We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gatehouse at Margrain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Margrain Vineyard Villas
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The Gatehouse at Margrain”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in the Gatehouse, an old Villa which has been made into four separate rooms. We were a little disappointed as it was advertised as private, within walking distance to town, and with a cafe next door. There was very little privacy, we had to walk past another room (which opened out on to the verandah) to get to our room. We could hear the guy next door blowing his nose and another group of people decided to sit out on the lawn right outside our bedroom so we had to pull our drapes in the middle of the day. Disappointing. Town was a 15 minute walk away. The Cafe, despite being a holiday weekend in the middle of summer, it was shut by 5.30 pm at night which again was disappointing. The room itself was very cramped and the tea/coffee making facility more so being stuck in a corner with no light. Breakfast was in-room but it was too cold to sit outside and as there was one armchair, one of us had to sit on the bed to eat. The television did not work. Office hours were limited, so we left a note, but had no response. On check-in we asked for a recommendation for dinner and the receptionist tried a local restaurant but when the number was engaged, just handed it to me and told me to ring myself. I felt a little care and assistance to strangers in town might have been nice. Would we return? I don't think so.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liliannz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    29
    24
    12
    6
See reviews for
3
60
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Set in the vineyard with panoramic views of the Tararua Ranges and close to other world renowned Martinborough wineries, vineyards, restaurants and the Village Square these Villas make an ideal alternative for your visit to the Wairarapa.
Our villa was spacious with separate bathroom (open shower) and private deck overlooking the Huangarua River Valley.
It does need a refresh to realize its undoubted potential, especially the "noisey" fridge.
The continental breakfast provided was great.
Unfortunately, we did not have time to sample the wines...

Room Tip: Lower room numbers are quieter as further from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiGregNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Walking distance to many vineyards and the town centre. Very quiet and relaxing. Decor slightly dated now, and was a bit disappointed that our room had two single beds pushed together. Wine was lovely, and the cafe across the road does amazing breakfasts. Balcony was a plus. TV was tiny. All in all, not as polished as it could be. I am a big fan of a simple bed (king size with nice fluffy duvet), was particularly let down there unfortunately. This place has the potential to be something really special, just needs to be thrust into the 21st century with a stylish out-fit.

Room Tip: Perhaps request that your bed is an actual king.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smarty18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My partner and I stayed at this property in the Pinot Suite for two nights. It was the most expensive place we found at $340 per night but we were confident the cost would be well worth it. Unfortunately it wasn't. There wasn't anything wrong with the accommodation but it certainly wasn't anything special either. The breakfast was lacklustre, the room service only barely adequate and the staff polite without being helpful.

However, the Margrain vineyard offered a wonderful tasting and a delicious meal for us.

Room Tip: I would choose the cheapest possible room to get the most for your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PipGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
175 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Great service, felt 'looked after' as they manage the limited office hours extremely well. Great communication for if you arrive outside of office hours. Nothing was a problem, offered good advice on where to go and what to do; the continental in-room breakfast offered choices and was ample. Others comment on the wet floor bathroom - I liked not having a wet shower curtain flapping around my legs and yes, although the bathroom floor does get wet - villas are serviced daily, so all gets cleaned up. Villa balconies are sheltered, provide privacy and overlook farm land - very relaxing. If the location suited, I would certainly use their conference facilities in the future. Awesome service at the cellar door - well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Probably a villa closer to reception to avoid traffic noise as we did not experience traffic noise a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank servicecounts-az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We decided to have our first wedding anniversary near Wellington, so we chose Margrain Vineyard Villas on a Grab One Booking, so was good value. Good location, was a nice place to relax after a long trip from Tauranga. The only thing I would mark down would be the shower, as water goes everywhere in the room as no curtain etc also it fogged up "big time" so a fan would be a good idea. Other than that it was a lovely stay, nice continental breakfast and complementary bottle of wine. The town was enchanting, loved the pubs and restaurants available there. Was nice and close to Wellington.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieandMunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Great to hole up in for a couple of nights, relax, read, walk around the vineyards which are acros the road. Good location, walking distance to town, quiet road. Good value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WellingtonJoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
0.6 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
8.9 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#1 of 3 in Greytown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pinot Villas
Pinot Villas
#3 of 8 in Martinborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margrain Vineyard Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margrain Vineyard Villas

Property: Margrain Vineyard Villas
Address: Cnr Ponatahi & Huangarua Rds | PO Box 97, Martinborough, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Martinborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Margrain Vineyard Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing