We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The new Peppers is outstanding.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peppers Parehua Martinborough

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The new Peppers is outstanding.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Don't confuse this for the old Peppers Martinborough. This new estate is outstanding. We had the Garden Suite. It was an affordable yet luxurious Eden. There were heating pads in the King feather bed, a full kitchen, a welcome charcuterie tray and wine, large modern bathroom (which should have had heated floors), fireplace with comfy couches in a wonderful idyllic location. Our deck looked out toward stunning fields and views. The breakfasts were excellent. We did not dine here, opting to check out Cool Change in town (which I also recommend). Great location for touring the vineyards or just getting away for a weekened. My only regret is that we stayed 2 days; wish we’d stayed longer. Loved it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear you had a peaceful and relaxing weekend here at Peppers Parehua Martinborough and found our lakeside cottages to be well appointed.

The team here at Peppers Parehua look forward to having you back again soon and to making sure your stay is just as relaxing as before.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    139
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
38
351
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We just returned from a 16-day trip through New Zealand and this was our favorite hotel stay. We stayed in the Lakeside Cottage and the beautiful setting was so peaceful. The room was large and comfortable, with plenty of places to put our things (something missing from many of the places we stayed), and easy to access outlets for recharging our phones and camera. And how could you not love the fireplace into both the living area and bedroom - with a simple switch to turn it on?! We were so exhausted after driving all day in the rain that we really didn't want to get dressed for dinner. We went to the bar and asked if we could just eat a little something there and they asked if we would just like something sent to our room - how thoughtful. So we spent the evening in our cottage, snacking on a cheese plate in front of the fire. Perfect! The only down side to our stay here is that we were only scheduled to stay one night!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank broddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Kia Ora

Thank you for your great remarks about Peppers Parehua, we are overjoyed to hear that you enjoyed your experience here.

We would be very happy to welcome you back and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Recently stayed two days at Pepers Parehua. We stayed in the Wine Cottage, outstanding!!! One of the best we have ever stayed at. We stayed in the Wine Cottage. Huge room with great facilities, fire underfloor heating, huge show and the facilities wereas clean as. the grounds were well cared for, open but private. Staff were very friendly and helfull. great all round. Highly recomended

Room Tip: All the rooms are GREAT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NZdinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Kia Ora

Sincere thanks for your warm review of our property. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience with us here at Peppers Parehua Martinborough.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our experience with Parehua was just wonderful! I had organised to propose to my partner the weekend we stayed at Parehua and had a specific idea in my head as to how it would go down. The wonderful receptionist - Jess was so helpful throughout booking and could answer every question I had- being a girl doing the proposing there is a lot of questions!

We stayed in one of the Secluded Cottages which by the way were absolutely heavenly - we would move in any day! Appointed with lovely furniture and artwork it really was like we never wanted to leave! The outdoor spa was so neat and it was great how much privacy you got and how peaceful it was!

The food was devine! and we really love dining a la carte!

Could improve on the tv reception but really who goes away to watch tele...

All requests were carried out and the attention to detail was spot on by all staff members that helped. The staff were truely amazing and so helpful! Its really wonderful to stay at a venue with such lovely people, and also to mention unjudging or discriminating staff being a lesbian couple getting engaged!
Thanks,

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Kia Ora

Sincere thanks for your warm review of our property and congratulations again on your engagement. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at Peppers Parehua Martinborough.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
149 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We found about Peppers through one of the discount offer websites and we added additonal days to the offer.

The rooms were well decorated and comfortable. The private deck was a bouns.

We also had dinner is the resturant and enjoyed the food and as you expect the wine list was extensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The team are thrilled to hear you had an excellant weekend here at Peppers Parehua Martinborough and found our Pavillion restaurant an enjoyable experience.

We look forward to having you back again soon and to making sure your stay is just as comfortable as before.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I recently took some friends to stay here for the weekend. We stayed in a Woodland Villa which was well appointed and comfortable. The bedrooms were large as were the ensuite bathrooms.The open living, kitchen and dining area was great and overlooked a private garden. It was very private and quiet. The art and little touches around the villa made it special.
The grounds have been well landscaped and the other cottages positioned to ensure privacy.
The breakfast in the morning was delicious. We didn't dine at night but had heard good reviews. We dined in town one night and cooked in the Villa the second night.
It is a short walk in to the village and the vineyards are nearby. The staff went out of their way to make sure we were looked after. Thanks Peppers Parehau.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJS22061959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The team is very pleased to hear you had an excellant weekend here at Peppers Parehua Martinborough and found our woodland villas to be well appointed and comfortable. We are glad to hear you found the breakfast delicious.

The team here at Peppers Parehua look forward to having you back again soon and to making sure your stay is just as enjoyable as before.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were very pleased with the service we received here, and the upgrade was fantastic. the rooms are truly beautiful, with lovely linen and appointments. the fireplace is a wonderful touch. We hired bikes and did the tour around the local wineries on a fantastic sunny day, which was a highlight. the staff did go out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed and went to great lengths to help us get our ipod working too....

Room Tip: The lakeside cottage is lovely, and they have a private patio also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toni b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We are glad to hear you enjoyed a romantic weekend here at Peppers Parehua Martinborough.

We look forward to hosting you again soon and to making sure your stay is just as comfortable as before.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
0.7 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
21.2 mi away
Wharekauhau Country Estate
Wharekauhau Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Featherston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#1 of 3 in Greytown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
The Old Manse
The Old Manse
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Parehua Martinborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Parehua Martinborough

Property: Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Address: 52 New York Street, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand (Formerly Parehua Country Estate)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Martinborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Parehua Martinborough 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 5 acres of park-like grounds amongst the internationally renowned wineries of the Wairarapa wine region at Martinborough, Peppers Parehua Martinborough boasts panoramic views stretching to the Tararua Ranges. At Peppers Parehua Martinborough you have the choice of designer accommodation including Winemakers Cottages, Secluded Cottages, Woodland Villas, plus Garden and Lakeside Cottages. All Peppers Parehua Martinborough accommodation is contemporarily designed and features full self-catering facilities, gas fireplaces, spa baths and in-room selections of gourmet treats and regional wines. Peppers Parehua Martinborough is an easy 10 minute walk from the Martinborough Wine Village and is the perfect retreat for unwinding and relaxing. If something more energetic is on the cards, guests can enjoy the all-weather tennis court and swimming pool. In the evening the Pavilion's bar is the place to be for pre-dinner drinks, followed by dinner in the restaurant. Our dinner menu showcases the finest local produce, with the picturesque trees and lawns of Peppers Parehua Martinborough providing a fitting backdrop. All children younger than 2 years can stay free of charge when using existing beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Peppers Parehua Martinborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parehua Country Estate Hotel Martinborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing