We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They really look after you”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were booked in a few weekends back however terrible weather meant we couldn't cross the Rimutakas from Wellington. Even though we had a non-refundable changeable reservation through wotif they still let us transfer us and even upgraded us with no extra charge! The place we stayed in was lovely; spa bath, gas fire, very comfortable bed. We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caleb5268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We are very happy to hear that you had a great experience with us and enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (578)
There are newer reviews for Peppers Parehua Martinborough
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

551 - 557 of 578 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

My partner and I came over to Martinborough from Wellington for a night away and day out wine tasting. When we checked in we were informed that our room had been upgraded (!) and we were given a secluded cottage. The cottage was gorgeous, it had all the trimmings, an outdoor hot tub and a fire place. The view from the deck and hot tub was great - over looking the lake and out to the hills. There were only a couple of things that stopped the experience from being 5-star, the most glaringly obvious was the tv reception! Even though we were on holiday we still wanted to watch the All Blacks match but the reception on almost every channel was shocking, however this wasn't enough to dampen a really lovely stay and we would definitely return as it is a great spot.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Secluded Cottage - room 10 definitely a winner!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We are really thrilled you had a great experience with us and enjoyed your stay.

We do apologise about the TV reception and when you return again we hope to most certainly have this "slight glitch" with some rooms tv reception rectified.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I decided to treat ourselves to an overnight away at Peppers Martinborough and it was the best thing we have done in absolutely ages. We had professional and efficient service at every point during the approximately 36 hour period we spent at the hotel and found the Pavilion restaurant to be of the highest standard. The Winemakers Cottage was immaculate with everything you could need – including the kitchen sink (and hairdryer). It was wonderfully warm with both an open gas fireplace as well as an oil fin heater, which was turned on to pre-heat the room for our arrival. The room had a very good mini bar as well as the usual tea and coffee, and included a jug of fresh milk. We took the opportunity to relax and unwind on the small private deck overlooking the duck ponds, followed by dinner in the restaurant. This had to be one of the most tranquil places we have been in a long time. We will certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Stand-alone private rooms are available on request. Most rooms appear to consist of two sitting side...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LvdW16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Kia Ora,

Thanks for your lovely comments about our property. We're really pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable experience at Pepeprs Parehua.

We certainly look very forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of dining at Pavillions Restaurant last Saturday evening.

We were provided with wonderful service by Tina and her team.

The three courses we enjoyed were lick-smackingly good, and wine matched with gorgeous local wines.

All in all a thoroughly pleasant evening, and recommended to anyone staying in the Wairarapa region and looking for a great place to dine.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob1247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Kia Ora,

Thank you for your review on our Pavillions restaurant.

Our team and kitchen are very happy to hear you enjoyed your dinner and found the meals to be, "lick-smackingly good"
We hope our new menu had many great choices all which can be matched with gorgeous local wines.

We hope to welcome you back again soon,

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I have just been to dinner at Pavilions at Parehua and am not impressed to say the least! We are locals and had seen the restaurant advertised on billboards around town and had decided to give it a go for a nice dinner out when my mother came up. Initially we were greeted with what room were we in which I guess is not the best start...we ordered wine local of course which was great and entrees which were nice. Then we waited....for our mains for over an hour which at some point were given a complimentary pallet cleanser which tasted like dish washing liquid which further angered the table. Our mains finally arrived and although I enjoyed mine the others were not impressed. Over cooked steak and salty pasta dishes were the downer of the evening. Throughout this experience we were never approached to see if we required more drinks and to see how our mains were! We did not really feel the need to pay for dessert as we had a very bitter taste in our mouths after this experience and then had to ask for our bill twice!! After having to go up to them in the end to pay our bill were ushered to reception to pay the bill and they had to unlock the reception area to do so!! All in all not a great experience! Don't advertise the restaurant if you cant handle the clientele! Quite pathetic! Do not recommend as a dinner choice for sure!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank millymollynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Kia ora,

Thank you for your comments although your recent experience was disappointing.

Having now contacted you directly, we were grateful of the opportunity to put our best foot forward in hosting you again. We trust this second occasion exceeded expectation and was a closer representation of the dining experience offered here at Peppers Parehua Martinborough.

We look forward to hosting you again soon,

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My partner and I came up to Martinborough on a Grab One lunch deal at Parehua.
We were greeted by a lovely American woman named Jen. She seated us at our table and we noticed they had an open fire with seating around it. She asked if we would like to have our wines and first course, sitting near the fire. How wonderful!.
She was very informational about the town and places to see. She said there was a beautiful drive up to Cape Palliser to see the fur seal colony or the lighthouse with 250 steps. If it wasn't raining we would have gone.
We ordered our mains, I had the blackened fish which was beautiful and my partner had the chicken. He did everything but lick the bowl clean. Let me tell you 5 stars all the way.
We asked if they were open for dinner and were advised only to in house guests but if we wanted to dine Jen said she would be more than happy to book us a table.
We arrived in Martinborough in a grey rainy day but left Parehua like it was a sunny summers day. We loved everything about this place and look forward to dining here in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sliceoflife10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable lunch.
You will be pleased to know we are now taking bookings for casuals to dine in our Pavillion restaurant for lunch and dinner.
Jen and the team here at Parehua look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Simply a lovely place. The individual lodges are spacious, cozy, with a nice fireplace and all amenities
Friendly staff made us feel welcome from he first moment. In the middle of the winter, it's a bit quiet (we seem to have the whole place to ourselves).
Love it , would like to stay longer and look forward to coming back.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank sbe_000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
0.7 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
23.1 mi away
Wharekauhau Country Estate
Wharekauhau Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Featherston
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Brackenridge Country Retreat
Brackenridge Country Retreat
#4 of 8 in Martinborough
106 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
The Old Manse
The Old Manse
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Parehua Martinborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Parehua Martinborough

Address: 52 New York Street, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand (Formerly Parehua Country Estate)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Martinborough
Price Range: $131 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Parehua Martinborough 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Parehua Martinborough you have the choice of designer accommodation including Winemakers Cottages, Secluded Cottages, Woodland Villas, plus Garden and Lakeside Cottages. All Peppers Parehua Martinborough accommodation is contemporarily designed and features full self-catering facilities, gas fireplaces, spa baths and in-room selections of gourmet treats and regional wines. Peppers Parehua Martinborough is an easy 10 minute walk from the Martinborough Wine Village and is the perfect retreat for unwinding and relaxing. If something more energetic is on the cards, guests can enjoy the all-weather tennis court and swimming pool. In the evening the Pavilion's bar is the place to be for pre-dinner drinks, followed by dinner in the restaurant. Our dinner menu showcases the finest local produce, with the picturesque trees and lawns of Peppers Parehua Martinborough providing a fitting backdrop. All children younger than 2 years can stay free of charge when using existing beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Parehua Martinborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parehua Country Estate Hotel Martinborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing