic and we appreciated their attention, inspite of the limitations of their system. Fix your bloody Internet!

The breakfast was fine. It was nice to have a choice of Continental only vs Full cooked. We ate at the restaurant for dinner once and it was superb.

Martinborough is gorgeous. A great weekend away trip out of Wellington.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jetlagwoofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Kia Ora,

Thank you for your above comments.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your breakfast and dinner in our Pavillion restaurant.
We do apologize that the internet was "playing up" during your stay hopefully this will not happen again should you return.

We look forward to hosting you again in the future,

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canthox
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We first stayed at Parehua in 2009 and have been back six times since then.
On the outskirts of the pleasant wine growing town of Martinborough the hotel has a small lake with ducks surrounded by trees and an exquisite view across the valley pastureland where the only sounds you'll hear are occasional trucks coming down the road or the cows trooping off to be milked.
The cottages are extremely well equipped for self catering with a gas open fire for the cool evenings.
The beds guarantee a good night's sleep and the heated floor of the bathroom makes getting up on cold mornings a pleasure.
We have stayed in each type of room, those with a hot tub on the balcony are particularly excellent in midwinter when you can get up and watch the sun rise from the tub with a chilly face but everything else toasty warm.
We live in Sydney but whenever we want to just lock ourselves in, drink wine and relax for a few days (playing lots of Scrabble with which each room is equipped) this is the place we go. In the highly improbable event of stir craziness the region has quite a few drives and walks as well as an abundance of vineyards and local producers.
The staff are all very good with Queenie being our particularly outstanding favourite.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good, more money gives more square footage, a better view or both plus a hot tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canthox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The team is very pleased to hear you thoroughly enjoy it here at Peppers Parehua Martinborough and are a returning guest of six times. Thank you for choosing us to be your preferred favourite resort to relax.

The team here at Peppers Parehua look forward to having you back again soon and to making sure your stay is just as enjoyable as all the previous ones.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed in a villa with our three children for a big treat for two nights to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday and it was just wonderful. While I would usually recommend this as a place for couples to go, the facilities for our kids were great. We played tennis, swam in the pool, played petanque, played cricket in our back garden, had a soak in the hot tub, had delicious breakfasts and enjoyed a self-catering picnic on our lawn all without leaving the property.

I just love the decor on this place, as it is a true Kiwi experience with the fire, the ceramics and soft furnishings being very natural and New Zealand in style. This place is a true get away from it all, superbly comfortable and very quiet. A perfect place for a short break away from life's busyness.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Kia Ora,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.

The team here at Peppers Parehua Martinborough are very pleased to hear you had a very enjoyable 40th, we are very fortuanate that we do have lovely grounds and ample activities to keep everyone pleased.

We look very forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We booked the Peppers "Gourmet Trail Package" which included accommodation, breakfast and a tasting platter of local delicacies. Lovely surrounds, vineyards right next door and only 15 minute walk into town. We stayed in a "Winemakers' Cottage" and these are scattered around the property, all very private, peacefully and quiet. The cottage itself was fabulous, fitted with a push-button fireplace (didn't need it as it was an unusually balmy 30 degrees when we arrived), bi-fold doors leading onto a little patio, great bathroom with a deep spa bath and a fully equipped kitchen. The property also has a swimming pool and an on-site restaurant. Martinborough is lovely with a number of places to eat or you can get some provisions at the local supermarket, a nice bottle of the local pinot and enjoy it back in your Winemakers' Cottage. Make sure you visit the Martinborough Wine Centre where the knowledgeable staff will put a tasting of local wines together for you. Or you can visit the individual vineyards by foot or bike.

PS. Considering that the day tours visiting the Martinborough region from Wellington are quite expensive, we could hire a car and stay for a couple of nights for just about the same cost. This way you can really experience everything this fabulous region has to offer, including a side trip to Greytown (15 minutes by car), a cute little town ideal for spending an afternoon.... lots of quaint and quirky shops and a fabulous French Patisserie .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank on-honeymoon-forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

The team here at Peppers Parehua Martinborough are so pleased to here you had a lovely peaceful and quiet private getaway.

We thoroughly enjoyed having you here and hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Excellent rooms which are stylish, functional and comfortable.
Although we only stayed on night on our way back to Wellington, you could quite easily stay here a week, while exploring the area.
Rooms are private and the hotel appeared to be kid free! So much peace and quiet!
There is also an open gas fireplace, which would be a hit in the winter months.

Room Tip: If you can get a room at the far end (19, 20) you will have your own private grassed backyard area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The team is very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay here at Peppers Parehua Martinborough and found our cottages to be stylish, functional and comfortable.

The team here at Peppers Parehua look forward to having you back again soon for your much needed week escape :)

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
0.7 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
23.1 mi away
Wharekauhau Country Estate
Wharekauhau Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Featherston
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
1.9 mi away
Brackenridge Country Retreat
Brackenridge Country Retreat
#4 of 8 in Martinborough
102 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pinot Villas
Pinot Villas
#3 of 8 in Martinborough
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Parehua Martinborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Parehua Martinborough

Property: Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Address: 52 New York Street, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand (Formerly Parehua Country Estate)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Martinborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Parehua Martinborough 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 5 acres of park-like grounds amongst the internationally renowned wineries of the Wairarapa wine region at Martinborough, Peppers Parehua Martinborough boasts panoramic views stretching to the Tararua Ranges. At Peppers Parehua Martinborough you have the choice of designer accommodation including Winemakers Cottages, Secluded Cottages, Woodland Villas, plus Garden and Lakeside Cottages. All Peppers Parehua Martinborough accommodation is contemporarily designed and features full self-catering facilities, gas fireplaces, spa baths and in-room selections of gourmet treats and regional wines. Peppers Parehua Martinborough is an easy 10 minute walk from the Martinborough Wine Village and is the perfect retreat for unwinding and relaxing. If something more energetic is on the cards, guests can enjoy the all-weather tennis court and swimming pool. In the evening the Pavilion's bar is the place to be for pre-dinner drinks, followed by dinner in the restaurant. Our dinner menu showcases the finest local produce, with the picturesque trees and lawns of Peppers Parehua Martinborough providing a fitting backdrop. All children younger than 2 years can stay free of charge when using existing beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Peppers Parehua Martinborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parehua Country Estate Hotel Martinborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing